We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views but nothing to do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celyn Resort Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Celyn Resort Kinabalu to your Saves list
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kampung Samuruh | Jalan Samuruh Kinoundusan, Kundasang 89309, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Kundasang B&B and Inns
Manila
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Nice views but nothing to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed overnight to have somewhere close to Mt Kinabalu to have an early climb the next day. The resort is about 10min up a steep road from the main road (quicker when coming down) and has stunning views of the surrounding hills and mountains. As an overnight stay it was fine - clean room, good bed. But there is not much else to do - we wanted to have a little walk. This was confined to simply walking between the various chalets/rooms of the hotel and down the entrance road. There were some paths into the surrounding vegetation but they looked like going to staff quarters or being shortcuts staff used to get down to the road. The hotel has a lounge/function room with a few magazines/books and they have some DVDs that can be used if the TV is too boring. There is no a/c in the room and the fan was a little noisy. Would be great if they would install insect screens for the front sliding door so that one could enjoy the mountain air while sleeping. It suited our purpose, but is just something for overnighting at which is fine given the close proximity of Mt Kinabalu national park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    55
    39
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We discovered the place while browsing online, reservation was made after exchanges of emails enquiring on a few details. Thumbs up to the reservation personnel, Olivia, who answered our questions patiently. We reserved the Challet Villa for 6 adults & 2 children (me, hubby, my son, my sister, my aunty 77, mom 70, my girls 7 & 5).
Ranau & Kundasang are 2 of the places with most breathtaking views so we were hoping for something that will not disappoint our expectations and we were pleasantly surprised! The 3km offroad track and the quaint village approaching the resort added to the thrill and suspense. Checking-in was hassle-free. Although the place (rooms) were almost full, the place was so quiet. There were 5 chalets but we were the only occupants. The small 2-room house was cosy and clean and the view ouside was to die for!
We read a review for the place being insect infested but what do people expect in the middle of the forest? We got to introduce our little ones to many types of insects, ones we never saw since our own childhood but my mom and aunt helped alot with their local names!!
Breakfast was of reasonable quality and choices were varied. Towels, bathrobes and beddings were clean and mattresses were firm.
The view of sunrise, the mountains, the valleys, wild flowers and terraced farm outside our balcony were too beautiful to mention.
With every other resorts around the area priced at more than RM1k for 6 people, Celyn Resort at RM666.00 accommodating 8 people (breakfast for 4, but we bought & microwaved sweet potatoes, noodles, vegies), Celyn is definitely recommended to anyone wishing to experience comfort in the mountains! (And yes, internet broadband connection was good too!). We would come back.

Room Tip: Try the challet villa for the scenic view outside your balcony or the jungle villa for the extra thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Kundasang... a peaceful township with limited dining place, hence i do feel that Dining provide from accommodation is extreme important for my trip. Overall this resort impress me with her gorgeous 270degree view almost for the whole Kundasang town. Her located in the one of the peak of the surrounding mountain of the Kundasang town really chance her get my GOOD recommendation and next visit on this coming July. The mountain view room really Excellent if you are natural lover, can you imagine once open your eye that the fantastic great Mt.Kinabalu just in your front...Do request for mountain view room if you visit here!

Well, the mountain view room is equip with one "spacious" washroom where you wont stay more than 20minit and very simple furniture like a makeup closet and a medium-size wardrobe. And do have a LCD tv with no air-cond since the average temperature around 27celsius. The central hall fan is great for the day and night as my need.
Do try the local coffee pack complimentary in the bar kit cause its really taste difference from other peninsula Malaysia.
The balcony a step in front the room is the great place to have a coffee-break or local fruit snack area with great Mt.Kinabalu view for couple.

The in-house restaurant really worst with the limited-choice breakfast and taste-less food and drink. Furthermore, her steamboat set meal really taste-less for me even the vege and seafood is fresh. This the time i do feel that Sabah-local authentic spice - Blackpepper and the great salt around the world. Prepare be creative cook for your own recipe steamboat-pot...
The chinese cuisine prepare like black-pepper fried meat really worst cause the only taste is pepper and over-cooking time also spoil the taste of meat. The only and best cuisine i get here is the vege fried rice and plain water..Do think before you eat at here!!

Overall i do rate it as :

Environment - 4/5 (its really an great place for peace of mind)
Hospitality - 4/5 (friendly and helpful staff)
Cleanliness - 3/5 (every morning you will find a lots of insert around the room balcony and the walkway.

Room Tip: Get the 1st-floor room face the mountain ( Kinabalu wing ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahang
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Room was clean and staff were friendly. We were very happy that we booked a room at this resort. Very quiet especially in the morning. We shall stay here again. It is on a hill and is located about 3 kilometers from the main road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very quiet, somewhat expensive resort in the middle of nowhere. It was a challenge to actually find our way to the resort from KK as the signboard was facing the other way round..and once we've found the signboard we had to drive uphill on a badly-maintained rocky road for about 10 minutes before actually reaching the resort. Lucky our rented car was not ruined.

Check-in was fuss-free & we were immediately ushered to our Kinabalu wing room. Spacious room, beautifully-tiled shower and of course the very reason we were in Kundasang, the gorgeous Mt Kinabalu view from our bed! Did not like the bed though, thought it was too hard. Very limited cable selection and no free WiFi available so it can be quite a bore just staring at the mountain..(especially when its dark and there's nothing to stare at).

We didn't try the steamboat dinner as we drove out to Ranau town for dinner, nothing great. The western breakfast was pretty basic, but adequate.

Sound advice; do not miss the sunrise as the majestic Mt Kinabalu appears right in front of your eyes. Great photo op.

The view was to die for, but the road was such a turnoff I really don't see myself giving this place a 2nd visit on my next trip. 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: Definitely the Kinabalu wing! Gorgeous hill view from the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Belud, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrive there with high expectation since the resort price is not like in the internet price..dealing with local staff whoo didnt care about local guest.very rude and unfriendly..sink in the wash room leak..poor condition of bed.not much choice of breakfast.the owner should change menu breakfast since the price its not worth with that.they should think more about guest needs and not just think about profit..not suggested for budget holiday..however very nice view when we stay out the balcony in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here on 01/01/2013. Peak period but guess what the hotel was quiet. Not many people staying here. The price seems to be expensive compared to the available facilities at the hotel:
-NO WIFI
-TV channels are limited to ESPN, TV1 & NTV7. The rest, though the note at the top of the TV claim to have some other channels , nothing working. in fact not clear.
-Weak Handphone signal
-The bed is soft but I could feel the spring. Worn-out.
-The bathroom equipped with a boiler that each person can take shower no longer than 2 min. The next person gotta wait at least 15 min.
-The breakfast is either western or Asian- Choose Western if you happen to book this place by accident.
-The road to this hotel is another terrible experience. You can expect the huge slope up the hill. Then the rocky country road almost 5KM inside. Once you get there, you would not get down of the place thinking of the road.

The only thing we would appreciate was the dinner, quite tasty. Probably because we were hungry and had no other place to go, or the chef was good.

Room Tip: Find some other better spacious hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Celyn Resort Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celyn Resort Kinabalu

Address: Kampung Samuruh | Jalan Samuruh Kinoundusan, Kundasang 89309, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kundasang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celyn Resort Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Celyn Resort Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celyn Resort Kinabalu Hotel Ranau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celyn Resort Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.