We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food with a neighborhood pub feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G. Migs 5th Street Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
G. Migs 5th Street Pub
128 5th St, West Des Moines, IA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 208 Restaurants in West Des Moines
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food with a neighborhood pub feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I went here for a group celebration. The appetizers that were brought out were sophisticated and tasty. There were no corn dog niblets or little smoked sausages in barbeque sauce. These were brie and apple on toast and things like mini pizzas with gouda and chicken.

We were pretty crowded in there, but we were a large group. The regulars looked a little colorful, so if you have a sensitive disposition, you might feel a little awkward at first, but we didn't have any or see any issues.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“On second thoughts ..............................”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

As you can see, I wrote a glowing review of this bar/restaurant but after latest visit, I am having second thoughts. Not so much about the food as the atmosphere. The items that make up the new menu are all tasty and well prepared. Check the website for weekend specials that are top notch.
My issue is with the environment. We happened to go on a Thursday evening and quite honestly, I cannot in good faith suggest that the scene is where one wants to go for dinner with wife and adult daughter. For sure am having second thoughts suggesting that lady friends of our family go there for a girls night out. Place can be nice like the Saturday night we went there or can be treated to some of the most foul mouthed neighbors you can imagine. Not sure what the owner is trying to achieve and not sure how to protect oneself from having such an unpleasant experience. There are restaurants in town that one can know what to expect from the crowd; this is not one of them. You are taking your chances for sure. Based on what I could see, the best seating is by the front door.
The food is good and specials can be one of a kind finds. Buyer beware when it comes to what kind of house you will find yourself in when you arrive. I am not a prude but enough is enough with the boorish behavior from clusters of men that appear to have stayed for one too many. Just sayin'.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing bar experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Took wife and daughter for dinner Saturday evening and was extremely pleased with the dining experience. The place is spotless, the bathrooms are clean as a whistle, the service is friendly and prompt and oh did I say that the food was wonderful.
Between the three of us we had the Italian sausage sandwich, the prime rib sandwich and the wings and everyone was pleased. I really like the prime rib sandwich with the horseradish dressing - cooked to perfection.
This is the type of spot that ladies could go on their own and feel totally comfortable. Will put this spot on "do it again" list - as I will be watching the website for specials that are listed. Hope to see Cajun offering in the near future as this cook staff is clearly up to the task.
Reservations are not taken so don't be surprised if there is a little wait; great spot for dining any time of day as breakfast, lunch and dinner are served.
Most seating is table tops with bar stools but there are a few traditional tables in the front of the house. TV viewing is excellent; will not recommend this spot for families with young children as more of adult bar scene with limited menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great addition to Valley Junction! Welcome G Migs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

What a surprise to find such good food in a bar and grill! From the spicy Italian sausage sandwich with grilled onions, green peppers and cheese on a grilled torta bun to the 5th street quesadilla with chicken and andouille sausage served with sides of sour cream, salsa and guacamole. We have yet to have a bad lunch or dinner. Check out their web site for daily specials http://gmigs.com/. Remember this is a bar and grill and you will sometimes have a little wait for a seat, but it will be worth the short wait.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“$12 Steak on Tuesdays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

On Tuesdays you can get a 10 oz prime sirloin steak dinner for $12 and it's FANTASTIC! Also included in the price is a salad, potato of the day, and garlic bread. The steaks are cooked to perfection. Most times the potato is baked but they have served O'Brien and Au gratin which were to die for! The salad is basic iceberg lettuce but it's served with radishes, cucumbers & onions and tastes fresh. This is a bar that serves great food and has great service. The chef/owner is the former executive chef at the Wakonda club and he's really turned this place into a great place to start your happy hour and stay for a great meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G. Migs 5th Street Pub also viewed

West Des Moines, IA
West Des Moines, IA
 
West Des Moines, IA
West Des Moines, IA
 

Been to G. Migs 5th Street Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G. Migs 5th Street Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.