We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You only comment on good reviews?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo to your Saves list
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Isle of Capri Boulevard, Waterloo, IA 50701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You only comment on good reviews?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I frequently gamble at the Isle of Capri in Waterloo. I personally have not had a bad experience there. The staff have always been top notch and most of the dealers at the card tables will socialize, which is cool. My only gripe is that I noticed that you only respond to comments that give you a good review. I would think that you could comment on some of the bad reviews and tell them that you apologize for the bad experiences and you'll try and work on correcting these in the future. Like I said, I haven't had a bad experience, but if I was to have knowledge of someone that has I would apologize and work on making it right. That's just me and how I'd run the operations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello. I am pleased to hear you have had great experiences at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo - especially with our dealers. I also understand your point about the negative reviews. We do try to respond to most all complaints, as well as our compliments. However, sometimes the responses to complaints do take a little longer. We prefer to investigate the problem, talk with our staff about the issue and whenever possible, call the guest to discuss the problem and work towards a resolution. (Our hotel reservation and Fan Club systems can sometimes help us to track down their contact information.) We appreciate our guests' feedback and in cases where we are able to call them or contact them in a more personal way, we can get even more details to help us improve in the future and make the guest happy. But thank you for your review because it does keep that perception top of mind for us - that yes, sometimes it's not just about the indivdual, but also about letting others know as well. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
20
34
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this dump last night and were very disappointed. We arrived Friday afternoon and checked in early. We immediately had an issue that resulted in us needing to speak with Security. Cory with Security was incompetent to take care of our needs and refused to get us the help we needed. I expect Security staff (especially management) to do their job.

The old saying that a pleased customer will tell a few people, but a dissatisfied one will tell many...well...I plan to tell as many as possible about the poor service.

I will never return and made sure they knew this when I closed my platinum level players account later in the evening.

I can't wait for another casino option to open in the Cedar Rapids area, where I voted "yes".

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am assuming if you are a Platinum player that you previously had good experiences here. We would really like to get back to that spot with you. I am not sure what happened given the details of this review, but would you mind calling one of our Casino Hosts at 319-833-2192? We would hate to lose you as a customer and want to do what we can to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster City, Iowa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Isle has made very nice changes during check in. The service was fast and very friendly. They now have mini bars in the room., a nice touch if you would like to use it. The staff also called our room to make sure everything wa ok. All thesse changes were well needed and very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for including some of our new changes in your review. As you stated, we do have mini bars in some of our rooms now - floors 3 & 4. If all goes well, we will add them to the other floors as well. In addition to the mini bars, we just added a fitness center for our hotel guests too. We appreciate you acknowledging our efforts. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice room . big TV and the food at the buffet was good. very quite, may do this next time. we come to work. We got a good deal . and my wife got sick for the first date booked .But your ck in clerk helped us to get the next night exchanged. that was great . we did not plan on someeone getting that sick. your desk helper gave me the ph.no to request the change. that was very nice .and will make us stay again.


  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We couldn't be more pleased with your review - 5 stars! That's just plain awesome. We look forward to providing you with 5-star service again on your next visit. Hopefully this time everyone will be in good health and fully able to enjoy our facility. Thanks for the review, Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for one night on a Sunday with our two kids. Check in was quick and easy. When we arrived in our room we discovered it was hot as a sauna. We immediately turned down the thermostat and left for the pool. The pool area is beautiful and the kids enjoyed it. When we returned to the room, it was still really warm. We turned the heat off completely thinking that since it was quite cold outside that the room would cool down. It never did. Somehow the room stayed very warm all night. No one slept well, all 4 of us sleeping completely uncovered. We went to the Lone Wolf bar/restaurant twice in one night - first time to get a pizza to go for the kids and second time at about 11pm for food for the adults. Both times we sat at the bar for service. Both times we were completely ignored by the staff. We sat for over 15 minutes before having to speak out to get someone's attention. One young male bartender was much more worried about perfecting his Tom Cruise-like bottle flipping skills then actually serving customers. Absolutely terrible service on both occasions. It wasn't even busy either, so no excuses, just poorly trained and indifferent staff. Casino is nice although drink service is nearly non-existent. I sat at a blackjack table for nearly 4 hours and was visited by a waitress only once during that time. Just a terrible way to treat gamblers spending money in your establishment. Breakfast buffet was good however and we had a very good experience with a very nice and service oriented waitress there in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We love for our guests to walk away with a positive impression of our casino, restaurants, hotel, etc. Based off your review, I understand this did not happen for you due to a lack of customer service by the server and a problem with your hotel room's thermostat. We are truly sorry for that. We hope you will give us another try and if your experience is anything less than perfect, could you let a manager know, so we can try to fix the problem immediately? Thank you for visiting us in the past and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This casino reflects our economy. Desperate people that used to work at better paying jobs, or agriculture trying to achieve their dreams by smoking, drinking and gambling the night away. A very sad place. What really makes it sad is the lack of service and customer care. The management is rude. The room cleaning non-existent. Want to get frustrated and depressed at the same time. Stay here then....

Room Tip: Go to any other hotel... They have better deals and better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewitt, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We planned our annual Sister's Weekend at the Isle Casino Hotel in Waterloo, IA. We all agreed that it was one of the nicest hotels we have ever visited. Everyone involved in the operations of the Hotel was friendly and fun from the Valet (Eduardo) to the gals at the front desk, the gals that clean up the rooms, the people in the restaurant and the bartenders in the bar. The free entertainment in the bar/lounge on Friday evening was amazing! The rooms are awesome and the food was great! We couldn't have had a better time if we tried. We all agreed we will be coming back to this hotel on our next Sister's Weekend!

Room Tip: No advice-Between the group that went, 2 groups had two queen bed rooms, 1 group had a king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Can I just tell you how thrilled we were after reading your review? I am sure lifelong memories were created during your "Sister's Weekend" and what a privilege it is for us to be a part of those memories?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo

Address: 777 Isle of Capri Boulevard, Waterloo, IA 50701
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit us at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo and enjoy non-stop gaming fun. With approximately 23 table games and 950 slot machines, including 75 video poker machines, there is something for every gamer to enjoy. Looking for something to satisfy your hunger? Stop by one of our dining locations to experience the local Waterloo flavor or some of our fan-favorites from the grill! At Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo we also offer a hotel with 27 suites, an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, and fitness center. Book your room at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo today to experience our non-stop gaming fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Casino And Hotel
Isle Hotel Waterloo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.