We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale

Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8600 Northpark Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

spent two great nights at this location. Clean and maintained property with a very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to those who need a good nights sleep! Right next door is a Texas Roadhouse restaurant and a Starbucks is right up the street. Easy access to the Interstate as well.

Room Tip: Top floor of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    70
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
57
42
11
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hopkins, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn for a night visiting friends. The lobby is attractive and very clean, the front desk staff were courteous and made me feel welcome. My room wasn't cleaned yet but they offered to call when the room was ready so we could come back. After driving all day we relaxed in the lobby and as it turned out our room was ready soon after.
I will be back in October for a wedding and booked that return trip because of my previous experience, so I am looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Second time I've stayed at a Garden Inn. This seemed kind of older but was more or less fine. The room we booked was large and had a separate bedroom so my little one could sleep/scream and not wake the other kids.

A free breakfast would have been nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The front desk staff was one of the unfriendliest that I have experienced. It didn't appear that they enjoyed their jobs and were not that helpful. There were two other couples traveling with us and they also agreed. We had a coupon for a complimentary breakfast which the morning desk person helped with. She gave us a ticket to hand to the waitress and while we were getting our food at the buffet breakfast, she came up and said she would have to take back those tickets as our coupon was for the Hilton Garden in West Des Moines. That was not good customer service. If she wanted us to return to their hotel, she would have not have taken back the ticket after she had thoroughly read the coupon and given us the ticket in the first place. Because of the poor customer service, I wouldn't return to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Arrived and check-in was quick and easy. Our room was clean and well appointed. The staff is exceptional. Easy on and off I-80.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a typically good Garden Inn. Nice rooms, helpful staff. Food is good, but the breakfast is not complimentary. The only negative is the morning sun glaring into the breakfast area without adequate window coverings to block the sun. It makes it a bit uncomfortable to need sun glasses to be able to see your food at breakfast.

Room Tip: I80 is close by so a room on the "quiet" side is a good idea. There are no ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great stay. Staff was exceptional! Clean hotel and nicely cared for. As a Diamond Member and frequent traveler, thanks for the hospitality and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale

Address: 8600 Northpark Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Hilton Garden Inn Urbandale
Hilton Urbandale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.