We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously this place is great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yok Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yok Ha Resort to your Saves list
Yok Ha Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Stann Creek, Waterfoot Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Seriously this place is great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here with our almost 3 year old daughter!! So relaxing and fun yet plenty for her to do as. We only stayed 4 nights. The food....AMAZING!! Locally sourced and delicious!! I felt like that whatever we needed/wanted we could simply ask for from the staff. A few tips...bring your own reusable water bottle the staff will refill it at your will and that way you will always have water, know that at the time of this posting all your activities booked thru the island can be paid for upon check-out, and don't be shy to let Julie know EXACTLY what you need/desire food and drink wise before your arrival that way there is plenty for you during your stay. I mean this is an island and they are bringing in all provisions as they see necessary. WE WILL MOST CERTAINLY be returning!! Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We came here on our honeymoon July 8th is when we checked in. We had the mya air hopper flight to the resort and stayed in LOA. We stayed for 3 days, We got some beers in the market on the way, and brought some liquor from the duty free shops on the way to Belize. I would suggest getting some duty free alcohol on the flight because it is limited selection in Belize. And pricey for the nicer imported bottles. We had a blast with Henry, Priska, and the other workers hanging out late on the docks and drinking. About a week later in out trip we were on a sailing trip from Caye Caulker and ran into Henry taking some visitors snorkeling. It a a good surprise to see him again.

Room Tip: bring bug spray, mask and snorkel and water shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I traveled to the resort in June for our 10 year
anniversary. I have to say that we did have a wonderful time on the
Island. We met some good friends, the food was great (and I am a very
picky eater), the staff is very accommodating (I agree with Shannah that
this was a problem also), the tour of Dangriga with the owners was great,
and we just got to relax which is what we were looking for. The drinks
were $5-$15 a piece so we had them stop at the local store
before we got on the boat so that we could get a couple bottles of wine.
Another tip, bring bug spray! There were definitely some things that made
it obvious that they had only been open since April, but it didn't bother
us because we were in paradise. We stayed in the Loa which was great for
the view and the privacy. If I were to do it again, I would not do the
excursion, it seemed unorganized, and not worth the price. Now for the
reason I decided to write a review....we decided to use the hopper flight suggested by the resort to get from Belize city to Dangriga where you catch the boat to the island. So they booked our hopper flight through Maya Island Air. Well, they booked our return flight to Belize City airport only an hour and forty minutes before our flight (through Delta to the US) was scheduled to leave. We assumed that they knew what they were doing when they booked our flights, so we trusted the itinerary they gave us. When we arrived at the Belize City airport, we were unable to get on our flight because we were supposed to be there at least 2 hours before our flight. We ended up having to pay an extra $1200 to get flights home and got home a day later than expected! We contacted the resort through email to discuss compensation which they responded to at first with an apology and to say they would investigate the issue. We haven't heard from them since despite emails that we have sent. I am writing this so that this doesn't happen to anyone else....if you use the hopper flight, make sure they schedule enough time to make your flight in Belize City. It was really unfortunate that this happened because we had such a wonderful time up until then, as you can see from the first part of the review, but this
was bad enough to almost ruin the whole experience for us. I am sure that
This will finally spark a response from someone from the resort, but excuses
will not bring back Our hard earned savings that we did not plan on spending.

Room Tip: The Loa is very private with an outdoor shower (does not have hot water) and a private dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have nothing but great things to say about the Yok Ha Resort! As stated in previous reviews, as long as you're looking for a trip that provides peace, beauty, and relaxation, you will not be disappointed. My husband and I spent the majority of our 7 night stay at Yok Ha kayaking, relaxing, laying out in the sun, and eating all of the fresh homemade food. We also scheduled a cave tubing & zip lining excursion. Abigail, the resort owner, drove us herself which we felt added to the personal touch of the resort. Though the drive was a bit long, we gained a greater knowledge about Belize and it's culture along the way. The cave tubing was an amazing experience that I highly recommend to anyone considering it! Zip lining was fun, but with all of the mosquitos swarming us at each stop, I don't think I'd do it again.

