We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park View Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park View Inn & Suites
13 4th St. NE, West Bend, IA 50597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West Bend
Fremont, California
1 review
“Excellent hotel with good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Very good service, helping staff and a free continental breakfast.The swimming pool was clean, warm and very nice.The experience of the stay was good with quietness, comfort and relaxing.This is a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    4
    4
    17
See reviews for
16
3
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We've stayed at this hotel for a number of years during the holidays, but weren't sure what to expect this year since our family there had told us of the change in ownership. While we missed seeing the same friendly faces we had in years past, the current owners seemed very pleasant . At any rate, the hotel seemed much the same for the two nights we were there. Still a pretty clean hotel. Towels are starting to ge a bit thin, but again - no real change from years past. So, overall, it was an ok stay for us. No complaints really.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here one night while on a last-minute road trip to West Bend.

Beware that this hotel uses the term "suite" quite loosely. When making the reservation, my husband was told we had a reservation for a one king-sized bed suite. In actuality, our room was not at all a suite, but a typical, small hotel room with one queen-sized bed and a pullout love seat. Since they are themed rooms, I could almost overlook the misleading use of the word "suite," except that the hotel charged an additional $10 for this "upgrade."

At check-in the manager informed us that in addition to the cost of the room, we were being charged an additional $3.50 because there were two of us in the room - not a large dollar amount, but it should have been disclosed at the time we booked. Furthermore, the manager was in no way helpful when we had questions. When we inquired about the times of local church services, his response was to rudely say, "I don't know. I'm not Catholic, I’m ____." He didn't even make an effort to be helpful or look up information for us, which we found unacceptable--especially given that the main attraction in West Bend is a religious one.

Overall, the room was adequately clean, but the bedspread did have several noticeable stains on it and several of the bathroom linens were in very poor condition.

The room had a very unpleasant musty odor when we first walked in. We had to run the air conditioner on high at all times to make it bearable. This also made for an uncomfortable night's sleep, as the room was obviously very cold and the bedding was quite thin (and there were no extra blankets in the room).

Despite the fact that it was a "non-smoking" room, the room smelled of smoke--and at times, it was quite strong--because guests in an adjacent room were smoking. Curiously, our "non-smoking" room had several ashtrays set out, so I'm not entirely convinced that if we had asked for a smoking room, that we wouldn't have been given the exact same room. What is even more frustrating is that the manager was pretty forceful in reminding us (multiple times) that it was a non-smoking room and that we would be charged $75 if they found we were smoking in the room (and yet we had to endure smoke even though we specifically requested non-smoking).

The 3 ring binder in the room listed pool hours that were not unlike the hours you would see at any hotel. However, when we went down to the pool (within the hours listed in our room), the pool was closed and other, very limited hours (a few hours in the morning and a few hours in the afternoon) were posted. The manager was in the pool area at the time that we attempted to use it, and he was unapologetic in informing us that the pool was closed and we could not go in. We never were able to use the pool, but we were able to go into the pool area to check things out. The pool water was frigid. The hot tub was heated, though certainly not to the 101 degree temperature that was posted (it was more the temperature of a warm bath). Not that it mattered, as it was covered and the manager told us that it could not be used because the chemicals were out of balance.

There was free WiFi, but we kept getting booted off and would have to re-connect over and over again. The free continental breakfast in the morning was nothing to get excited about: cold cereal, a few doughnuts, and a waffle maker. The breakfast bar was quite dirty (waffle batter and butter wrappers everywhere), as the teenager behind the front desk checking people out was also taking care of the breakfast bar in between the steady line of check-outs.

The only thing this hotel has going for it is that it is conveniently located in West Bend, and I would confidently say that the convenience is not worth it. It was overpriced, the service was poor, and the management made us feel very uneasy. If we were to do this trip again, we’d drive the extra 15 miles down the highway to Emmetsburg and stay in the casino where the service and accommodations are likely to be better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel many times for family reunions. As stated in the other reviews, it can be noisy, but is comfortable and convenient. Unfortunately, the management has changed. I reserved a suite with 2 beds and a pull out sofa several months in advance. My room was not available. I was told I could have a one bed suite with a pull out sofa. Not ideal for a group of teenagers but I thought we would manage. When we arrived in our room, the pull out sofa was three dining room chairs pushed together. I returned to the desk and was told that was the best they could do. The couch was broken. I finally was able to get a couple of rollaways, that were awful, pulled in to have enough places for everyone to sleep.

The Indoor Pool: The pool and hot tub are covered with a thermal blanket at all times. We asked if the pool would be opened that evening. We were told that it would once more people arrived. When we were ready to use the pool, it was still covered. We were told to use the hot tub since it was already uncovered. I said that we wanted to use the pool. we were told that this was our last chance to use the hot tub, because only one can remain uncovered at a time. We were finally able to use the pool ONLY and the water was freezing. I don't believe they even use the heater. Very disappointing because it has been a nice pool area to relax in in the past.

Breakfast: Broken waffle maker, cereal and donuts.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perry, ia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

This is a beautiful little hotel in a little tiny town. I think West Bend
is smaller than a thousand people but most that come here are
probably coming to see the Grotto. There is really no need to
stay in a larger town because this hotel has it all. Nice, clean,
rooms that are well decorated and comfortable. Even though
they are basic they offer everything you need. Beds were decent
and rooms are big enough. The pool area was very nice with
a spa tub and large entertainment area. Breakfast was basic
but nice and really no complaints with anything. To find such
a nice little very well maintained hotel like this is truly rare.
I hope people appreciate what a great little hotel this really is!

  • Liked — Price and clean room
  • Disliked — Bed could have been better
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

We stayed at the Park View for one night during a family reunion in West Bend. On the plus side, our suite was very clean, nicely decorated, check-in was a breeze and the continental breakfast was more than adequate.

The major negative is the noise level at the hotel-and most of the guests were our relatives! You can hear running water in the other rooms, kids yelling through the walls, doors banging and foot traffic in the hallways. Add to that a noisy air conditioner compressor that kicks on and off all night, and a good night's sleep is hard to come by. The indoor pool was nice, though, and we also made use of a room off the pool as a gathering spot to play cards in the evening.

  • Liked — The size of the room
  • Disliked — Noise level
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to avoid large group meetings at the hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

If you are looking for a hotel with paper thin walls, all night partying with unsupervised drunken guests that keep you up till nearly sun up, then this is the place for you. The layout of this hotel has placed many rooms very near the conference room used to host wedding parties until after midnight with loud bands and loud unruly drunken guests that are allowed to carry on until all hours of the night. Between yelling, banging on our doors and general disrespect for the families that were trying to sleep, we didn't see it quiet until 4:30 am. I'd question whether we got our money's worth this night. If you want to visit West Bend and the Grotto, this is a very niche hotel. Just make sure to ask if there are any parties like this. If there are, I'd recommend you find someplace else, or else request a room far from the conference room.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Inn & Suites

Address: 13 4th St. NE, West Bend, IA 50597
Location: United States > Iowa > West Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West Bend
Also Known As:
Park View Inn & Suites West Bend, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park View Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Park View Inn & Suites to your Saves list