We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the bad reviews are undeserved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2056 La Porte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the bad reviews are undeserved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I read all of the bad reviews and thought about canceling my reservation, but it was too late and I would have been charged. So I hesitantly checked in. My request for a room away from smoking rooms was taken care of. Both of the people working the front desk were prompt, friendly, efficient. As I opened the door to my room I was pleasantly surprised to see an updated, clean suite. Full-size refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher. New flooring and carpeting - clean. Updated bathroom - clean. Bedding - clean. And the bed was pretty comfy. Lots of electric outlets, placed where you can use them easily. Free wi-fi. It isn't the quietest place, but not many hotels like this are. That is why I travel with earplugs for sleeping. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby for convenience. I will definitely stay here again if I am back here again for business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
6
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only place available for a wrestling tournament this past weekend. Based on other Trip Advisor reviews, I had very low expectations. The room was clean and the kitchenette was nice (even a full-sized refrigerator). They knew we were checking in with four people - there were two bath towels available. When we requested two more towels, the response was "all of our towels are currently being washed.....we're at full capacity this weekend." I guess they must not reach full capacity very often???? In general, we'll go to the next closest town next time. I will point out that the location is within walking distance/few minutes driver to multiple restaurants and shopping. One more thing - don't expect any kind of breakfast at this hotel - not even a donut.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in Sept. 2012, was in town for UNI football game. Never stayed in Cadlewood suites before, so didn't know what to expect. Was one of a few places left with rooms availiable. Check in was fine, front desk only staffed from 7am-11pm, if arriving outside of those hours and have reservation your key and info will be in what looks like a safe just inside main doors. Stayed in room 212, had 2 queen beds, and one of the beds had a large hole on bedspread, was very obvious as spread is orange/yellow and sheet white, was dissapointed they were still using despite hole, looked tacky. There is a full kitchen, looked nice, and had everything you would need to cook. Also a clothes closet that is fairly large with a door that shuts. View was of parking lot. There is a desk/table for eating and working both chairs at this were stained and dirty looking. Also recliner that was nice, flat screen tv, and dvd with lending library at front desk with books and movies. Also your own fuse box in room. Housekeeping is weekly, but you can exchange your linens at front desk if need be. Bathroom was fairly large with tub/shower, and plenty of towels, but towels were very hard, almost unusabale as so rough. In bathroon 2 bar soaps, and pantene combo of shampoo/conditioner. Our room was not a suite as other reviewers describe, there was no door seperating bed from living area. Probably wouldn't stay at again unless no other options, was about $100 for the one night. Don't need the kitchen area, and dissapointed by condition of room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear nursecommander,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us specifically on being disappointed by the room. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I regret to inform you that this was the worst experience I have had in a very long time! When we arrived to check in, it took at least 15 minutes of roaming around the hotel before I could even find anyone to check us in! After we finally got our room keys, we walked into a dirty room! I realized that sometimes stuff happens, however when I brought this to the attention of the staff, she acted as if it was such an inconvenience to find us another room! Also, one of the amenities that I thought was offered was the "Cupboard" which was pretty much empty. I understand that the store is not very far away but after a long trip, it would have been nice not to have to go out of our way for some snacks! All in all, our impression of this hotel was horrible! When you are paying $123.19, a person expects higher standards than this!

Room Tip: Dont try Candlewood Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Roberta S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Madison
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for over 2 months the staff was very accommodating. They did have problems with the internet a few times and the supply cupboard is bare for items that you might not have however the shopping stores are just down the road and I just went there and got what I needed. Very pet friendly with a large open area to the south.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor and there was some noise, not more the normal. ask for an upper level. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We are relocating from the East coast to the West coast due to a military posting. We have a two year old & a four month old and prefer to stay in a one bedroom suite .... and as we are taking our time driving across we have stayed in a few already.
This is by far the worst.