We stayed in the Loa. Though all of the cabanas have a similar look, we preferred the Loa for it's privacy. It is separated from the rest of the cabanas with its own little walkway. The Loa is the only cabana with an outdoor shower and it's own private dock. Sitting on the dock, separated from everyone else, made us feel like we were the only ones on the island.

The food was to die for! Celeste is one heck of a cook! Everything that was served was fresh, homemade, and just the right temperature. We received generous portions of everything, and whenever we asked for more, we received it. Celeste's homemade breads, avocado salsa, cassava chips, fried tacos, chocolate cake, and lobster - caught just hours before serving it - were some of our favorites to name a few.

Kevin, the new waiter/bartender, was such a sweetheart! Not only did he always made sure we had everything we needed with a never ending smile on his face, but he became our friend. In the evening or when it rained he hung out with us in the dining room, where we played games.

A couple nights before our departure, Abigail arranged a private dinner on the beach outside of our cabana to celebrate our anniversary. It was so special and romantic; I will keep it in my heart forever.

We thank the Yok Ha staff from the bottom of our hearts for going out of their way to make us feel so special on our 5 year anniversary trip!

Room Tip: The Loa is the most private with its own outdoor shower and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Yok Ha at the end of May and had a wonderful trip! Other reviewers are spot on regarding it being a great place with great food but not for those looking to be entertained/night life so I will not go further into that. We stayed 4 nights which was perfect length for us. A few of the highlights for us:

1. I loved that we got a true Belizean experience while still getting to enjoy the luxuries of a resort. Nothing is commercialized like most larger resorts but it certainly is not a "roughing it" experience. Abigail and her family even included us in their personal family fishing time which was a highlight for us to get to experience. It was like getting hanging out with our own family on a Saturday night.

2. We stayed in a Standard room (Ha 1). I was unsure what to expect since most of the pictures on the website are of the upgraded room. It was beyond my expectations! I can honestly say I think it was the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in. RIGHT on the water with a great porch and hammock.Very spacious with a simple bathroom with nice upgraded features. There is air conditioning but we only turned it on at night and even then sometimes left it off with the windows/doors open. I did not see the upgraded rooms but there is nothing more I could have wanted that this room did not have.

3. We took one excursion to go cave tubing and it was great. It was a little more expensive since it is a long distance from the resort but was worth it for us. A very unique experience that did not feel commercialized because there were not many people there but I think this depends on your guide (who are all independent contractors). Also, this is a cruise ship stop when they are in port and our guide said that it is a much different experience on these days and something to be avoided. It was a very long drive but I liked it because we got to drive through and see a lot of the country of Belize that would not have experienced otherwise. Also Abigail personally drove us which was a nice touch and made me feel very safe.

We loved our trip, the staff, the food, the cleanliness, the water, and the relaxation. Do not be deterred by the limited pictures on the website - unlike most resorts the photos that are shown are not photoshoped and everything looks even better in person. We highly recommend this resort and have not one complaint from our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just returned to the US from an 8 day/7 night stay at Yok Ha Resort. Overall, we had a great visit and the resort was just what we expected. Because we have travelled and lived extensively overseas, we thought it might be helpful to let future visitors know what to expect so that they can determine if this is the right resort for them:

1: The owners and staff are extremely accommodating. This has plusses and minuses. Obviously, they will do everything to make your stay wonderful. The downside is that sometimes it's hard to tell a guest no (when perhaps there isn't sufficient room for them to tag along on an excursion, etc) when they should. The solution is to merely clarify so that everyone is on the same page.

2: This is not a loud, lots-of-things-to-do resort. It's a 20-30 minute boat ride from Dangriga, with 5 cabanas and a dining room/bar/common room. Don't misunderstand: there are plenty of things to do, from kayaking around the island, to snorkeling, resting and, of course, you can choose to go on excursions (there is no pressure on the latter, though you will be asked to facilitate making appropriate arrangements). This was exactly the type of resort we wanted, so we were 100% satisfied. If you need lots of things to do and constant entertainment, this may not be the resort for you.

