We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a week-long stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites West Des Moines

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites West Des Moines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6905 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great choice for a week-long stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Knowing that I'd have to be in town for an extended length of time, I sought out a hotel that offered a suite and kitchen. Even though this location was a bit further from my office than others, I was very happy with my choice. The room was very spacious, with a large kitchen, and separate sitting area/bed area. Bathroom was nice and clean.

Check-in was fast, although our attempt to check-in early was denied because the hotel was fully booked. Which was fine, it was worth a try. As a loyalty program member I received a package of Oreos upon check-in ... aren't I special?

The main lobby area was quite large with a fireplace, sofas and various tables/chairs. I was happy to find that in addition to a complimentary breakfast, the hotel also served a complimentary light dinner along with complimentary beer and wine. The dinner menu was on the fridge in the room, so I was able to see ahead of time what was being served. The first night they served a very tasty BBQ chicken pizza. Had I not had plans with colleagues for dinners, I would have utilized the dinner each night of my stay.

Breakfast was also quite good, although it seemed slow to come out at times. The morning we left, although it WAS early, it was still within the breakfast hours and there was very little breakfast available. They could stand to purchase a new toaster, as the one they had took forever.

My co-worker used the pool area and had no complaints.

The location was close to the highway, and not far from a newer mall/shopping area.

Will definitely consider this hotel when returning to Des Moines.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica_H_12186, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay- hopefully next time you'll be able to enjoy the BBQ Chicken Pizza! I am working with my breakfast staff to ensure all breakfast items are stocked at all times during breakfast hours so as not to have any issues that you experienced. We do look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
23
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were very satisfied with our choice. From the minute we walked in the door we were greeted and told all that was available at the hotel. We were told about the social hour from 5:30 until 7. We enjoyed food and drinks free. There was a delicious hot breakfast for guests! We could not get the printer to work in the lobby and the front desk was more than happy to print it for us. Thanks you for a great night's stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica_H_12186, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We strive to make every stay as enjoyable as yours was. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed one night. Check in was quick, and I was recognized as a Priority Club member with a snack size bag of Cheeze Its. Everything appeared brand new, common areas, fitness room, dining area, and room furnishings and fixtures were all clean looking and clean smelling. The employee hosting the Social Hour was friendly and informative, the tacos, southwest chicken salad fixings, wine, beer and soft drinks were all a pleasant surprise. The bed was so comfortable, we almost missed the free breakfast. The hotel is challenging to find without a map of the area or a Garmin, it's in an office park, but convenient to shopping, restaurants and a main highway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica_H_12186, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your hotel experience. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to hosting you the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Two of us came to Des Moines for the Iowa State Fair and were able to get a room here with 2 queen beds. Such luxurious mattress to sleep on and if there was any noise, it was muffled by the quiet air conditioning. Nice mirror/sink outside of the toilet/tub area and we appreciated the microwave/refrigerator. We did not use the internet access. Our only request would be to re-surface the tub...had rust markings from old mats...and to put in the rounded shower curtains. We have gotten spoiled by those in other hotels and at home.
The staff was most friendly and helpful amidst a multitude of phone calls from others trying to find a room as they come to the state fair.
The pool and surrounding area was clean and didn't smell of excessive chlorine as so many of them do. Temperature of the water was great for a morning exercise/swim time.
Our favorite area was the wide array of breakfast items and how neatly, professionally it was displayed. The breakfast area as sparkling in metal features and cleanliness. Thank you!
We will be glad to stay there again and to share with others re: our good experience there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed one night, in only room available, sadly a smoking room.

Very large room, clean but smelled badly of smoke, nothing to be done about that.
Bed linens didn't smell of smoke so that means they were cleaned regularly.
Turned on the bathroom vent fan and left it on, the smell ok after that.

Only thing out of place, there was some paint peeling in the shower,
but everything else was clean and functional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times for business and pleasure. The room we got this time was a 2 room suite with 2 queen beds. The room was huge for 2 people, but we enjoyed the kitchen area and ample living space. The issues we had were primarily with the bathroom and the carpet outside the elevator. We had several packages, etc. to bring up to the room. When we got off the elevator on the 4th floor, the carpet was loose and we nearly tripped, dropping several packages. The other issue we had was the bathroom cleanliness and maintenance. There was rust in the bath tub which also had several chipped places in the coating and the tile beside the tub was very dirty and needed a good scrubbing. The bathroom itself is very small for the large size of the rest of the room. While it had an ample sink area outside the door to the bathroom, the tub and stool room was cramped. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The pool and jacuzzi need to be cleaned as well. If you are planning to use the pool for water exercise, be aware that the deepest end is only 5'.

Room Tip: Staying on the 4th floor seems to be quieter than other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie N, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Staybridge Suites in West Des Moines. We always appreciate guest feedback. Safety is very important to us and we will be stretching the carpet in the hallways to ensure that no one trips. Our staff has addressed the maintenance and cleanliness issues in the bathroom and pool area as well. We hope to see you the next time you are in the West Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly and attentive. The morning breakfast is extensive with a wide range of warm and cold offerings. Unfortunately, the physical plant, while visually appealing, is lacking. The most important to us was the painfully slow wireless internet service. The facility appears to have about nine different internal wireless networks, but both I tried were extremely slow, this on a weekend when only a few car were present in the parking lot. The connection was adequate for static websites, acceptable for email reading sites, but using a site with any dynamic content was extremely frustrating, including maps and low-res video from media sites, etc. Don't even think about watching streaming video like Netflix. Other signs of inattention were the installation sticker still affixed to the front side of the toilet tank and the fact that the door between rooms in our suite would not latch shut.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie N, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have recently upgraded our Internet Service to allow for faster connections and additional bandwidth. I have addressed your other comments with our Maintenance staff to assure they pay closer attention to detail. We appreciate your feedback so that we can make your next stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites West Des Moines

Address: 6905 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites West Des Moines 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Invites Guests to Rest Comfortably Ideally situated near I-80, Des Moines International Airport (DMI) and the Iowa Foundation for Medical Care, Staybridge Suites West Des Moines is an all-suite, upscale, extended stay hotel within close proximity to everything Des Moines has to offer. Long-term guests of our pet friendly Des Moines, Iowa hotel can enjoy all the comforts of home with easy access to shopping at Jordan Creek Town Center and live performances at the Des Moines Art Center. Special events at the Science Center of Iowa and Living History Farms are also less than ten miles away. Business travelers appreciate our extended stay West Des Moines accommodations near Hy-Line International, Wells Fargo and Briggs Corporation. In order to best meet the needs of our professional guests, over 950 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free, high-speed Internet access are provided on-site. During your stay, you can enjoy resting in one of our spacious suites with full-service kitchens, exercising in our well-equipped fitness center or relaxing in our indoor, swimming pool. You can start your day by visiting our complimentary breakfast buffet, and end your day by joining us for our community-oriented Sundowner Reception. As you plan your next trip, check out our exceptional Des Moines, Iowa hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Staybridge Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.