We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Waterloo

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Waterloo to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Waterloo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Econo Lodge Waterloo
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3350 University Ave, Waterloo, IA 50701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
bloomington il
1 review
“Cheap stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Decorated in 1970's filth. Don't know where to start from the yellow stained sheets,the smell of a room that has been smoked in for 30 years, or the prostitute screaming in the neighboring room. Ask the man at front desk for an extra pillow and he acts like he has to pull teeth to get one. Overall once you get over the smell and the itchy eyes it gets the job done. The Econo Lodge was quite an experience....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
1
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown,Wv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Passing through Iowa on my way across country, decided to stop here.. Never had a problem with choice hotels. This place is terrible!!! I asked the lady at the front desk for extra pillows, without hesitation they were all out, I also asked for a extra towel (girlfriend washing her hair) to the response of you only get new towels when you return the dirty ones. I get that it's a bargain hotel, but for $60 there has to be better options out there. Don't waste you time with this place!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel was under construction, so they are obviously trying to improve the place, but the smell of paint and cleaners was pretty overwhelming. While the staff was friendly, the bathroom and the towels were not as clean as they should be. The walls of the room were not sound proof at all, and the hallways were noisy. Small rooms with very limited cable TV service. The website makes it look much nicer than it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

I understand the were under construction but it was horrible. Total makeshift setup in a sketchy neighborhood, mold all over the grout in the shower, i could hear every word the people above me were saying. I have my doubts if it will be good enuf after remodeling. It needs a lot. Parking lot was dark and dirty.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Our room was clean. Breakfast was pretty picked over by the time we got up (late). Girls sports team roaming hallways and talking on cell phones in the morning. Opened door and one was laying outside our room on her back on phone talking. Kinda weird, but we slept well at a great price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Room was clean, bed and bedding were very comfortable. I usually am a very restless sleeper when it comes to hotels, but I honestly slept straight thru the night. Staff was pleasant and accommodating. There were plenty of muffins, rolls, bread and cereal to chose from in the morning. I would stay again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

It was not well maintained outside, part of the sign is missing The room is clean but very old and outdated. Like the previous person wrote they only put a couple slices of bread or donuts at a time and they don't supply plastic cups with the ice bucket. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Waterloo

Address: 3350 University Ave, Waterloo, IA 50701
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Waterloo 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.