3: The resort is in the tropics. On an island. If you haven't travelled much, this means the sun is stronger. Bring.Sunscreen. This also means there can be bugs at times. Bring.Insect.Repellent. Is it a bug fest? No, but you're leading a crazy sheltered life if you don't expect to see flies now and then or mosquitos. This also means that there are things living in the ocean. You will see lovely fish and starfish, but you may also encounter a sea roach that thinks your leg is the tongue of a fish. They don't hurt you - you may feel a slight pinch (way less severe than any pinch one of my sisters gave me as a child) as it unsuccessfully tries to latch on. It looks like a small, white/translucent mini shell. Of our group of 4, one had a sea roach on his swim trunks, one had two try to nibble, one had one nibble and one never saw one at all.

Things that we found particularly enjoyable:

1: The cabanas had air conditioning and warm water in the showers.

2: The cabanas were cleaned top-to-bottom every day.

3: You felt immensely safe at all times, as well as feeling like your belongings were safe

4: The staff was very friendly and willing to chat and share their experiences with you. Once he learned what fish we liked to see, Henry went out snorkeling with us to point things out. Pastor made sure to grab us when dolphins were swimming by. Alice made the most amazing dishes when we asked for primarily local fare instead of resort-style food. Ezekiel made sure we always had water and juice handy - and also made sure that our dairy allergic friend was always served safe foods. Nuri personally drove us on our inland excursion.

All in all, our experience at Yok Ha was great and we'd strongly recommend it to anyone - if it's the right type of resort for you. The owners are still building the resort and have plans for limited expansion, wanting to keep it smaller for optimal retreats. If I had the chance, I would gladly buy out the entire resort for a friend or family vacation retreat. It's the perfect resort for seclusion and rest.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ha 1, located right on the water. If you want a more private room, ask for Loa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just returned this past Saturday - This place is absolutley amazing. Your very own Paradise. As soon as you touch down, the staff is nothing but accomodating. Abby the owner is very sweet and funny and makes you feel like family. Nauri (aka Dolphin) 2nd in charge when Abby
is off the Island can't do enough for you-constantly checking if you need anything and making sure all is good. Pastor, your captain will always make sure you are safe both on and off the water. Alice the cook can whip up anything from Red Velvet cake, banana bread, bread pudding or cookies all from scratch, and her meals are just as delicious. The colorful cabana's are very comfortable and clean. You will not be dissappointed, so go relax and enjoy the beautifully clear water and the hot sunny days with a gentle breeze.

To our Belizan family - thank you for a Great Stay - your Buffalo New York "sisters'.

Room Tip: Spectacular view of the Ocean from every room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yok Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yok Ha Resort

Address: Stann Creek, Waterfoot Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Waterfoot Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Waterfoot Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yok Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place!Yok Ha Belize Resort is on a three (3) acre private island just eight (8) miles due east of Dangriga. The five cabanas at the Resort have been designed with your privacy and beach front comfort in mind. For serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks, our over the water restaurant and bar is the perfect place to have a meal, grab a beer, or enjoy a relaxing sit on the deck looking out over the sea. Our rates include all meals and transportation to the island so once you book there is no need to worry about anything!!The Experience!!A vacation at Yok Ha Belize Resort will be the EVENT of a lifetime as you explore and capture Belize’s beauty and uniqueness. A multitude of activities are available for you. The fabulous sea is right at your doorstep where snorkeling, fishing and kayaking awaits you. Spend lazy days on the beach or enjoy the use of our complimentary Kayaks, skipping from island to island.The Difference!!!It is our mission to provide exceptional service and an unforgettable experience to all our guests. We put sustainable eco-tourism in the forefront.By choosing Yok Ha Resort you will go home relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Yok Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yok Ha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.