We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites at Living History Farms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites at Living History Farms to your Saves list
Comfort Suites at Living History Farms
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11167 Hickman Road, Urbandale, IA 50322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Houston, Ohio
2 reviews
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our family stayed here on the way out to a mission trip in South Dakota and again on the way back. The appearance inside and out was clean and inviting. We enjoyed the staff and they were very attentive to our needs even with softball tournament teams staying there. The only negative would be the hot tub could have been cleaner and the roll our bed was not comfortable at all. We would definitely stay there again though!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
18
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keokuk, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year. The first time we had a great experience and everything about it was wonderful! The second time we stayed, most of the experience was good except our (non-smoking) room smelled like smoke and some sort of musty odor. Turning the A/C on only made it worse but it was very hot that weekend so we didn't have a choice. My daughter who has asthma ended up sick the day we headed home. Not sure if it's related but it seems to be. Other than this, we have had great experiences with this hotel. Very nice and quiet. The rooms are on the smaller side even though they are considered suites. The pool area is large and the free hot breakfast is very good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be the perfect place for a stop over. The hotel is beautiful and the room, the staff, and the breakfast were exceptional. The lobby was beautiful with a guest computer on one side and a lovely sitting area on the other side on a raised platform. We didn't have time to enjoy the rocking chairs on the front porch. The Machine Shed restaurant,next door, adds to the pleasure. We visited the Iowa State Fair one day and the Living History Farm Museum, which was literally right next door the next day. After returning from the fair I asked the desk clerk if the evening reception had ended. He said it just had but he would be glad to get us a glass of wine or a beer if we preferred. Both the restaurant and the Farm Museum were very convenient. Everything about the hotel met our expectation. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here two nights mid July 2013 on business. The staff were friendly and the hotel is clean and spacious. Room is nice, if basic, though one of my two beds was clearly broken so I used the other. Hotel was packed to the brim and sold out with a mix of summer travelers, business, worker crews and baseball teams. All a bit busy and though it functioned the front desk was always staffed by one (and sometimes fewer when they doubled as maintenance crew...) while they dealt with the craziness of check-in, guest complaints, check-out, etc). I never saw more than one person at front desk but this hotel size and busy level necessitated it. I don't blame the staff, who clearly did the best they could given circumstances. I would suggest management look carefully at the staffing levels as this is not sustainable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not a bad hotel. We have stayed there before. Being across the street from a major tourist attraction, they do take advantage with sky high summer rates. (High for this area.) The hotel is getting a little age on it and could use some sprucing up. We paid a premium for a room with a whirlpool bath, but the whirlpool didn't whirl. When I told the front desk, they did not seem too concerned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great room and very good breakfast. Friendly staff and could not have had a better room. Can not find a better stay in the area. Had pool side room with whirlpool tub. full dining area and two big screen tvs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are going to the Living History Farms (which I strongly recommend), you should stay at the Comfort Suites next door. This is the largest CS I have ever stayed at. If you park on the east side you can just walk to the History Farms. The restaurant and gift shop next door was fun also. We did not use it but they had a huge indoor pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites at Living History Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Living History Farms

Address: 11167 Hickman Road, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites at Living History Farms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites at Living History Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Living History Farms Hotel Urbandale
Comfort Suites Urbandale
Urbandale Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites at Living History Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.