We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below par for a Quality Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 W. 5th St., Waterloo, IA 50701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Below par for a Quality Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Staff was helpful. Rooms were older and not cheery. Faucet and heater were very worn. The parking lot can not hold all the vehicles on a mostly booked night and you would be parking on the street and paying the meter. Mattress was old and saggy. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    13
    12
    19
See reviews for
13
8
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel in is located in Downtown Waterloo, Iowa and has a great location. Staff was excellent, room was clean, an breakfast buffet was typical for Quality Inn. The hotel could use a renovation as the condition and decor is dated and tired. i still would consider staying there again if I need to be in Waterloo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

From the outside, this place looked pretty good. And the lobby seemed nice, too. But when we got off the elevator on the second floor, we had been transported into a 1950's dorm. The hallways were very dark. The room was large and the bed fairly comfortable, but depressingly drab. The high point was the very fast elevator. The breakfast was OK.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I arrived late, but was treated well. I decided on the king bed/jaccuzzi tub suite. The rooms were huge. The furniture was a little old. However the mattress was great. Breakfast was the usual but fresh and hot.
The down side is that this hotel still has smoking rooms so the smell permeates everything

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I generally don't expect too much when I book a Quality Inn, and this hotel did not exceed my expectations. The room was OK, but the decor was a bit worn. It did have a fridge and microwave, but it definitely could have used some updating.

The lobby area was small and not very attractive. Only one of the two elevators was working (and I suspect this may be a permanent situation). The breakfast room had plenty of space, but the selection of items was pretty meagre.

The hotel is just across the Cedar River from downtown Waterloo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We took a long weekend and upon arrival the smell was awful. All the carpets were stained and the "suites" were filthy as well. The beds were dirty and the comforters were stained. We stayed for 10 minutes as we had children with us and I could not have them stay. They would not let us back out of the first night so we left and paid for our room there as well as the new room we went to at another hotel. We cancelled the next night. We called the hotel every day for a week and did not get returned calls. I would like to see the health inspection report! They also do not have screens on the windows and you can open the window. Don't have children stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I booked this hotel for business and three other colleagues. My room had random stains on the comforter, and even though it was a "non-smoking" room, it was definitely a smoking room at some point, because it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. It was July and my air conditioner didn't work. My colleague must have ended up in an accessible room ... at least, I hope it was an accessible room, because the toilet was IN the shower. My other colleague couldn't get anything but a room on the smoking floor ... and they were NOT smoking cigarettes. The entire floor was full of people smoking marijuana.

The hotel is also in a shady area of town ... the views from the hotel room can either be of the many strip clubs the area has to offer, or of the hospice that shares the parking lot.

We left asap and will NOT be returning.

Room Tip: Only choose the smoking floor if you like a contact high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 226 W. 5th St., Waterloo, IA 50701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Waterloo hotel adjacent to Five Sullivan Brothers Convention Center The pet-friendly Waterloo, IA Quality Inn & Suites(R) hotel is located adjacent to Five Sullivan Brothers Convention Center and Isle Casino Waterloo and 3 miles from the Lost Island Water-park. Other attractions are: • National Cattle Congress • John Deere World Headquarters • Waterloo Industries • University of Northern Iowa • Grout Museum District Young Arena is close to us, too. Several restaurants and golf courses are nearby. Our amenities include: •Free high-speed Internet access •Free deluxe continental breakfast     •Free local calls •Free daily newspaper     •Free coffee in the lobby Access to our business center and copy and fax machines is available. All our rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards and safes. Some rooms have whirlpools. Non-smoking rooms are available. Laundry facilities are onsite. Whether traveling to the Waterloo area on business or vacation, Quality Inn & Suites is the perfect location. Book your room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Quality Inn
Quality Inn Waterloo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.