We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Des Moines West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Des Moines West to your Saves list
Residence Inn Des Moines West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 South Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Affordable Luxury Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on my way passing through from Minnesota to Colorado. It sits in the mall parking lot...was a little hard to find. I was super tired when I stopped and this hotel was perfect for a good nights rest. First, when I checked in the staff was incredibly nice. check in was fast and easy. When I got to the room, it was very clean and spacious. The bed was not as comfortable as other Residence Inns I have stayed at, but it was pretty soft. The bathroom was stacked with towels and washcloths. The main thing I needed was quietness and that is exactly what I got. I did not hear anything from anyone the entire night, not even in the hallway. Breakfast the next morning was great. Plenty of options. The muffins with spinach cream cheese were great. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for s nice clean quiet hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
17
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stopped in for short stay and had a wonderful experience. Close to shopping and restaurants. Rooms were clean, the bed was not a typical king but other than that nice room. Breakfast was good and they always kept it stocked. Overall we would return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights this month and was very pleased with the entire hotel set up. Very quiet area compared to some hotels near the interstate. Folks at front desk were very nice and didn't blink when I asked for a different room away from the road. Breakfast and happy hour was great (free beer!) and easy access to all the main interstates. Do they have rush hour in the area? Loved the slow pace and lack of traffic congestion. (I'm from Washington, DC area so I know what rush hour really looks like.) Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister and I really enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn. We had a studio with well equipped kitchen and the bed was so comfortable! We enjoyed a day of shopping and eating at the Jordan Creek Mall and could have walked back to the hotel had the temperature outside cooperated. The public areas are very nice, breakfast was great, staff helpful and friendly and our room was extremely clean. The only complaint that I have -- the hotel is a bit dated. The dark green carpet in the halls and rooms looks a little old and tired. Same goes for the furniture in our room - time for a little update. Definitely not something that would keep me from booking the hotel again. I will stay there again when in the area, no question.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, IA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a great hotel and our room was great. It had a very nice kitchen area equipped with most everything you would need to cook your own meals. They had a very nice hot breakfast. We enjoyed our stay. The location is great as it is near Jordan Creek Mall which has a lot of restaurants and shopping. If you are traveling for work, this would be a great hotel to stay in. They have a very nice library area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed with some friends for a girl's weekend, and we had a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite. Both rooms had queen beds and tv's, and there was a pull-out sofa in the living room area with a third tv. There was also a full kitchen, which we did not use.

The room was clean, and had plenty of seating in the living area. I liked the set-up of the bathroom area, with the tub/shower and toilet in one room, and the sink in a separate area.

The hotel is situation within the Jordan Creek Town Center, so it's very convenient to shopping and restaurants. There is no shuttle service, but it wasn't an issue for us. The free breakfast had a lot of variety and was very good. I was impressed with the hotel and would stay at another Residence Inn in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Because I love parks and malls, then I like this hotel. It is not in the middle of nowhere but everything you'll like. Firstly, the location is very convenient since it is right in the heart of a shopping complex where you will find the nice american brands and like everything in this small town, it's spread out with a nice walk path and a huge pond. You will also find a tid bit of international taste bud like a nice Sushi bar (Try Iowa sushi roll!) and fake Chinese upscale restaurant, PF Chang around the corners. In short, it's location in the Jordan creek mall is the best place that Des Moines or this state has to offer. The breakfast is nice but like for any traveler in extended stay anywhere, you'll get tired of the selection or I just thought Residence inn NYC and Chicago has more selections.

The hotel is very neatly priced for the space that it offers. And for someone who comes from a land where everything is smaller and space is premium, i found the rate very cheap which makes your bucks worth every penny. I was on a business trip and had to make this property home for 7 weeks. The staff here is polite and friendly which i observed was a natural behavior of people from Iowa. There about 5 more things i remember from this hotel.1) One day, I found the replenished toiletries so neatly stacked along with my kitchen spotless clean. Which means, housekeeping wasn't as good as this one lady who cleaned my room one time. 2) I like that the hotel has doors in every corner, giving me privacy in my entry. 3) This hotel is pet friendly, i saw my neighbors checked in with their dogs and the pets are happy to walk the park. 4) Beware to use the phone!I had to use the hotel phone several times to call international for important calls but never really got to connect and lasted about 20 min. and my phone bill was over $350! That amount was like my weeks rm bill already, and the rates were not displayed for the user to see at all which I found was kinda sneaky. I had to dispute this and the manager gave me a 50% off after a slight scolding not to use the phone again like I was a kid. But I still find them nice. 5) I can hear every conversation from the room next to mine and they weren't yelling. It's very clear like there was no wall between us. I'm glad the my bed was on the side next to an empty stock rm. So i just thought that was pretty weird after all the many hotels I've stayed into. I only get that from backpacker hostels.

Okay, Residence Inn Des Moines is still pretty neat and I can come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Des Moines West

Address: 160 South Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#7 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Des Moines West Residence Inn by Marriott at Jordan Creek Town Center offers all that the business, leisure, and those relocating are seeking. Located minutes away from the headquarters of Wells Fargo, the downtown financial district, and Des Moines International Airport. Our visitors have access to many local attractions including the Iowa Events Center/Wells Fargo Arena, Science and Botanical Center, and Des Moines Civic Center to name a few. Here you will also find shopping, lakeside restaurants, running trails, and an outdoor amphitheater for enjoying concerts and other activities all within walking distance. As the leader in extended stay lodging, our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Residence Inn West Des Moines
West Des Moines Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Des Moines West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.