We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Olive Garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive Garden
1315 E San Marnan Dr, Waterloo, IA 50702-4334
(319) 235-6494
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 116 Restaurants in Waterloo
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Olive Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, prompt service and tasty food- the chicken scampi was especially tender and delicious

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Chain Restaurant, Yes, but well worth the eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I love Olive Garden, and I have been to many Olive Garden establishments from Arizona to Florida, and I enjoy eating here. The service is always great, the servers will substitute for you, and service is always with pleasantness. I love the endless soup bowl and salad; and breadsticks. I always take home the rest of my meal, because it is lots of food for the buck. The Waterloo, Iowa Olive Garden is comfortable, clean and a great place to have lunch or dinner after shopping at Crossroads Shopping Mall right across San Marnan Road.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Another failing Darden chain restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well, one thing that has changed, you don't have to wait in much of a line at the door to get seated. I guess that is because their business has fallen off that much. The tables are seated too close together. I am almost sure they have changed their lasanga receipe. Didn't care for it all. My wife had the dumpling soup and it was nasty. Vegetables were raw and so was the dough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Freindly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We called to reserve a table of seven at 6 p.m. The front desk manager stated that the next possible table is after 8 p.m. So we just stopped in anyway. The server was very patient and friendly since we had 3 different families at the table all very tired and hungry.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Good food. Nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Clean. Wait staff very good, food good of course. Like the low calorie dishes. Very filling. Excellent experience

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.