We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property of Choice in West Des Moines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Des Moines West

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Des Moines West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Des Moines West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 South Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Property of Choice in West Des Moines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Property of choice in West Des Moines, can't beat the location if you have any shopping you need to get done - it's close to everything. Walking to the movie theater at night is a nice perk as well. Facilities are well maintained, front desk staff were kind and happy to see our small pug. Room was clean, and as expected as we stay at many Residence Inn locations around the US. We stayed during a winter storm, and parking lots were plowed, walkways shoveled within good time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am very glad that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    28
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
13
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I am not typically one to leave a bad review. I usually try and work out any sort of issue with the hotel management and they are typically helpful.

I used my rewards points to book a hotel room at the Jordan Creek Marriott Residence inn for my wife who had to travel to Des Moines, IA to help settle the estate for a grandfather who recently passed away. My wife is currently pregnant and had to load up our 4 year old and 2 year old, travel 6 hours, and then go through the personal effects of someone she was very close to for 4 hours while keeping our 2 small children occupied.

I called ahead to the hotel and told them that she would be the one checking in and they said that would be no problem. We requested that the room be a 2 bedroom queen if available and they said she could request an upgrade at check in if the room was available it would be no problem.

When my wife went to the hotel to check in they treated her like she had no business checking in on a reservation I booked for her with my points. After they finally let her check in on the reservation she asked about the room I originally requested and said she was willing to pay the difference. They said that was not possible and they would have to cancel the reservation that currently existed and charge her $300 if she wanted that room. Already worn out from the long day she just kept the room on the reservation and checked in.

Once they checked into the room there was dirty laundry left in the room from housekeeping.

I had to take time out of my 13 hour/day work day to deal with this crap.

When I have stayed in this hotel in the past they have been nothing but helpful. This kind of treatment to my wife is absolutely unacceptable. That is the exact reason I refuse to stay in any Holiday Inn chain. I understand that platinum elite members typically get quicker responses from the hotel as I have been platinum elite for the last 5 years but hassling my wife is ridiculous.

I stay in Marriott hotels between 100-150 nights a year because I travel for work and have never been treated like this.

I hope this hotel sees this review and straightens out their priorities. I can just as easily take my business to another hotel chain.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed overnight, a Saturday night during the State wrestling tournament. A hotel filled with rowdy boys and their families. I was concerned about the noise level but even in the room next to the elevator I heard nothing. Staff was really friendly. Room was clean, not huge but perfect for overnight. Location was great. Walked to the mall for a Cinnabon! Would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! Yes, it gets crazy around here during the tournaments but I am glad to hear that your stay was still great! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is our property of choice when we travel to Des Moines. The location cannot be beat. Once again, we enjoyed our stay. Our room was spotless, bed was comfy & the breakfast was delicious. The gal who takes care of the breakfast room is always so polite & quick to help. I would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed so far, excellent location, good ambience and friendly staff

There were many good experiences during my stay. Little small things they do makes you feel like a king.

I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This Residence Inn has an amazing staff, everyone I interacted with was helpful and charming. If it weren't for them I don't know that I would have given the hotel 4 out of 5 stars, but I think that the staff is one of the most important aspects of any hotel experience.
I like that they offer recycling service and you can schedule days for them to come into the room for cleaning (I typically only get my room cleaned once a week when there for a long stay). They are also a pet friendly hotel, and my dog was welcome there which is always really nice.
The beds are comfortable and the room was modern and clean. No stove in the room, which is always kind of a bummer, but the stove top and microwave make for plenty of meal options.
That said, the walls are a little thin, I had a family come in for a few nights next door to my room and the noise level was terrible. I could deal with the guy in there before them who watched The Daily Show super loud, it wasn't too bad through the wall and I could tune it out, but random screams from children and constant door slamming was a bit much.
The location was weird too. I enjoyed being able to walk around the little man made lake with my dog, but walking options otherwise were very limited, the sidewalks would just end and the mall area is littered with intersections that are 2, 3, or 4 way stops and nobody seemed to know how to use them, so I wouldn't advise walking through them.
I'm sure plenty of people would enjoy the plethora of chain restaurants nearby, but I can't say that I went to one of them for the entirety of my stay, and with all the traffic and intersections around, it was a bit of a pain to get in and out of.
Also, if you're using a Garmin GPS to get to this hotel, it'll have you go into a residential neighborhood across the street from the mall for some reason, so watch out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appriciate all the great feedback about our staff. I am pleased to hear that they had such a wonderful impact on your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel with an excellent staff! Very clean rooms that were very quiet and comfortable! Excellent evening reception and wonderful breakfast! Pool and hot tub area was very nice. Great value too for what we paid. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Des Moines West

Address: 160 South Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#6 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Des Moines West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Des Moines West Residence Inn by Marriott at Jordan Creek Town Center offers all that the business, leisure, and those relocating are seeking. Located minutes away from the headquarters of Wells Fargo, the downtown financial district, and Des Moines International Airport. Our visitors have access to many local attractions including the Iowa Events Center/Wells Fargo Arena, Science and Botanical Center, and Des Moines Civic Center to name a few. Here you will also find shopping, lakeside restaurants, running trails, and an outdoor amphitheater for enjoying concerts and other activities all within walking distance. As the leader in extended stay lodging, our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Residence Inn West Des Moines
West Des Moines Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Des Moines West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.