We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2011 LaPorte Road, Waterloo, IA 50702 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Waterloo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Waterloo
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
“Clean & Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Freshly-baked cookies and juice were waiting for us at the desk for check-in. The gentleman working the front desk even called the room about a half-hour after check-in to make sure everything was to our liking in the room. Mattress was extraordinarily comfortable for being a hotel bed. I had found a deeply discounted room rate online, so I was a little concerned that there might be something wrong with the hotel, but it was so very clean! It didn't have that overly-sanitized "hotel smell." Rather, it smelled like a private residence-- just clean. Even though the building is right next to a highway and our room was on the end closest to said road, we weren't bothered by noise at all; it was a pleasantly quiet stay. Breakfast was about average for any 2 1/2-star hotel. The only real drawback was that the pool and hot tub were closed for remodeling during our stay. However, the front desk was upfront about this when I called to confirm our reservation, so we were spared a surprise disappointment. There is no on-site fitness center, but the hotel does offer a complimentary voucher for admission to a local gym.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
8
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were greeted by a great front desk person, cheerful, helpful and very efficient. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast selection was good. On the minus side, the furniture was badly stained and the desk chair was so tilted forward you could hardly sit in it. The caulking on the tub was pulled off and black in spots and and the tile floor squeaked when you walked on it, not a problem for me but probably annoying for anyone under us. Overall OK but it was hard to be comfortable anyplace other than on the bed.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Needed to stay overnight around Waterloo so chose the Fairfield. Price of room with senior discount was more than I thought it would be but the room was clean and had a very comfortable mattress. Breakfast had more choices than normal, sandwiches of ham and cheese, sausage and cheese and pancake and sausage on a stick. Stocked and extremely clean breakfast area. The only downside, and this may be petty, but the duvets were of a material that made a crinkly sound whenever you moved in the bed. Kind of like cellophane would sound. Very strange. Even though, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last summer July 30, 2011. From the moment we walked in we were greeted by the sweetest young lady at the front desk. She has excellent customer service skills and she made us feel right at home. Our room was very nice, and super clean. The beds were so comfy we had a hard time waking up in the morning. We stayed at over 10 hotels last summer in a 3 week span and this one was by far one of the best! We will for sure be back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We needed a one night stay in the Cedar Falls/Waterloo area, and the Fairfield Inn fit the bill nicely. Although not luxurious like a Marriott or Ritz it was comfortable with big room and nice amenities...free newspaper, WiFi, Pantene toiletries, breakfast, free HBO, etc. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The pool was small but I wouldn't imagine you'd come here as a vacation spot. We stayed for an athletic event event at UNI and it was convenient. All in all, we got a good night sleep for a good price.

Room Tip: We got a corner room 322 and it was nice and big and away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Second time staying in this hotel and the only reason I stayed here again is because I am a Marriott groupie (mega awards points earner). The rooms and bathrooms are clean, have the large flat screen TV, and typical Marriott beds and pillows. Staff was helpful when I needed assistance with finding a courier. The major downfall is the lack of noise containment. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the walls are paper thin and transmit even normal conversations easily. I always stay on the upper most floor but I could tell that my walking across the room was making alot of noise for the room below me. Plus the doors make a huge bang when they close themselves. The breakfast is typical, microwave sandwiches, waffle maker, bagel, fresh fruit, cereal, juice. Next time, I will sacrifice the points and go down the road to the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: always request a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. This is a perfectly adequate hotel. My major concern was that the walls appeared to be very thin. The highlight of my stay was to find that they have chocolate milk in the included breakfast buffet. I would stay here again as it was clean and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo

Address: 2011 LaPorte Road, Waterloo, IA 50702 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Waterloo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites in Waterloo, IA near Crossroads MallLocated adjacent to shopping at Crossroads Mall, the Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel in Waterloo, Iowa offers easy access to Cedar Valley Arboretum and Cedar Valley Trails, 106 miles of hard-surfaced trails and 10 miles of water trails perfect for a variety of outdoor adventures. This Waterloo, IA hotel is also convenient to the Grout Museum of History and the University of Northern Iowa, home of the Panthers.Waterloo is home to John Deere Waterloo Operations, as well as Lost Island Water Park, the Waterloo Riverfront and a Downtown Museum District featuring the Waterloo Center For the Arts.Guests of this Waterloo, IA hotel are invited to relax in the indoor heated pool and enjoy the following additional amenities:Free wireless high-speed Internet accessFree newspaper Monday through FridayFree coffeePet-friendly hotel; additional fees applyYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms at this non-smoking hotel offer a 32-inch high-definition flat-screen television, a microwave and refrigerator.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Inn & Suites a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Waterloo, IA area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Waterloo
Fairfield Waterloo
Waterloo Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.