We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday lunch stop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown

The Crown
2 Ickwell Road, Northill SG18 9AA, England
+44 1767 627337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Northill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bedford
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday lunch stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely pub and gardens,lots of room.Huge selection of food on the menu.The only problem was the time taken for our meals to arrive.We were told 30-40 minutes,which was understandable as they were busy.70 minutes and two drinks later it turned up!The food was very good ,so we will let them off.If you are in a hurry,go for something simple.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    34
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wish We lived closer!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Made a unplanned stop at this gorgeous country pub for lunch on Saturday, so glad we did, what a find!! We ordered homemade soup and sandwiches, all super. Proper ham in the sandwiches, none of your pre-pack rubbish! Soup were gorgeous and the portion's were large. Good value for money and the service was excellent. Dinner menu looked tempting, we will be back for a night at The Crown!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“fantastic food but very slow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

we visited on a Sunday as a family of 8. we all ordered quickly as we were hungry. after an hour the food had still not arrived. we enquired how much longer it would be and we were told it was being plated. a further 10mins passed and the children were getting upset. I had to find the manager and make a complaint. amazingly, the food then arrived with a profuse apology and the entire meal and drinks were given to us for free. the manager was very professional and dealt with our upset extremely quickly. the food was very good indeed and we left late but impressed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nearly 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I went with another couple to dinner here on Saturday evening. Lovely village, lovely pub setting, I expect its really nice in the summer to sit outside. The pub was bustling although no-one was behind the bar when we arrived and it took a minute or two to catch the attention of a waitress who came out with some bar meals. She was pleasant and showed us to our table. We proceeded to have an excellent meal in a nice room served by pleasant waitresses. One slightly odd thing was that when the bottle of wine was brought to the table it was left in a bucket unopened and thus neither served. Anyway a small point. We would have given it 5 stars had it not been for two things ; there was a large party beside us who wanted to take photos at regular intervals for which the lights kept going off and secondly when said party had left the staff decided to clean the table and put the lights off for good at that end which was next to where we were sitting. The smell of cleaning spray hung in the air and with the lights out it felt they were sending a message that they were shutting up shop and we needed to be on our way (there were still other diners in the room who were still there when we left). It did destroy the ambience. So just a couple of points that can be easily remedied. Excellent meal, value for money , we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went for Saturday lunch & was very impressed with the food & service. Like the new decor which makes it feel modern but welcoming. Love the huge garden for the kids to let off some steam whilst waiting for lunch too. I had the mussels which although quite small were very tasty. I added chips to the starter size & portion was just right. My dad had fish pie - packed with fish & he said it was lovely. Good kids menu but a little overpriced. Overall food was really tasty & portion sizes just right. Desserts were lovely too especially the choc brownie. Will definitely go back

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.