We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Des Moines West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Des Moines West to your Saves list
Residence Inn Des Moines West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 South Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Awesome place to stay. Offers a great warm continental breakfast. Beautiful surroundings with an outdoor gazebo and a pond. Also has an outdoor basketball court/tennis court. This will be our choice hotels anytime we are in the Des Moines area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
17
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glennallen, Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband surprised me by getting a 2-bedroom suite for our weekend trip with his youngest daughter. It was great because we had our own personal space, as did she, and didn't have to sit on the bed when eating pizza or watching TV. We were able to have more of his family over to the hotel because our room had a kitchenette and living room. I felt at home in this hotel (I know, sounds weird), and have told my husband that he's officially spoiled me.
It was cold in the hotel on a 90+ degree weekend. Our room was set to 60 degrees and I heard another guest tell someone "welcome to the iceberg". So if you're sensitive to cold, it might not be the best place for you. The pool was small, but we didn't go swimming.
Our suite was only $10-20 more than the standard 2-queen bed rooms in the area. Very well worth the cost of $160/night.
Location: Right next to the Jordon Creek mall area. Within walking distance to the mall, a couple of strip malls, Joe's Crab Shack, On the Border, Cheesecake Factory, etc etc etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, MI
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I'll start off that I am a Residence Inn fan. It has become our hotel of choice when traveling. The Residence Inn in West Des Moines is another great hotel. The location is a big part of why we like it. It is located in the Jordan Creek Town Center which has a nice mall and many, many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. There is a very large "lake" between the hotel and the mall with restaurants all around it. Take your pick, all of them good. The lake has lots of ducks and geese for the kids to watch and the entire area is very nicely landscaped. For you Costco fans (of which I am also one) there is also a Costco in the Town Center.
The Residence Inn is one of the nicer ones and we have always been treated very well there. The last time there we asked the desk clerk if it was supposed to rain, since we wanted to walk to dinner. He immediately got on-line and checked and told us what the likelihood was and offered us an umbrella. The Residence Inn at the Jordan Creek Town Center is well worth your consideration.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The hotel is hard to find because it is located in the Jordan creek center so when I mapquested it took me in all sorts of directions accept the right one but once I found it it was a nice hotel. The picture they have on file does not do it justice. The inside is very nice for a 3 star hotel. They offer many services for free which include internet, parking, coffee and hot chocolate anytime of the day. It is a suite/kitchenette type of room so they offer free grocery delivery, all ou have to do is leave them your list. They also have a free hot breakfast every morning which was nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We used the Residence Inn in West Des Moines for our annual winter get-away. We had 14 people coming from various parts of Iowa and met at this location. The main gathering room was a 2 bedroom suite with a nice sized living room area. What we liked about this room is that it had enough room for everyone to sit comfortably and also had a full kitchen with stove, oven, full sized refrigerator, micro-wave and dish washer. The cupboards were stocked with plates, silverware and glasses. We brought in our own food to eat, because when you go out to eat with a group of 14, it takes a long time to get seated and served on a Saturday night.

The pool area is not huge, but big enough and the water in the pool was a nice, comfortable temperature. The breakfast was good with make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy and sausage, plus the usual cold cereal and muffins.

Biggest drawback is not necessarily the location (right across the parking lot from Jordan Creek Town Center), but actually finding the place. Since it is in the Jordan Creek Town Center complex of stores, the address for the motel is Jordan Creek Parkway, but it is a long ways away from that street. Make sure you use the hotels web-site GPS directions to find it, or you will get lost.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron50266, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind review of our hotel. We hope you and your group had a great stay with us and we look forward to your return. I do apologize for the strange address they gave us. We have tried several times to get something done that would make it easier for our guests to locate the property but for now using 160 South 68th Street in a GPS instead of 160 South Jordan Creek Parkway seems to be the best remedy. Thank you for your comments and again, we look forward to your return with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

I don't want to be negative, but I stay in Hotels 3-4 nights per week. Decided to try the residence inn in des
Moines. I travel to this area on a regular basis and have not found my home yet. I assure you this is not it! Great location within walking distance of great restaurants and a shopping mall. But this place is built with rice paper, I never slept and heArd everything the person above me did....EVERYTHING. If you are a business traveler try somewhere else. I havent found it here in des Moines yet but if you do let me know.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron50266, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
I apologize for your stay being anything but exceptional. We take great pride in our guest satisfaction of the hotel and take it very seriously if something out of the ordinary comes up. We have taken the necessary measures with our front desk staff and reviewed the procedures of a noise complaint. The Residence Inn West Des Moines is a leading hotel in the market for business travel and we hope this was an isolated incident that better training on our part will rectify. I invite you to stay with us again and give us another shot. Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Our family of six (kids ages 9-14) spent a night here on the road between Colorado & Chicago. It was a little hard to find because it is in the rear of a large mall/shopping area, but it is not far from the interstate, and I'm guessing that folks who stay for long periods would enjoy the short walk to many nice shops and restaurants. We like Residence Inns since they accomodate our large family, and this one fits the typical standard with a nice decor, spacious floor plan, and comfortable bedding. The kitchenette was perfect for hot chocolate & cookies after our long drive. Check-in & out was very quick and the staff were helpful. Breakfast was excellent, with hot & cold options, plus more yogurt, fruit, muffin, and waffle toppings than other hotels. We will stay here again the next time we pass through the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron50266, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Des Moines West, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Let us know when you come back through town, we would love to have you stay with us again. Thank you much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Des Moines West

Address: 160 South Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#7 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Des Moines West Residence Inn by Marriott at Jordan Creek Town Center offers all that the business, leisure, and those relocating are seeking. Located minutes away from the headquarters of Wells Fargo, the downtown financial district, and Des Moines International Airport. Our visitors have access to many local attractions including the Iowa Events Center/Wells Fargo Arena, Science and Botanical Center, and Des Moines Civic Center to name a few. Here you will also find shopping, lakeside restaurants, running trails, and an outdoor amphitheater for enjoying concerts and other activities all within walking distance. As the leader in extended stay lodging, our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Residence Inn West Des Moines
West Des Moines Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Des Moines West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.