We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll stay here again and again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Inn Waukon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stoney Creek Inn Waukon to your Saves list
Stoney Creek Inn Waukon
407 Rossville Road, Waukon, IA 52172   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waukon
Bonita, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I'll stay here again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is one of my favorites. My family and I have stayed here many times and will go back on our next trip to Waukon. SCI is always welcoming. Staff is great. Rooms and lobby are kept very clean. Rooms are cozy, homey, and well done. Splurge on one of their suites for a nice experience and a little extra space. This property is close to the center of town and both close highways. Waukon is a very walkable town and food and services are easy to get to from SCI.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

If we had to stay away from home, it was as close as we could get from our own digs. Staff is helpful and cheery and made our stay feel as though we were part of the family. Definitely *not* institutionalized as so many hotels are these days. We enjoyed the sofa in our suite and made use of the refrigerator and microwave to make our 'movie night' special.

Room Tip: for an upscale experience, try the whirlpool/fireplace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mars, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The rooms are clean and very reasonably priced. That is kind of nice these days. I felt safe and the rooms are clean. I really like the atmosphere as it has a woodsy, outdoors feel to the place. The hotel is in a good place as it was easy to get to. We liked our stay.

Room Tip: I don't have a preference as to room placement I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn Waukon, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Diane, We are so very pleased you discovered us and that you we’re pleased by our hotel and staff. We thank you and hope you will seek us out again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbq
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice and quiet and tastefully decorated the hotel was. It was very clean; the beds were comfortable; the bathroom was very tidy we had a whirlpool suite the shower in the bathroom was very dark could use a light closer to it The staff was very friendly and helpful they recommended the Old Rossville Store for dinner It was That wads great food We definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I recently stayed here passing through for work. The front desk clerk, was very friendly and helpful. The computers were down, she made small talk so the wait wasn't awkward. I learned she had two daughters the same age as mine. It was nice that our conversation didn't seems like a bother to her at all. My stay was comfortable. Breakfast was decent but missing a hot protein. The decor was nice, like every other Stoney Creek I've stayed in very hunter friendly (always a plus with me). The beds were comfortable, although I stay in La Crosse, WI often so I was expecting them to have the same mattresses. Unfortunately they do not. That would be the only change I would make.

I've made reservations to bring my family up this summer to enjoy some of the lovely hiking trails they have near by.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were surprised by how nice, quaint, and tastefully decorated the hotel was. It was very clean; the beds were comfortable; the bathroom was very tidy (shower curtain rocked). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even the teddy bear! We definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moweaqua, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Being from rural Iowa I was not surprised at the gracious hospitality that I was shown when I recently stayed here on a business trip. The room was nice and very clean. The decor was rustic and blended with the theme of the hotel very well. The bed was comfortable with multiple pillow choices. Being located in town you would think the busy sounds would bother you. Completely the opposite. It was quiet on the first floor. The breakfast selection was fresh and the coffee was really good. The price for the night made it even better. I will definitely recommend anyone to stay there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Inn Waukon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn Waukon

Address: 407 Rossville Road, Waukon, IA 52172
Location: United States > Iowa > Waukon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waukon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn Waukon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Inn Waukon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.