We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to stay near Kinabalu National Park.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinabalu Pine Resorts

Save Saved
You added Kinabalu Pine Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinabalu Pine Resorts
Kampung Kundasang (Along Kundasang Ranau Highway) | Kundasang, Ranau, Kundasang 88990, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kundasang
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay near Kinabalu National Park.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

All in all, quite adequate and comfortable.

Pros:
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Good bathrooms with adequate water heaters (wall switch).
Rooms kept clean.
Bedding decent and clean, mattresses a bit hard but tolerable. Cot mattresses pretty hard.
Nice big porches.
Wifi in the rooms (but low bandwidth).
Fan in the room (AC not needed, cool at night there).
Laundry service very good with one day turnaround.

Cons:
VERY noisy near the reception and restaurant, do not stay in the blocks in that area. Many flies attracted by the smells make it impossible to enjoy the porch- again, stay up the hill away from the restaurant. The poor office staff have to deal with flies all day long.

The restaurant is mediocre but adequate. Plain, unexciting food- I did not look forward to meals but they did the job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    84
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

close to Kinabalu park, located by the side of main road, easy to be found. Cozy environment and basic facility.
Good hot pot offered by the restaurant, a good choice in cool weather in the mountain.
Too close to the main road and cannot skip the noise.
Our family stay in deluxe room and its space is ok for additional two beds. I like the balcony and sitting there to enjoy the quiet of morning.

Room Tip: take a deluxe for family (over 3 persons)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We were quite disappointed with the services that Pines has offered. The resort is considered remote from various attraction points. However they only provide chartered services that bring you to the places. When we asked for normal Taxi services and a map for attraction points, it took them some time to pass the info to us. The receptionists are not that helpful and informative. In general the resort is over rated. I Would not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Clean and tidy room, nice mountain view at block P1 & P2. Paradise in Mt Kinabalu.

Some hiccup during check-in, couldnt get the rooms we want but receptionist was able to make some adjustment, so, at least didn't spoilt my holiday mood.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here for three nights and booked a deluxe room for two adults, two children and paid for a babycot.
Reconfirmed and everything was fine. When we arrived the room had a queen bed, no cot and no beds for the kids. They brought up the cot but said they'll put some mattresses on the floor for the kids. The mattress was so thin it was a ridiculous. I explained the problem and they moved us to a twin room. However the twin room is not two doubles like other hotels but two single beds in an even smaller room.
I would have just booked two rooms but the children are 2, 4 and 6 and there are no connecting rooms so the children would have had a separate entrance.
I had clearly stated a number of times who the people were for the room but no one had any clue how we would fit in, and looked at me blankly when I asked where the kids would sleep.
In the end we squashed in and the kids lay on the thin mattresses on the floor.
I think the problem was that I had western ideas of everyone having their own bed whereas as we were the only westerners around and I witnessed hordes of people coming out of neighbouring rooms so maybe the accepted practise is to all pile in and share. In any case it was a long three days.
Food was bearable and the views are incredible.Hotel suits couples or families with older children.

Room Tip: Don't stay if you have young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerroa, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We looked for a while at the options for accommodation before going, noting we had two children with us (15 and 12). The standard rooms weren't going to be able to fit bunks, and noting the price of additional bunks, blankets etc I almost went separate rooms. In the end, my initial internet booking went missing, and it was fortunate I rang all the bookings for confirmation before leaving. We ended up in a Deluxe Room and got two bunks put in. While my kids said the bunks were pretty uncomfortable, the room. bathroom (western) and balcony with views to Kinabalu was excellent. I noticed on other reviews that the food was a source of poor scores.All I can say is either the resort has picked up their act, or people just aren't used to Malay/Indo cooking. We all thought the food was above average, with some of the soups/laksas being fantastic - obviously some good stock creation going on in the background. Breakfast was good and since some of the previous reviews they obviously have added toast and sausages for the western clientele. The Kota Kinabalu buses stop right out the front so getting here is easy ans leaving for Sandakan equally is easy. The bus ride for the four of us to Sandakan was MYR130, although he did try to get more initially.

Room Tip: Ask about the view to the mountain. Its definitely worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in one night deluxe room at Pine Resorts. The resort is included breakfast & Set Dinner. There has a very great view of Mount KK. The room is clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resorts

Address: Kampung Kundasang (Along Kundasang Ranau Highway) | Kundasang, Ranau, Kundasang 88990, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kundasang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). We also have a Karaoke lounge that opens nightly from 9:00pm to 11:30pm.Wild Borneo orchid garden Conference hallConduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Kinabalu Pine Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinabalu Pine Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.