We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from Adventureland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Des Moines West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Des Moines West to your Saves list
Residence Inn Des Moines West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 South Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Escape from Adventureland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I chose this hotel for a quick trip to Adventureland with my daughter and her friends and chose it because of the 2 bedroom. The living area was not large but worked well for my group of 4 girls and myself. The service was great, the hotel was clean and you cannot beat the location. Jordan Creek Mall is a great area FAR away from the craziness of Adventureland !! Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind Trip Advisor post! It’s great to hear that you and the girls had an enjoyable experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here at the Residence Inn at Jordan Creek soon!

Nocona Mollendor
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    37
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
24
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is located in a nice area next to a nice shopping mall. There are also all kinds of other stores & restaurants very close by. Many within walking distance. The 2BR / 2 Bath suite was nice, and very clean. The LR area is small, but has a nice table between the kitchen and LR that allows for extra seating. Like having a fridge but the ice maker is really loud. The bad thing about the room and the hotel was the noise. The hotel booked a family with small children in the room above us, and the children were running and jumping around so hard that the pictures on the wall in our room were shaking. This went on until about 11pm. This is not fair to people who are there to try and unwind and relax. The hotel should book families with small children on the lower floors. The staff was okay, but didn't really care we were inconvenienced by the noise. The breakfast was average. There's a good selection of snacks to purchase by the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if you want to avoid potential noise from rowdy children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry your stay with us was not problem free. Our goal is to always make sure each guest feels welcomed and cared for. We have refreshed the front desk training to make sure they handle family placement as diplomatically as possible. We do our best to accommodate all guest room placement requests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon at the Residence Inn Jordan Creek.

Nocona Molllendor
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xyia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, nice and homey feeling, staff was great and breakfast was good. Room was nice and clean. plenty of space. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Loved this stay. Kids enjoyed the pool and it was even open until 11.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide me with your feedback, from your recent stay at the Residence Inn in West Des Moines. It’s great to hear that the room, breakfast and staff all met your needs. We hope you had an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to seeing you here at the Residence Inn in the near future.

Thank you again,

Nocona Mollendor
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Room was very clean and what you expect from a Residence Inn. Breakfast was your typical blah but the location was awesome. Just outside of a mall. Very new, safe feeling area with a lot of new construction and a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. Our hotel room overlooked a beautiful pond with walking trail. My son loved feeding the ducks. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the post! It’s great to hear you were able to take full advantage of the Hotel and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. The ducks wanted me to tell your son to please hurry back!! Hope to see you back at the Residence Inn in West Des Moines soon!

Thank you,

Nocona Mollendor
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I were displaced from our new construction home just about 30 days ago due to a structural issue after getting a lot of rain. We reserved a room at the Residence Inn for a week hoping that we would be able to find a new home for our family. Crazy thinking on our part, as our stay ended up being 30 days at the Residence Inn before we were able to check out. During our stay the staff from the housekeepers to the local management were amazing!!! Darla, Brenda, Nocona and Bob were some of our favorites!!! They definitely showed their compassion for our situation, and made us feel welcome and cared for! What an amazing team!!! We so appreciate making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Residence Inn. We truly appreciate the great comments and we will share with our team members. We hope to see your family in the future under better circumstances enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
220 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Yes as the title says this is a normal (New Style) Residence Inn, and regular is very good.
The rooms are well maintained and, as usual, very clean. Great pillows and good cable selection.
Chrystal and Jeremy are top notch front desk folks.
The only negative is Suzy, one of the morning breakfast folks. She has a less than cheerful attitude and seems very unhappy with her job of customer service.
This is a "Gotta Go" kinda place
IHG,
Rube

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona50266, Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Residence Inn for your recent stay. We work very hard to make each of our guests feel welcomed while they are with us. We hope to see you again very soon!! Have a great Summer!

Nocona Mollendor
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location is tough to beat, on the outskirts of the Jordan Creek Town Center mall, so there are many, many options for food nearby, plus movies and shopping. This also means it's a newer property with well-kept grounds. Very easy drive to/from the interstate. Rooms are spacious, and the basics were all there: comfortable bed, good water pressure and hot water, nice TV with plenty of channels, and friendly staff. Won this as a name-your-own-price booking for literally half of the going rate, so with free Wi-fi and hot breakfast, it was a good value.

For everything it did right, the room did have a couple minor let-downs with cleanliness and noise. Although the room was in mostly great shape, the tub did have a couple hairs and some sharp crumbs on the floor from a previous guest. The way the toilet paper had been torn, I wasn't sure if the toilet had been cleaned, although it looked fine. These didn't bother me much, but a small blood stain in the middle of one of the sheets wasn't a great discovery. Bedding was otherwise quite comfortable.

Lastly, any time the room above or below showered or flushed, the water/pipe noise was fairly loud and woke me up a few times. Being a construction issue, there's nothing the hotel can to remedy that now, and it was my only real disappointment. If you're hard of hearing or an otherwise heavy sleeper, though, this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#2 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#7 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines...
#5 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#4 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Des Moines West

Address: 160 South Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#6 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Des Moines West Residence Inn by Marriott at Jordan Creek Town Center offers all that the business, leisure, and those relocating are seeking. Located minutes away from the headquarters of Wells Fargo, the downtown financial district, and Des Moines International Airport. Our visitors have access to many local attractions including the Iowa Events Center/Wells Fargo Arena, Science and Botanical Center, and Des Moines Civic Center to name a few. Here you will also find shopping, lakeside restaurants, running trails, and an outdoor amphitheater for enjoying concerts and other activities all within walking distance. As the leader in extended stay lodging, our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Residence Inn West Des Moines
West Des Moines Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Des Moines West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.