We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room but breakfast ruined the whole stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 S. 68th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the room but breakfast ruined the whole stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I really like the changes Marriott made to the rooms. I was very comfortable and had a good surface for work the next morning. I am not happy with the change to the restaurant. I waited over 10 mjinutes to place my food order. And then I had to wait over 10 minutes to get my food. There was a group of tourists who clearly had the staff in a tizzy because they couldn't get anyone's order straight. All the tables were packed and we had to wait for a seat. When travelling with a 2 year old that isn't a good thing. I had to leave because I had a meeting and didn't get to eat my breakfast. I want the buffet back, it is a lot faster.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry to hear you had difficulties enjoying Courtyard's new and exciting Bistro concept. We hope that next time you’re in our area you choose to stay with us again so you can experience the Bistro and how wonderful it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just stayed here on a pleasure trip and we had a good experience at the Courtyard.

The staff was very nice and accomodating.

The room it's self was pretty clean, with the exception of a little mold on the grout in the shower.

The lobby was nicely decorated.

We did not get a chance to eat at the Bistro as there were other options we wanted to try around the hotel.

Overall I was pretty happy with everything at this hotel. I gave it a 4 star because of the mold. Otherwise I would have given it a 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuhlmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family and I were in West Des Moines for a wedding. My immediate family had 2 rooms, 1 suite and 1 room with 2 king beds for 3 nights. The extended family had another 10 rooms of varying sizes. The rooms were clean and looked recently updated. The hotel personnel were very polite and accommodating. The pool and workout rooms were quite adequate. The large TV in lobby with chairs and couches were great for watching the Olymipics with the extended family. This is probably as good as it gets for a suburban hotel. My only complaint, and it is a big one; the sheets were rough and worn, and the towels were extremely scratchy. I would say the linens and towels were the quality of an inexpensive motel. I think skimping on the details is a big mistake on the part of the management of this hotel. Hopefully they will read this review and take it seriously. If they were to replace the worn out linens and buy better quality towels this hotel could be excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobeyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
My team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry if you felt that our linen and towels were not to Marriott Standard. We have taken your feed back to Marriott and currently looking into other venders for our linen and towels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just stayed there on a business trip. It has been recently converted to the new concept so lobby is clean and updated. The staff is very helpful and the location is right off highway. Good resturaunts nearby. It was a little noisy but I would reccomend.this location

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTravelToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We're glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the local area. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Always a great place for a quick stay. Right across the street from an awesome mall and restaurants. Hot tub us super. I wish Courtyard had complimentary breakfast, but here you pay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rostman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are glad that you were able to enjoy yourself while staying with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Level Contributor
185 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Pricelined this hotel for $75 a night which is a great value. Very nice lobby lots of couches and comfortable sitting areas. quick serve restaurant with great menu. Pool, hot tub, free lobby computers and mini store. The only problem all week were some loud drunk guests who fought and police called in. management let them remain at Hotel has checked in guests which proved to be problematic night after night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surferjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My business trip to West Des Moines, IA the week of May 14, 2012 is the first time I ever I stayed at a Marriott and I will never stay at another one due to my experience. The carpet was stained and needed vacuumed, the bathroom was dirty (there was dirt and dust built up on the fixtures and hair all over the floor) and did not get cleaned the entire time I was there (except the evening that the assistant manager went in and cleaned it after I complained), the toilet kept backing up and the staff brought me a plunger to clear it up myself, my room key would not work (tried 10 different keys) and I had to wait for staff to let me into my room with the master key, the bed was hard and uncomfortable, the bed linen was rough and scratchy, and it was loud. Brett and Tyler were great, but my experience with the room itself will prevent me from staying at another Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay and subsequent disappointment with your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Jordan Creek. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one.

The principal goal of our hotel is to provide a clean room and dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn you are unhappy. We appreciate you sharing your frustrations and concerns.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#1 of 19 in West Des Moines
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#4 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West
Residence Inn Des Moines West
#7 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek

Address: 410 S. 68th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Des Moines West/Jordan Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing