We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites West Des Moines

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites West Des Moines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6905 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed one night, in only room available, sadly a smoking room.

Very large room, clean but smelled badly of smoke, nothing to be done about that.
Bed linens didn't smell of smoke so that means they were cleaned regularly.
Turned on the bathroom vent fan and left it on, the smell ok after that.

Only thing out of place, there was some paint peeling in the shower,
but everything else was clean and functional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
23
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times for business and pleasure. The room we got this time was a 2 room suite with 2 queen beds. The room was huge for 2 people, but we enjoyed the kitchen area and ample living space. The issues we had were primarily with the bathroom and the carpet outside the elevator. We had several packages, etc. to bring up to the room. When we got off the elevator on the 4th floor, the carpet was loose and we nearly tripped, dropping several packages. The other issue we had was the bathroom cleanliness and maintenance. There was rust in the bath tub which also had several chipped places in the coating and the tile beside the tub was very dirty and needed a good scrubbing. The bathroom itself is very small for the large size of the rest of the room. While it had an ample sink area outside the door to the bathroom, the tub and stool room was cramped. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The pool and jacuzzi need to be cleaned as well. If you are planning to use the pool for water exercise, be aware that the deepest end is only 5'.

Room Tip: Staying on the 4th floor seems to be quieter than other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie N, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Staybridge Suites in West Des Moines. We always appreciate guest feedback. Safety is very important to us and we will be stretching the carpet in the hallways to ensure that no one trips. Our staff has addressed the maintenance and cleanliness issues in the bathroom and pool area as well. We hope to see you the next time you are in the West Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly and attentive. The morning breakfast is extensive with a wide range of warm and cold offerings. Unfortunately, the physical plant, while visually appealing, is lacking. The most important to us was the painfully slow wireless internet service. The facility appears to have about nine different internal wireless networks, but both I tried were extremely slow, this on a weekend when only a few car were present in the parking lot. The connection was adequate for static websites, acceptable for email reading sites, but using a site with any dynamic content was extremely frustrating, including maps and low-res video from media sites, etc. Don't even think about watching streaming video like Netflix. Other signs of inattention were the installation sticker still affixed to the front side of the toilet tank and the fact that the door between rooms in our suite would not latch shut.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie N, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have recently upgraded our Internet Service to allow for faster connections and additional bandwidth. I have addressed your other comments with our Maintenance staff to assure they pay closer attention to detail. We appreciate your feedback so that we can make your next stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

A bit disappointing for a Staybridge hotel. I had a five (5) day stay here and found the room and building in general to be average at best. I've stayed at other Staybridges and have always enjoyed the lodging. Much less here. Noisy rooms - poor construction - floors and walls, you can hear yourself walking in the hall. The floor tiles in the bathroom were loose and moving as you stood on them, and the room appearred to be a general hotel room with a frig, counter, etc stuffed in to make it a long stay hotel. Also, cheap windows - i.e. lot's of highway noise. I will not be staying here again for what was charged and expected.

Room Tip: on backside of building away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear TrvlgMan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment.
I would like to happily let you know, In the very near future we will
be doing a remodel of the hotel. All tile in the bathroom floors will be replaced
as well as other areas of hotel. I hope you are able to stay with us again after our remodel and
let us know what you think.

Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had all of our family members together for Christmas. We were all well pleased. There complimentary hot breakfast consisted either bacon or sausage and tater tots. In addition there was mixed fruit, bananas, apples and oranges. A waffle iron made great waffles.All eight of us including two young grandchildren were very well pleased with this breakfast. The front desk clerks were always friendly and always very helpful. We made the reservation because we wanted to take our Poodle along and as a result we got these additional benefits. There was also large HD TVs with one in the bedroom and one in the living room, which are grandchildren loved to watch their cartoons in either room. It is close to several great restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite and we could not hear noise in adjacent rooms or the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The Hotel allowed me to check-in early for a starter. The Hotel Front Desk Clerk was speedy and knowledgeable as well as polite. The Lobby is decorated and provisioned quite well and was a pleasant surprise. The room was 1st rate. It was clean and comfortable with a gigantic work desk that was just 1st rate. The speed of the Internet connection was also 1st rate, a welcome change over many hotels that have lagging internet access. The Pool was clean and refreshing after a long drive. The Breakfast was way more than I was expecting and quite good! Even the LCD TV was capable of being moved from angle to angle and not restricted to a non-movable wall mount! The Hotel is quiet. The King Sized bed was more than comfortable enough. This Hotel is a good bargain, clean and comfortable, modern and well laid out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stopped here on our way home from Colorado. The room was big, with a king size bed, couch and kitchen. It was more than we needed for an overnight stay. Nice towels. They offered a very good free breakfast that included scrambled eggs, American fries, sausage, fresh fruit, coffee cake, pound cake and more. Breakfast didn't start unti 7:30 on the weekend, we wish it would've been earlier, but we're glad we stayed for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites West Des Moines

Address: 6905 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites West Des Moines 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Invites Guests to Rest Comfortably Ideally situated near I-80, Des Moines International Airport (DMI) and the Iowa Foundation for Medical Care, Staybridge Suites West Des Moines is an all-suite, upscale, extended stay hotel within close proximity to everything Des Moines has to offer. Long-term guests of our pet friendly Des Moines, Iowa hotel can enjoy all the comforts of home with easy access to shopping at Jordan Creek Town Center and live performances at the Des Moines Art Center. Special events at the Science Center of Iowa and Living History Farms are also less than ten miles away. Business travelers appreciate our extended stay West Des Moines accommodations near Hy-Line International, Wells Fargo and Briggs Corporation. In order to best meet the needs of our professional guests, over 950 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free, high-speed Internet access are provided on-site. During your stay, you can enjoy resting in one of our spacious suites with full-service kitchens, exercising in our well-equipped fitness center or relaxing in our indoor, swimming pool. You can start your day by visiting our complimentary breakfast buffet, and end your day by joining us for our community-oriented Sundowner Reception. As you plan your next trip, check out our exceptional Des Moines, Iowa hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Staybridge Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.