We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer Property- well maintained.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11211 Hickman Road, Urbandale, IA 50322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Newer Property- well maintained.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Sleep Inn are my preferred locations to travel- and this is at the top of the heap as a new property. Excellent room, amenities, staff for a large hotel- but highest price Sleep Inn of any I have stayed at-- by more than $25.

Unique Sleep Inn shower door still had mold on it- like all the other Sleep Inns- but much less than most.

Room Tip: Any should be fine- big hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    55
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
41
22
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Everything with this hotel was was fine until the morning I had to check out. I noticed my debit card has been billed three times for the room & three times for a pet charge. My $86 room had now taken $422 from my debit card in the middle of my 860 mile travel. The girl at the front desk did try to help & even stayed past her shift end to help me but even though she credited it back it still would not go back on my card immediately that I was using to travel with so I was pretty much stranded there. My debit card company was nice enough to take my word for it & released my funds back to my card. This all took approx. 3 he's before by long drive. The hotel did decide to comp my room for all the trouble, which was great except that two days later more charges appeared on my card and from my vacation I had to spend another couple hours on the phone with both the hotel & debit card company again. When I called the hotel the person on duty was not authorized to help me but promised the manager would be on duty at 3pm and would call me by 3:30. By 6pm that evening I still had not heard from anyone do I called back there only to be informed by yet another employee that there was never a manager on duty that day so they couldn't understand why their coworker told me one would call me.
The entire fiasco was a stressful inconvenience over the holidays and it'd be safe to say we will not be returning to that hotel. We had stayed there in the past several times and only had one other bad experience but overall were pleased with the hotel. I can't take the chance of my accounts getting do messed up again though so we will be staying elsewhere from now on.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a award winning hotel and i can see why.

I stayed here for one night and checked in late. The night auditor was friendly and accommodating to give a late check out.

Although i missed the breakfast. I was able to get fresh coffee in the lobby. They had several flavors of cream which i enjoyed. The color and design of the building is beautiful. It feels nice to be around.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

What this hotel lacks in ice and hot water it makes for in customer service.everyone at the front desk is outstanding!!! The breakfast lady/attendant is a sweetheart. My room was clean, my towels fresh and my bed comfortable. When all you need is sleep and a good breakfast with smiling faces to greet you at check in and in the mornings this is the place. Thank you, individually to David and the front desk manager, for going above and beyond to make sure my forgotten items were sent to me without hassle to your sister property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times over thst couple of years. I had been very satisfied until my last visit. At the last visit it was OK, but no better than OK. There seems to have been a loss of attention to detail. Things need paint and cleaning. It makes me wonder if there has been a change of ownership or management. The carpet in the room was filthy. It turned my wife's slippers black on the bottoms. Really made me hate to walk on the carpet with bare feet or when only wearing socks on my feet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twbtcaptain, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are very sorry your room was not up to standards. We really appreciate your comments. We would like to hear more about your stay from you so we can work to correct these issues in your room. Please know that we strive to provide excellent standards and we appreciate your past business you have given us. I do hope that you will continue to stay with us and give us a chance to exceed your expectations. If you have any further concerns please call us directly and ask to speak to a member of our Executive Team. Any of us will be happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Within walking distance to Machine Shed restaurant and Living History Farms. Ask for a referral coupon for Machine Shed appetizer. Less expensive option than than adjacent Comfort Suites. Pleasant and helpful staff from desk clerks, breakfast worker to housekeeping. Central location - close to restaurants and shopping. Short drive to casino, Bass Pro and Jordan Creek, Merle Hay and Valley West malls. Reasonable rates if you are a priority club member and watch for sales. Staff makes an effort to honor requests for room location and optional refrigerators. Location popular with sports teams, pet owners and families so can be noisy. Heard running in the halls and pool crowded. Charming lobby lounge has computer and sofa seating. Updated decor in cheerful modern colors interspersed with county antiques. Breakfast seating fills up quickly. Waffle maker, sausage, cereal, toaster options. No eggs, bacon or oatmeal pot. Rooms updated a few years ago but bed was not very firm and shower only. Our room was at the end of hall bordering the stairs and an exit so could have higher foot traffic but convenient to unloading luggage. Room was non-smoking but had a strong previous smoking or over deodorized smell that required running the AC to mitigate the smell.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the halls are located near stairs and exit doors. Convenient for unloading vehic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
224 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Best stop this week. Stayed two nights in Room 308. Everything was good including the price.

Sort of strange location and a little hard to find behind the Comfort Suites, but worth the effort.

The only area lacking was in the breakfast selection. There's some room for improvement there.

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.9 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clive
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Urbandale
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 11211 Hickman Road, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Urbandale
Sleep Inn Urbandale
Urbandale Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.