We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!! Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Walcott / Davenport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Walcott / Davenport to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Walcott / Davenport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   241 Interstate Street, Walcott, IA 52773 (Formerly Econo Lodge Walcott)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Walcott
Hays, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OMG!! Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely cannot believe this is a franchised hotel! Absolutely filthy and disgusting. Arrived fairly late (too tired to keep driving) and was checked in by what looked like a gangster... I was actually afraid to give him my credit card. The sign outside flashed a $39 rate, yet inside they said it was $60 cause I wasn't a trucker. The room was horrible! Slept in my clothes and would not walk on the floor without shoes. Bathroom was filthy - no screens on the garden level room - and the entire hotel smelled like cooked elephant! Shut this place down or remove the franchised name. It's more like "Smelly Dump Inn!" Save your money and sleep on the curb if you want higher quality and a better value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    3
    15
See reviews for
5
2
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just like any other truck driver we decided to stay in a room to get out of the truck and have more comfort come to find out boy was I wrong, walked into the room and the floor was nasty didn't dare walk on it without something on my feet. Went to take a shower and the shower/tub looked dirty like it hadn't been cleaned and the towels were dingy looking and the shower head wasn't the best water was spraying the ceiling and it took the hot water forever to get hot. We were in room 204. Would not recommend staying here, I know we want ever stay here again. THIS PLACE IS A DUMP !!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here recently and wish I would have read the reviews before I did. We stayed in non-Smoking and it wreaked of cigarette smoke so bad I woke up choking in the middle of the night.
It is also horribly filthy. I am 32 weeks pregnant and had to go to the doctor for small itchy bumps on my arms, which are now spreading to my legs. It's BEDBUGS. This is the only place I stayed and now am suffering terribly from this horrible decision. Unless you want to leave with a friend you didn't have before (BEDBUG) don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't Stay here You will REGRET it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The whole place reeks of cigarettes. Every floor needs to be vacuumed. Service was friendly, however.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Pass this one by. This is the WORST place I have ever stayed. Room was filthy, wind blew threw the windows, thermostat would not control the heat (I guess to make up for the wind blowing through the window, something red squirted on the ceiling, bathroom door falling apart and wouldn't close, beds were worn out. We could not wait to get out of this DUMP!!! I rated it a one, only because there is no zero.

Room Tip: Keep driving past this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Rate on sign seen from I80 is not what you get. Totally misleading as that rate only applies to those holding the Corporate Lodging Card? Give me a break. Motel is adjacent to the worlds largest truck stop which means noise and diesel fumes. Room is adequate with a rocker recliner which was broken. Breakfast-toast, rolls, coffee and juice. Coffee was very good. Staff certainly weren't hired for their friendliness.

Room Tip: if you stay here get a room on the east side away from the truck stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here one night earlier this month. As truck drivers, we wanted a night out of the truck, and this place was convenient to the truck stop next door. The room itself was pretty shabby, but suited our needs for a good night sleep in a big(ger) bed. Or so we thought. Granted, we didn't expect much, but certainly did NOT expect to get what we got.

We left very early the following morning, and I didn't realize until later that same morning that my arms, legs, and other body parts were beginning to sprout with bedbug bites. I ended up taking Benadryl for the severe itch for almost a week. It is now almost 3 weeks later, and they're still healing.

I first contacted Choice Hotels on the 3rd day after check-out by email. After NOT receiving a response within the 72 hours promised in the auto-generated email response I received, I called them. The CSR told me that I needed to give the motel manager 72 more hours to respond. When I didn't hear back in those 72 hours, I called again. This new CSR acted much more helpful, stating that the complaint had never even gone to the motel manager, and he would make sure he sent it right away. He also told me that the complaint would be referred to their Insurance/Legal Department. This 2nd CSR told me to contact the motel manager in a couple days. After these NEW couple days were up, I contacted Choice Hotels again, just to make sure that we were all on the same page, before I called the motel manager. According to CSR #3, the complaint had finally been forwarded to the motel manager, but that the motel was "non-responsive." Basically the info I got from CSR #3 was that a complaint of this nature is only handled by the motel manager, and at this point, Choice Hotels would not be doing anything to resolve the issue.

I called the motel manager, who told me that if I neglected to tell the motel staff before checking out that I'd been bitten, it was no longer his responsibility. He said it was his word against mine, and for all he knew, we had bedbugs in our truck! He took my name and number and said he'd check into it, but I'm not holding my breath for any actions that would make me ever want to stay with them, or any Choce Hotel, again.

By the way, I reported it to the Health Department, and they're sending someone out to close the room down.

Beware!

Room Tip: Don't stay here, that's my suggestion for choosing a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Walcott / Davenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Walcott / Davenport

Address: 241 Interstate Street, Walcott, IA 52773 (Formerly Econo Lodge Walcott)
Location: United States > Iowa > Walcott
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Walcott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Walcott / Davenport 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Walcott/Davenport offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include satellite TV, Showtime, ESPN and a clock radio. A microwave and mini-fridge are available upon request. Americas Best Value Inn Walcott/Davenport, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Walcott / Davenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Walcott / Davenport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.