We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Waterloo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Waterloo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2127 La Porte Road, Waterloo, IA 50702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Waterloo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip. It was the first that this location. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I needed a place to work with a colleague so we were offered a conference room in which we could get our work done.

The rooms were clean and the breakfast was Holiday inn like.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
13
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Daejeon, South Korea
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Waterloo came to meet my expectations for the hotel chain: new, clean, and affordable rooms. My room, #307, was warmly decorated and the furniture was well maintained. The bathroom, large and spacious, had one fault: the toilet wasn't attached well to the floor. As a result, the toilet shifted when being used or being flushed.

The free hot breakfast, while standard for the chain, definitely seemed higher quality and more edible than at other HI Express hotels I've stayed at. The other facilities at the hotel: pool, workout room, and business center were also modern and well-maintained.

Unfortunately, the front desk staff appeared to resort to hiding in the front office and relying on guests using a call bell for service. More often than not, the front desk was not staffed whenever I walked past. A major disappointment for a business in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Keane N,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had accidentally booked the wrong date for my business stay. The hotel manager not only accommodated me but also cancelled my wrong booking even though I had prepaid. Room was very clean, new, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was really amazing to see the cleaniness of the hotel,the hotel looks brand new and lobby decor was absolutely fabulous,upon checkin all staff were inviting and were ready with my room keys and reg cards the rooms location was offer which a requested in my reservation 3 weeks ago.My kids enjoyed the huge pool and spa, and GM even came and showed us the special feature pool had (the wave jets) totally amazing
We definitely recommand this hotel to our friends and family
Had a great stay

Room Tip: Very helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Check in was fine, the lobby was nice. Our room had a smell. A bad smell. Dirty feet or the smell of a million lady bugs releasing their stink in a vacuum cleaner bag. I asked for a room spray since it was getting late and the kids didn't want to change rooms. That masked the smell-for a little while. The bathroom in our room was very clean and spacious. The pillows were too big to be comfortable but the beds were fine. The t.v. remote didn't work and the t.v. station guide was wrong. The pool area was nice but the lights weren't on and it was super dark in there. We asked at the front desk and they turned on the lights. The pool was a GREAT temperature and so was the hot tub in the evening. The next morning the hot tub was colder than the pool and we had to find (and I mean find since the front desk person didn't answer the bell and we couldn't find her anywhere) the front desk person to unlock the pool-it was after 8am, after the pool opens. The fitness center was CRAP. One treadmill was the smallest I've ever seen and it didn't work properly. The other treadmill was fine but it was literally 80 degrees in that tiny room and NO thermostat. There was a fan but it was a small one. As soon as I walked into the room I knew it was going to be a hot workout since I was HOT and hadn't done anything yet. Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast with plenty of room for all of the guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear KatherineNoel,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had a fabulous stay,all staff were very helpful and caring.I checked in around 12am,the front desk clerk was ready to check me in even she asked me if i needed any assistance with my bags(thought that was nice of her).Next day my family was so amazed to see the cleaninesss of the hotel room,first ever ,seen a hotel room corners were spotless and absolutley amazing (housekeeping staff been very well trained to detail).The hotel breakfast was great a resturant like setup and staff was very carring

Great stay

Room Tip: Great staff and very very clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel staff provided great service from the time of reservation to checkin they make sure at all my request were provided.
I had 2 infants with us during our stay and we requested extra crib,towels and linen and they were all in the room before we even checked in great housekeeping staff the room was very clean and detail

Room Tip: Great customer service and very help staff through out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Waterloo

Address: 2127 La Porte Road, Waterloo, IA 50702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Waterloo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Holiday Inn Express hotel in Waterloo-Cedar Falls, Iowa provides comfortable, completely non-smoking accommodations near Waterloo Regional Airport (ALO). Located in the heart of Iowa, Waterloo offers attractions for both the business and leisure traveler. Our hotel is close to several corporate offices. The John Deere research facility, Tyson Foods, Omega Cabinets and Berch Cabinets are within easy driving distance. You will be able to get to your meeting or convention on time as we are near the Five Sullivan Brothers Convention Center and the National Cattle Congress. The University of Northern Iowa and Allen Hospital are also close. Waterloo offers a variety of attractions for the entire family. Crossroads Mall offers premium shopping located just across from the hotel. The Lost Island Water & Park is only minutes away. We are just two miles from the Isle of Capri Casino. Other nearby attractions include the Grout Museum of History & Science and George Wythe Park. A complimentary hot breakfast is provided each morning while free high-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel. We also have a fitness center, meeting space and a continuous current, indoor pool. Stay Smart, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Waterloo-Cedar Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo Hotel Waterloo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.