We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My choice in Des Moines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8789 Plum Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My choice in Des Moines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Great new HIE with all the expected features and benefits of the HIE branding. Very clean, King suites are a worthwhile upgrade. Clean,clean, clean. No wired smells that you get in hotels just a few years old. Travel to Des Moimes on business a lot and I'll keep coming back here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are so happy that you had a great stay with us! We pride ourselves on having great staff and providing our business travelers a great place to finish up work for the day and unwind. We are thrilled that we are your destination of choice when travelling through the area and look forward to seeing you next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
10
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Urbandale. We were in the Des Moines area to visit friends and to go to Adventureland. The location was perfect, right near the interstate, and there were plenty of places to eat nearby. The hotel was pretty clean and the rooms were good-sized. I also liked how you had a choice in which pillows to use, based on the embroidered pillow case, indicating "soft" or "firm". We spent a couple of hours in the pool, which was not crowded at all, and we also enjoyed the hot tub. In the morning before we left, we enjoyed a nice breakfast. The only not-perfect observation I made was that when we were checking under the beds before we left to make sure we didn't leave anything, we saw a couple of little cheerios, which were obviously from a previous family because we did not eat anything in the room and none of us eat cheerios anyway. They should maybe try to do a little more thorough job of picking up/vacuuming the room. Wouldn't hold something little like that against them, though, and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have also made some changes with our housekeeping department to ensure that vacuuming is done more thoroughly. Thank you for choosing us while you were in town and we cannot wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed July 18-20 and during that time there was an issue with pill bugs/roly polies on the first floor. There were many bugs on the lobby and hallway floors (some alive, some dead). There were also bugs in my room (roly polies along with one centipede). My room was located on the first floor so I imagine the bugs came under the door. Also, on the day of check out the cable went out on my TV. I spoke to the front desk about the bugs and TV issues and they refunded $20 at checkout.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Gretchen K,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Urbandale, IA.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband & I stayed here this past weekend (7/14/12-7/15/12) & will definitely stay here again. The room was VERY clean & the beds were comfortable. The hotel staff was very nice. The breakfast was good. There was bagels, cereal, fruit, bacon, biscuits & gravy, scrambled eggs, coffee, juice, & more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family booked a night at the Holiday Inn Express during a recent cross country excursion. This is a new hotel, so it was clean and had new furnishings. The beds and pillows were comfortable. All of the linens were in great shape. The front desk was friendly and helpful. There are several restaurants within walking distance, but we drove a couple of miles away to Viva La Bamba, and had a good dinner. The Express breakfast was just right for my children: toast, cereal, eggs, yogurt, etc. We got a great deal by booking on-line. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay while visiting family in the area. We chose this place and were very pleased. The hotel is new the rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast was typical Express but well done. People at the desk were helpful and accommodating for our group both visits. We had three rooms each time and they always put us on the same floor and close together. Our unit had a pleasant sitting area a micro and small fridge. The exercise area was fine and the pool and hot tub clean. We will be back on the next visit too.

Room Tip: We chose the top floor and found it quiet - except for the unit at the end - a very windy day so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Urbandale last August while attending the Iowa State Fair. The hotel was extremely clean. We're wary of bed bugs and were extremely pleased to see that the hotel uses bed bug proof mattress covers (very unusually to find at hotels). The hotel was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. The cinnamon rolls at breakfast are delicious, too. The hotel location is convenient--right off of the highway--but it's still quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Address: 8789 Plum Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.