We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Sushi

Sakura Sushi
1960 Grand Ave., Suite 11, West Des Moines, IA 50265
515.225.9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 190 Restaurants in West Des Moines
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
Restaurant details
Sitka, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My mouth is watering just thinking about this place. The sushi is amazing and wonderfully priced. This place is a hidden gem in a strip mall. I would have never gone there if it weren't recommended. I'm glad it decided to try it out. I can't what to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best miso soup ever....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Located in a strip mall it is a hidden treasure. Ro and I tripped over Sakura one day and eat there at least twice a month, (and we eat out A LOT). We got the sushi boat for my birthday this past year and I may have my kids take me there today to celebrate Mother's Day! It is small, but we are lucky enough that we have never had to wait for a seat. I really would rather not share how great this place is because then I may have to wait to be seated, but alas, I would like for them to be successful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My colleagues and I visited this restaurant and we were really impressed with the food. Sushi and tempura was fresh and perfectly prepared. It lacks atmosphere but is reasonably priced and delicious. We will be back the next time we're in IA for work!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Strip mall aside , this is a true find ! Sushi was very good , reasonable. & the service was good ! Wine list needs help .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Sushi and nice quiet atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a nice little place. I eat sushi all over and the fish at Sakura was about as good as it gets. Worth the price.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.