We booked a non smoking suite, which on arrival were informed it was a "non-smoking" room on the "smoking" floor... level 4. They could run a humidifier if we thought the room was smelly, there were no other suites available and as it was for one night we took the room.
The room itself has mis-matching linen ( white and a yellowy colour which gives the impression its really old and stained, ( even though i dont think it is ? ). The furniture is stained and the king bed appears to be tilting back towards the wall ( as in higher at the foot end, lower level at the head end ). There is only one air conditioning unit for both rooms. The bedroom receives the cool air through a vent above the air con in the lounge area. It gets sucked through by way of an extremely noisy pump ? The lounge area is extremely cold & the bedroom very stuffy.
Our last stop, also in a small town, the room rate was $140 ( Marriott Residence Inn ) which included a light dinner, a hot buffet breakfast and a new clean room .... this room $200 !! Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Nlb74,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We strive everyday to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received, amenities and lounge area. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Internet service cuts out frequently (which just happened, so this is the 2nd time I'm writing this). Front desk staff was friendly and accomodating, but they wore sweatpants and grubby t-shirts. I'm not expecting slacks at a place like this, but even jeans would have been a big improvement. When I checked in they didn't acknowledge my platinum membership in Priority Club, nor did they have my check in paperwork and keys ready. I also didn't get any sort of upgraded room (which is common for platinum members). I don't expect to be upgraded if there isn't anything available, but I probably got one of the worst room locations (2nd floor of 4 floors, right across from the elevator). The room key seemed to lose its magnetic code after one use. I had to get it re-programmed 4 times in two days. The toilet in the room barely flushed, so I opted not to risk using it. The A/C unit was mislabeled. There was a sign on the A/C which instructed me to use the thermostat on the wall, but the thermostat on the wall did nothing. I was eventually able to turn on the A/C when I used the controls on the unit itself. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable, so I didn't sleep well. The towels were hard and scratchy, and one of them had a faint orange streak on it. There were several dishes, bowls, and cups in the cupboard that were completely soiled. I think the dishwasher may have been broken. Overall, the quality of this hotel is much worse than the Holiday Inn Express across the street (and the Hampton Inn), but the price was much lower as well. If price is a big deal, then this might still be okay. But if you are okay with spending a little more money, you will have a better experience next door. This hotel wasn't all bad. They pool/hot tub were clean and functional. The rooms looked nice and updated, but I felt like it was all superficial (like putting egyptian cotton sheets on a 50 year old mattress).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Chad T,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club Member and for leaving us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you have mentioned our friendly and accommodating staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. However, I am deeply sorry that we fell below your expectations. Your comments about the room keys and the Air Conditioner are troubling will certainly be looked into.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls

Address: 2056 La Porte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Waterloo - Cedar Falls. Our hotel is located within walking distance of area attractions and is just seven miles from the Waterloo Regional Airport (ALO). If you're without a car during your stay in Waterloo, you can enjoy the convenience of having several attractions within walking distance of our Waterloo hotel, including the Crossroads Mall, the Isle of Capri Casino and the Lost Island Water & Theme Park. Other attractions less than 10 miles from our Waterloo, Iowa hotel include the Grout Museum District, the National Cattle Congress, the Phelps Youth Pavilion and the stadiums for the Waterloo Blackhawks and the Waterloo Bucks. In addition to our close proximity to area attractions, business guests also appreciate our hotel's proximity to local businesses. Businesses within a few miles of our accommodations include John Deere, Tyson, Allen Hospital and Sartori Hospital. With a variety of comfortable rooms and amenities, you'll feel like you never left home during your extended stay in Waterloo, Iowa. Our hotel offers amenities to help you keep up your daily routine, including a 24-hour business center, fitness center and an indoor pool. Other amenities include free guest laundry facilities, a convenience store and free, high-speed Internet access. You can get comfortable, when you stay at our extended stay hotel in Waterloo, IA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls Hotel Waterloo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.