We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice changes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo to your Saves list
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Isle of Capri Boulevard, Waterloo, IA 50701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Webster City, Iowa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice changes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Isle has made very nice changes during check in. The service was fast and very friendly. They now have mini bars in the room., a nice touch if you would like to use it. The staff also called our room to make sure everything wa ok. All thesse changes were well needed and very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for including some of our new changes in your review. As you stated, we do have mini bars in some of our rooms now - floors 3 & 4. If all goes well, we will add them to the other floors as well. In addition to the mini bars, we just added a fitness center for our hotel guests too. We appreciate you acknowledging our efforts. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
20
34
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hector
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice room . big TV and the food at the buffet was good. very quite, may do this next time. we come to work. We got a good deal . and my wife got sick for the first date booked .But your ck in clerk helped us to get the next night exchanged. that was great . we did not plan on someeone getting that sick. your desk helper gave me the ph.no to request the change. that was very nice .and will make us stay again.


  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We couldn't be more pleased with your review - 5 stars! That's just plain awesome. We look forward to providing you with 5-star service again on your next visit. Hopefully this time everyone will be in good health and fully able to enjoy our facility. Thanks for the review, Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for one night on a Sunday with our two kids. Check in was quick and easy. When we arrived in our room we discovered it was hot as a sauna. We immediately turned down the thermostat and left for the pool. The pool area is beautiful and the kids enjoyed it. When we returned to the room, it was still really warm. We turned the heat off completely thinking that since it was quite cold outside that the room would cool down. It never did. Somehow the room stayed very warm all night. No one slept well, all 4 of us sleeping completely uncovered. We went to the Lone Wolf bar/restaurant twice in one night - first time to get a pizza to go for the kids and second time at about 11pm for food for the adults. Both times we sat at the bar for service. Both times we were completely ignored by the staff. We sat for over 15 minutes before having to speak out to get someone's attention. One young male bartender was much more worried about perfecting his Tom Cruise-like bottle flipping skills then actually serving customers. Absolutely terrible service on both occasions. It wasn't even busy either, so no excuses, just poorly trained and indifferent staff. Casino is nice although drink service is nearly non-existent. I sat at a blackjack table for nearly 4 hours and was visited by a waitress only once during that time. Just a terrible way to treat gamblers spending money in your establishment. Breakfast buffet was good however and we had a very good experience with a very nice and service oriented waitress there in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We love for our guests to walk away with a positive impression of our casino, restaurants, hotel, etc. Based off your review, I understand this did not happen for you due to a lack of customer service by the server and a problem with your hotel room's thermostat. We are truly sorry for that. We hope you will give us another try and if your experience is anything less than perfect, could you let a manager know, so we can try to fix the problem immediately? Thank you for visiting us in the past and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This casino reflects our economy. Desperate people that used to work at better paying jobs, or agriculture trying to achieve their dreams by smoking, drinking and gambling the night away. A very sad place. What really makes it sad is the lack of service and customer care. The management is rude. The room cleaning non-existent. Want to get frustrated and depressed at the same time. Stay here then....

Room Tip: Go to any other hotel... They have better deals and better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewitt, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We planned our annual Sister's Weekend at the Isle Casino Hotel in Waterloo, IA. We all agreed that it was one of the nicest hotels we have ever visited. Everyone involved in the operations of the Hotel was friendly and fun from the Valet (Eduardo) to the gals at the front desk, the gals that clean up the rooms, the people in the restaurant and the bartenders in the bar. The free entertainment in the bar/lounge on Friday evening was amazing! The rooms are awesome and the food was great! We couldn't have had a better time if we tried. We all agreed we will be coming back to this hotel on our next Sister's Weekend!

Room Tip: No advice-Between the group that went, 2 groups had two queen bed rooms, 1 group had a king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Can I just tell you how thrilled we were after reading your review? I am sure lifelong memories were created during your "Sister's Weekend" and what a privilege it is for us to be a part of those memories?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here one night in October 2012 when in town for a UNI football game. Arrived around 1 pm on a Saturday and was told check in wasn't until 4 pm. Spent some time in the casino which is farily large, but smokey, and then at 2 pm tried to check in again and were given room 715. Room was just around the corner from the elevator, but was really quiet. Had one very comfortable bed, plenty of pillows, and room smelled fresh and clean. Loved the tropical feel to the room including ceiling fan that looks like palm fronds. Floor to ceiling window overlooked roof area and freeway. Love that the curtains overlap, so no early morning light is let into room. Room is large and had flat screen tv, large work desk and chair, and easy chair with foot rest and a little table next to it with lamp. Bathroom is huge, but no tub, toiletries are blood orange scented, and smell wonderful. Also liked the glass drinking glasses in bathroom, really dislike the hotels that have plastic. Breakfast buffet great, and a good value. Have stayed here in the past, and will stay again, really like this hotel, and the rooms are wonderful. Just wish casino didn't allow smoking, then would spend more time there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your 5-star review! We appreciate the details you provided about our hotel as they can be very helpful for guests visiting our TripAdvisor listing. I also love your attention to detail. It is nice to hear how much guests notice and appreciate those small things like the scent of our toiletries, the overlapping feature of the curtains and glass instead of plastic cups. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for four straight years to attend a conference. Twice we have had problems with our reservations and once we had problems with unlocking our doors with the cards. They had many problems trying to get them programmed correctly. This year we weren't able to check in until 4:00 PM we had problems with our reservations and the bed was very uncomfortable. I would stay somewhere else but my traveling companions like the casino.

Room Tip: We were given handicapped rooms because of the problems with the reservations. They are nice size r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo

Address: 777 Isle of Capri Boulevard, Waterloo, IA 50701
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit us at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo and enjoy non-stop gaming fun. With approximately 23 table games and 950 slot machines, including 75 video poker machines, there is something for every gamer to enjoy. Looking for something to satisfy your hunger? Stop by one of our dining locations to experience the local Waterloo flavor or some of our fan-favorites from the grill! At Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo we also offer a hotel with 27 suites, an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, and fitness center. Book your room at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo today to experience our non-stop gaming fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Casino And Hotel
Isle Hotel Waterloo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.