We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value award” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2141 Laporte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best value award”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This truly is NOT your typical Motel 6. Nice and clean, comfortable room, interior hallway, impressive flat screen TV, free wifi (although I didn't use it), and even a mini-fridge inside a wooden cabinet. All of this for a king bed at the low price of $49.99 (less on weekdays).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
8
6
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a hot tub room, absolutely amazing! I've stayed at many Motel 6's throughout the whole country and have never had such a wonderful experience!

The check in staff were friendly and efficient.

Walking into the room and it was lovely! So clean! Beautiful furniture, modern decor, soft carpet and a sense of comfort straight away. Alarm clock, hair dryer and lots of pretty lamps. Something you never usually find at a Motel 6!

The king bed was comfortable, had lots of feather pillows and a cotton comforter. Bedding you usually find at high end Hotels. So cozy! It had a nice comfy chair to sit on and a well lit desk with a leather business chair.

The hot tub worked great, all the jets were powerful and it was very clean. I think it's a heated one too because we never had to top it off with hot water. All this for $90 in summer. I think the standard rooms are much cheaper, but I am sure they are of high quality. We didn't even feel like we were at the Motel 6, it was very nice. Still pet friendly with no fee, very hard to find in most motels, especially hot tub rooms.

The bathroom was clean, with a separate sink area, both spotless!

There was a fridge, but no microwave..... the only downside to our stay. We just ordered from Jimmy Johns.

Flat screen TV. Reliable WiFi, fast too!

Nice indoor pool!

No breakfast, but who cares ...this motel is very close to the mall, many restaurants and lots of good shopping choices.

Nothing to complain about, loved our stay. Wish we could of stayed longer! Get a hot tub room if it's available, it's well worth the extra $30 or so. If not, then I am sure you'll be happy with your stay anyway.

Get a room facing the back of the building, I think it's quieter. It faces the trees and grass rather than the busy parking lot out front.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked our room on booking.com and got the rate that was promised! We did reserve a king size and got 2 queens, but that was ok. The one bed was horrible!! It sunk in the middle. Good thing we had extra pillows so it evened out the bed when you laid on them. The flusher on the toilet broke after the second use and my husband had to take the top of the toilet off to flush for the remainder of our stay. The phone was disgusting! There was dried food where the receiver hung up and only one of the phones worked. Not the best experience!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

PLEASE NOTE: Baymont Inn and Suites has changed to a Motel 6. There is another Motel 6 located on the north side of Waterloo. This review is for the former Baymont Inn which is now Motel 6 on Laporte near the mall in Waterloo.

I stayed at Motel 6 due to a car breakdown on 3/24/13. Normally I don't stay at hotels with a number in their name, but they were about 1/2 the price of the other hotels, and they accept a limited number of pets with no fees. (I think the staff said they have 4 pet-friendly rooms?)

My room was clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable. The hallway and stair carpet probably needs to be replaced soon, but I wasn't staying in the hallway or stairs so it didn't really matter. The front desk staff were super nice when I checked in. Coffee in the morning but no breakfast.

Overall, it was a really good value for a last-minute place to sleep - about $50 for the night

Room Tip: There are four pet-friendly rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at Motel 6 due to a car breakdown on 3/24/13. Normally I don't stay at hotels with a number in their name, but they were about 1/2 the price of the other hotels, and they accept a limited number of pets with no fees. (I think the staff said they have 4 pet-friendly rooms?)

My room was clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable. The hallway and stair carpet probably needs to be replaced soon, but I wasn't staying in the hallway or stairs so it didn't really matter. The front desk staff were super nice when I checked in. Coffee in the morning but no breakfast.

Overall, it was a really good value for a last-minute place to sleep - about $50 for the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel! The front desk staff - Anesa and Jacqueline - were awesome and seemed to be there all day and night! They were so nice and fun and helpful! The room accommodations were great also! This hotel used to be a Baymont Inn but is now a Motel 6, so it has a few amenities not usually at a Motel 6, such as a pool and hairdryer. When I found out this hotel was now a Motel 6, I was hesitant as I don't normally stay at Motel 6, but the gal (Anesa) I always talked to the few times when making the reservation (and a block of rooms for our group) was upfront and very easy to work with us. I was very pleasantly surprised by this Motel 6, which seemed to be all upgraded, so that I won't be hesitant for Motel 6 in the future! Kudos to Anesa and Jacqueline!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This location is not a baymont inn no more the hotel names has been changed to Motel 6 now
After reading all the reviews,looks like management has done a lot of changes this hotel rooms was in great shape and rooms and overall hotel is very clean.
Room had 32' flat screen tv new and mordern furnitures and great internet access
Though there's no breakfast at motel 6 but the rate was good enough for us to buy a full breakfast at IHop (for $20.00 extra in other hotels in the area the only provide cereal and bread)
But staying there I save $20 and bought ourself full breakfast
The rooms were very clean and very well maintained
Overall quality of the was excellent great and new heated pool

Room Tip: Great and clean rooms couldnt believe its Motel 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls

Address: 2141 Laporte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Waterloo
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Holiday Inn Waterloo
Baymont Inn Waterloo
Waterloo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.