We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinabalu Pine Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kinabalu Pine Resorts to your Saves list
Kinabalu Pine Resorts
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kampung Kundasang (Along Kundasang Ranau Highway) | Kundasang, Ranau, Kundasang 88990, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kundasang
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simple & Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in one night deluxe room at Pine Resorts. The resort is included breakfast & Set Dinner. There has a very great view of Mount KK. The room is clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    107
    46
    11
    8
See reviews for
61
62
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is my first choice of hotel every time i go to Kundasang, Ranau. The resort was quite nice, romantic and nice view of Mt Kinabalu. Service was great and staffs were helpful. Worth to stay, seriously.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing to the Mt Kinabalu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed overnight in a standard room package with dinner and breakfast included. Dinner was below average and breakfast was just okay. Love the morning view of Mt Kinabalu. Could have been nicer if there weren't so much pine trees blocking the view. Rabbit house wasn't attractive at all. Those poor animals looked tortured I'm a cramped cage. Location wise is terrific as I can travel to every attraction there within an hour. Should have a policy for silence during late night as my next door "neighbours" children were being a nuisance when I was resting after a day long and tiring journey.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I just checked ourlt from this resort. I was here with my family. We have booked 2 units of superior standard rooms and 1 standard room. from our rooms, P1&P2, we enjoy 'superior' view of mount Kinabalu. It's beautiful, especially at 6am where the sun shines brightly at the mighty mountain. My mom wakes up at 5am and sit at the wooden chair to enjoy the morning breeze and the crow of the roosters. Truly an escape from the super hot KK town and hustle bustle of KL. We had the steamboat dinner at The Pine restaurant. It is rm33 per pax. Lots of veggies, prawns were fresh while the service was attentive. The soup was a little bland. So, we requested for fried garlic oil. Check in time is at 3pm while check out is at 11am the next day. A very short stay indeed. Poring hot spring is just 30 minutes away while Kialnabalu park is 5 minutes away. Ranau town (where Maybank and KFC are available) is approximately 15 minutes away. Visit the vegetable & fruit market nearby. There is not much to do in this resort. I believe BbQ can be arranged at the reception. This is a good chill out place for families. School holidays rates are slightly expensive. Check out their website for more price details. I emailed Geoffrey and he replies to my email promptly. Staff at the reception are courteous and always ready to help.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at KPR for 2 nites on the 19/5 & 20/5. We took 1 superior deluxe and 3 superior standard for 9 of us. The superior standard room is rather small ,just right for 2 persons, & can't accomodate at all any extra bed/mattress or cot. So if you are a party of 3 or have a kid, you must get the superior deluxe room.

Bathrooms seemed to be newly renovated as commented by one of the tripadvisor contributor, but the shower was not strong enough due to low water pressure. I took quite sometime to wash my long hair..
Sound insulation is indeed very bad as all rooms are with timber floorings, a normal step will make a disturbing sound, so try to avoid staying in the lower level of a 2 stories chalet, you will definitely be disturbed by the tenants above you though they are not meant to do so.
Breakfast buffet selection was limited but the chicken porridge we had in the first morning was so good. The next morning they took out the buffet due to low occupancy rate (non-peak season & weekday) & we were served ala carte style with the porridge refillable.
We took the room package with dinner included -- the dishes and portion were better than expected.

Overall our stay is very comfortable due to the cooling weather and the quiet surroundings -- we enjoyed sitting in our balcony, drinking wine/coffee and chit-chatting among ourselves.
The whole KPR have a good view of the Kinabalu Peak & depending on the location to get the best view but for sure you need to go out from room, i dont see any reason why one needs to view the Peak from inside the room.
My mother-in-law likes the hotel a lot -- one early evening, she just sat in her balcony by herself for almost 2 hours, looking at the Mt Kinabalu while drinking some chinese tea , she said she just want to indulge herself in the fresh & cooling air which is not possible to find in Kuala Lumpur or even Cameron Highlands.

However i still think this hotel is a bit overpriced as the room setting is really very basic , more like a hostel than a hotel. Perhaps resources are scarced & expensive to bring any food/materials uphill which make everything costly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to one of my ex-colleague's recommendation, I've booked the chalets with the BEST VIEW of Mt Kinabalu in the resort. P1 & P2. The feel of staying here is fantastic, a resort kind of feeling which is much cozier then staying in a hotel type room up in the highlands. There are not many rooms here so booking in advance is crucial, esp if you want to get your hands on the best chalet =P The rooms are very basic, clean, and comfortable. But what I love most about this resort is the HUGE BALCONY outside plus the amazing view to stare at all day long. I opted to stay there for 2 nights with my family with thr occation questioning from others of 'What r u gonna do there for 2 whole nights?' Believe me, 2 nights is just enough (photographers paradise!!!)
Well the downside of the resort which I really hope the management would work on (BADLY!!!) is the FOOD! Breakfast is super super simple and somewhat tasteless and their steamboat is not so fresh (taking into account that all their local vegges r SUPER FRESH). Food was very dissapointing, so me and my family had to drive 7km to Kinabalu National Park and have lunch and dinner at the restaurant there. It was pricier but OK for for the quality we got.
Other than that, the feel of waking up at 5.30am to watch the sunrise (thanks to the local roosters) hit on Mt Kinabalu is just magical!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed on the superior deluxe room. and i was told i would be able to see Mt. Kinabalu from my room, needless to say, that didn't happen. we still have to go out from our room to get a better view of Mt. Kinabalu.

Car park space was a nightmare for the room we stayed. the Car porch was so low that our car could barely parked into it.

No sound insulation, i could hear kids running around & shouting early in the morning.
There was a blackout for a few hours in the morning but it was alright because places like these are chilly.

The room was huge, with a small coffee table & 2 single chair. water heater & pressure was good, which is very important for a place like this.

had breakfast in their restaurant - 5/10.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resorts

Address: Kampung Kundasang (Along Kundasang Ranau Highway) | Kundasang, Ranau, Kundasang 88990, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kundasang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). We also have a Karaoke lounge that opens nightly from 9:00pm to 11:30pm.Wild Borneo orchid garden Conference hallConduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Kinabalu Pine Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinabalu Pine Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.