We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Modern Motel to your Saves list
Modern Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 N K Ave, Vinton, IA 52349   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Extensive Renovations
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vinton
1 review
“Cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very comfortable and clean. Newly updated & pet friendly. It was very cost effecient & they gave me a discounted rate for extended stay. I would certainly stay there again if the need arose. The owner was very friendly & I loved my room!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty W, Owner at Modern Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of Modern Motel. My commitment to improving Modern Motel is never finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The staff was nice, but this place is a dump. Newly renovated must have only brought it into the 1970s, because everything is old, musty, and dated looking. No amenities at all except the pizza hut across the street. Go further down the street, trust me.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty W, Owner at Modern Motel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of Modern Motel. I recently purchased Modern Motel in December 2013. The property had undergone extensive remodeling on the exterior by the prior owner. I have been focusing on the interior. My commitment to the name "Modern Motel" is never finished. The list of improvements include a new Motel sign, new website with online reservations, flat screen LED televisions, vertical blinds, bedspreads, pillows, and shower curtains in all rooms. We are and always will be striving for "Modern".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

With reason to come to town several times a year, I don't think I'll ever stay at the other place in town again. Despite the tiny bathroom and no coffee in the room we had a microwave/fridge and were happy to be able to have our dog spend the weekend with us.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty W, Owner at Modern Motel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of Modern Motel. I am sorry about the bathroom size, but without knocking down walls, I am not able to make them any larger. I am able to make them better, I am focused on making renovations to the motel that will fit with the name "Modern Motel". We do have a coffee maker in the Lobby that is available 24 hours a day. If coffee is not available we will gladly make a fresh batch for you at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is my second stay at Modern Motel. My first stay was 4 days. My room was spacious, clean, quiet, & comfortable. The staff was very courteous, helpful, & professional. My second stay was in a smaller room, but quite accommodating for me. The motel is pet friendly with a deposit, which is helpful to me traveling with 2 furbabies. I have traveled from Texas to Iowa utilizing much more expensive motels with no more amenities than here... free WiFi, nearby restaurants, coffee & ice available, as well. Staff turns the heat up so I didn't enter a chilly room on my arrival. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: 3 smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Small rooms clean and good price. Nicely decorated on the inside and looks nice outside also. Beds OK but the best thing was the price. At the time of our stay for a queen bed it was $50.00 and that was tax included the other motel was 120 plus tax. The owners were nice and they offer coffee in the morning but no breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For years unless you wanted to pay for the B&B in town, this was your own choice. Tiny rooms, tiny bathrooms, but at least it was low in price, had free wi fi, and right across from a few of the restaurants in town. You can make reservations but generally folks just pop in and see if one of the rooms is available.

The date won't let me chose the correct one but we stayed here last in winter 2010 and before that spring 2009.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Modern Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Motel

Address: 302 N K Ave, Vinton, IA 52349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Vinton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Modern Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a clean motel that has that 'home away from home' feel? Tired of dragging your luggage through a lobby, hallways and around corners and then up ten floors to get to your room? Then stay with us! The Modern Motel is for you. Upon arriving, you will be greeted by our courteous and cheerful staff who desires to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. **Amenities** Coffee Service in Every Room Air conditioning Alarm clock Cable television High speed wireless CNN available Color television ESPN available Local calls Microwave Refrigerator Pets allowed Non-smoking HBO available Long distance calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Modern Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modern Motel Vinton, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.