We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food glorious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fleece Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fleece Inn to your Saves list
The Fleece Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ripponden New Bank | Barkisland, Barkisland HX4 0DJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Barkisland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food glorious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went with partner for his birthday on the snowy 22nd. Just about managed to get up the hill through the snow and we were met at the door by Chris who said he was surprised to see us as lots had cancelled. It was well worth the battle to get there as the food was superb, the four of us each had something different and nothing could be faulted, our lamb loving family said it was the best lamb they had ever had, and boy have they had some! Chris and the other staff could'nt have been more helpful. Looks like a lot of money has been spent on the refurb and the ladies loos are fabulous! We will definitely be going again, especially when the weather warms up as we cant wait to see the new cocktail bar and patio!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    48
    19
    16
    3
See reviews for
50
61
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Went For Sunday DInner with the in laws and family the location and decor is stunning. My sister in law now wants to get married there! The food was amazing beef cooked as the family likes it pink! Massive Yorkshire puddings and a good variety of vegetables on offer.The fish and chips were also fantastic as were all our different starters and sticky toffee pudding to die for! We were all very impressed with the service and quality of food and price. three courses for £17 no complaints there we will definitely be back for more!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I moved to Halifax in 1985 and this pub/restaurant was one of the busiest places going. Since then I think it's fair to say it's had a bit of a checkered existence having actually closed down a number of times. Having been closed for a good 12 months it re-opened after a truly massive refurbishment early December 2012.

With regard to any negative reviews I suspect these were more likely to have been made in the very early days during the rush to open pre xmas. I believe this establishment is still very much a project in progress with plenty more big things to come . Nobody can deny the obvious large sums that have already been injected into this country inn. It's fair to say that the 'refurb' which has plenty of modern touches has also been done with plenty of consideration for the original building which I think dates back to the 1700's.

I have eaten there twice with both experiences being most enjoyable. Food prices are reasonable and very much in line with the many fine eating establishments in the area. I think the wine list carries a bit of a premium but obviously not enough to deter the customers as every time you pass the carpark is jam packed. Mains include plenty of favourites, meat and potato pie with maris piper potatoes, venison wellington and fish of the day to name just a few.
It's worth noting they also offer a sunday breakfast.

A well done to the management and their team is well deserved. Keep up the good work and I await with interest future developments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Fleece, a brilliant experience, in a really impressive newly refurbished building, staff were attentive, service was excellent, and the food and drink very good. We had a fantastic freshly prepared food, from a value for money menu with a tremendous selection. The best, so good we have booked for a family feast this evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visisted The Fleece for Sunday lunch. The bar is a great mix of modern design and with a homely, country pub feel. They had a wide range of drinks on offer and it was very busy.

We ate in the large restaurant at the rear of the pub. It was packed and the Sunday lunch offer of three courses was £17 per person, so we went for that. The food was excellent and the service was top notch, sharp without being too pushy.

I would highly recommend The Fleece and in the summer it has an amazing terrace with stunning views. It'll be well worth a visit on a summers day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Fleece Inn overnight and stayed in Room 3 which was exceptionally comfortable and clean with the added bonus of having a mezzanine level accessed by very quaint stairs to two extra beds - fine for families or a group of broad-minded friends. Together with the enormous full English Breakfast ( properly made by a chef as the quality of the poached eggs showed) it was fantastic value B & B at £75 for two people.

We also dined there and enjoyed the dressed crab and duck liver pate as starters and gorgeous lamb for main course. My only quibble about the meal is a slightly lack-lustre apple and almond tart which was a bit bland and stodgy - but that could be influenced by the big meal beforehand. Plenty of choice for wines by the glass or bottle at reasonable prices for a pub/restaurant.

The refurbishment is smart and the place is busy but if I were to offer any advice to enhance the experience I would remove the music from the dining areas, invest in a proper espresso machine and take the wierd video effect away from the mirrors in the ( spotless) loos.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 can accomodate more than 2 people as it has spare beds in the 'loft' space. It does b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Been a couple of times now and found he food and he setting both very good. They have done a very good job of turning an old run down pub into a very nice country setting and serve excellent food.
When we went the first time it was just after opening and expected to find a fe teathing problems but had none and the food was very good in deed, well worth a try

Room Tip: Book a table near the fire in winter very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece Inn

Address: Ripponden New Bank | Barkisland, Barkisland HX4 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Barkisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barkisland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fleece Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Halifax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fleece Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.