We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Bottle

The Brown Bottle
209 W 5th Street, Waterloo, IA 50701
319 232-3014
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 115 Restaurants in Waterloo
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hawkeye, IA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

They are always fairly priced. They recently re-built after a big flood a few years back. My wife and I love their food and service. They always give you more food than you can eat and at a great price. We frequent there with friends and family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Casual or fancy dress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had been here several times and have never been disapointed. Food is excellent and prepared and presented as if in a very high class resturant, which it is. Prices reasonable. Always have had a different choice to find my favorite.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I don't know what it is like to eat there as a small party...but any organized event (we had 35) get ready for the screw job. Just because you have a large party...why limit the menu? why provide crappy service? why charge more? why put into the ugliest room in the restaurant? I'll never go to any Brown Botte.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Food In A Historic Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food and service were first rate. Very good Italian food. I also enjoyed the atmosphere! It is a jewel in Downtown Waterloo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best atmosphere & italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

First class restaurant. A pleasant surprise and terrific value. Lasagne is world class. Wine selection is surprisingly diverse.my date had baked cod and couldn't stop talking about it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Bottle also viewed

 
Waterloo, IA
 

Been to The Brown Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Bottle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.