We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Des Moines West

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Des Moines West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1236 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Roomy and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The suite set up was great. Continental breakfast was mediocre. Elevator smelled bad. Television wasn't working but didn't seem to be hotel issue. Likely dish network problem. Close to Jordan Creek and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
22
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the SpringHill Suites Dec 4, 2012 on our way back from Vegas to Indiana. It is about 30 seconds off the exit on 80 and next to another Marriott, but I chose this one due to the less empty looking parking lot and nicer outside facility.

We just needed 1 night and are members of Marriott's reward program, so we got around $10 off our night. The total price was around $129 for the room, and I have to say my only complaint is the price for the room itself. It's a very nice room, comfy couch, and really comfortable bed (+ pillows!). The room was a bit odd in that it was split by a TV in the center, but thankfully it's on a rotating swivel stand and was easy to just swing toward the bed or swing toward the couch.

I would definitely stay here again if I was out that way, even at the bit of a steep price. My other complaint of the room itself is the bathroom size - kind of tiny, but an outside-of-the-bathroom counter made that a non-issue. Loved the towels, and the shampoo/soap (paul Mitchel for those who care) was also a nice touch.

Now on to the best part - breakfast! Included in the room rate, they had waffles (blueberry/ whole grain), eggs, hash browns, cereal, oatmeal, really ripe fresh fruit, and something else, but I can't quite remember what. The selection of drinks was awesome - orange juice, the regular grape/other flavored juices, and Almond Milk. We were close enough to the lobby in the room that we could smell the breakfast, and I'd call that a plus!

Overall - nice stay, comfy beds and pillows, and great selection of breakfast foods to choose from for a long trek back!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are right next to breakfast, smells great in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Recently stayed here for a conference for work. After seeing that it was ranked so poorly I was concerned. However, this place has been recently renovated and was fantastic. The front desk put up with my constant annoyance as I forgot a few things, and let me print a 50 page article! Free cocktail hour at 5, and a decent breakfast. Combine that with the location of the hotel, and the size of the rooms, I will be staying here again. Only complaint was the weird location of the TV in the room, but it certainly wasn't a deal breaker. Do not believe the poor ranking this place is receiving on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic location, great hotel. I read plenty of reviews in regards to this hotel, and was a little skeptical about the hotel. The reviews were wrong. This hotel was recently renovated, the rooms were very clean with really nice amenities in the room. (Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner) Breakfast was good. The hotel is right off of interstate 80 and very close to plenty of restaurants and shopping. The service at the hotel was good, the breakfast was very nice. Room tips - the elevator works very slow just be aware that the higher the floor you are on, the longer you wait for the elevator. I would recommend this hotel to friends, and would stay there again. We actually already have plans to go back and will stay there again. Additionally, just know that this hotel runs plenty of specials, so it is easy to get double points.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Young man on duty last night was very helpful and friendly. Ground floor room was very spacious and clean. It's always helpful when wifi is fast and reliable. Tub was slow to drain, but not too bad. Reported it to clerk. Breakfast choices were plentiful. Perkins Restaurant was across the parking lot. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abie, ne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, we were a little concerned. HOWEVER, we found the room to be very neat and clean, service was great, and breakfast was fine. Seating area was a little crowded, but we just we back to our room. Very convenient to get too--right off of Interstate 80 and very close to Jordan Creek Town Center. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was recently completely remodeled and is very nice. The king rooms are still just kind of strange though. There is two separate "rooms" that are essentially divided by the TV stand. You can't really see the TV from the bed and you cannot see it at all when you are sitting at the desk.

I travel for work weekly and almost always stay at Marriott hotels. This is usually my third choice in West Des Moines behind the Residence Inn and Courtyard. Usually the prices are quite comparable on all of these and the SprigHill does not compare for the price.

It's a good place to stay if you can find good deal though. They are the only hotel in the area that usually has a deal for bonus Marriott Rewards points.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Des Moines West, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Kyle S,

Thank you for your review. We’re glad you chose to stay with us at SpringHill Suites and enjoyed your visit. I’m glad you liked our newly renovated hotel and found a great deal for your stay. We hope to win you over as your number one hotel choice in the West Des Moines area so please return for another great experience.

Best regards,
Katrina Levitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Des Moines West

Address: 1236 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Des Moines West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Springhill Suites West Des Moines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Des Moines West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.