We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb place to have a short break.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chowle Farmhouse B&B

Chowle Farmhouse B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Coxwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chowle Farmhouse B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A420, Great Coxwell, Faringdon SN7 7SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A superb place to have a short break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay with charming and helpful hosts. A great room and spacious ensuit with top quality toiletries, all nice and clean. Breakfast is just brilliant! Top quality ingredients, well cooked and promptly served all contribute to an excellent way to start the day - not to be missed!

Just watch out on arriving, the post code can take you past the farm house. Look for the Unionjack and EU flag at the drive entrance!

An excellent place to stay, you will not be disappointed staying here. I recommend it without reservation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lovely room, beautiful views, great breakfast. Owners are so lovely and charming. Stayed for 3 nights and couldn't be happier with our choice. the house is well located and big enough to give you a sense of privacy which is great. very high standards here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, lovely view and great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Chowle farmhouse is the best stopover for working/travelling folk whose heart is in the country; ideally placed for silicone valley, London, Oxford and Swindon; charming and friendly owners, great coffee, comfy beds, hot tub and a full English of epic proportions! 5 stars unmissable!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Found this little stopover by mistake, on route to Oxford. It it very neat and tidy, well maintained and well run. Only problem is the main road, but that is very quiet at night, so no problem. The owners directed us to Faringdon, just up the road, and to a lovely local eatery, Market Place Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Janet & David made us feel very welcome on our 2 day stay with them.
The rooms are large and very comfortable and very clean the unsuite was spacious and had lovely toiletories in
Breakfast was very filling with one of the best English breakfasts I've had for a long time

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, SWI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed at Chowle Farmhouse for 2 nights in August. Had a very pleasant stay. Our room and en suite were clean and tidy and equipped with all the items required for a good stay (hairdrier, tea/coffee, flatscreen tv, soaps/gels, towels, etc.) Located well off the main road in lush countryside so very peaceful. Janet is a cat and chicken lover so there are all sorts of quirky cat and chicken mottos or ornaments around. Quite sweet and keeps in tune with the actual feel of the house and location. Breakfasts were super - excellent quality bacon, sausages etc. Fresh eggs provided by "the girls" that Janet keeps outside. She also keeps quails! Good variety of cereals, yogurts, etc. if a hot breakfast wasn't for you. It was a good idea to have a small fridge containing bottled water in the breakfast room if needed. In return, there was a small moneybox sitting on top into which you could make a donation to a cancer charity. All in all, a great stay. There is nothing I can think of that would deter me from staying there again! Well done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

By far the best B&B we have stayed in and our second visit to Chowle our first being three years ago. Dave and Jan make you feel like one of The Family rather than a paying guest. Having enjoyed one of Dave's 'Famous Breakfasts' we were gutted to miss out on this feast as we had to be up and on our way for 6AM. (I am sure if asked they would have provided Breakfast). We were pleasantly surprised to meet Dave and Jan at that unearthly hour to wish us a safe journey particularly as we had arranged to leave the key so as not to disturb them. This unexpected touch further confirms the many positive comments that have gone before ours and their continuing commitment to running this award winning B&B. The rooms are spacious and well furnished with plenty of storage space both wardrobes and drawers and as for the shower, ower Shower is an understatement. How many B&B's do you know that have a Swimming Pool, Sauna and Jacuzzi? We look forward to our next visit.

Thanks again

Ric and Carole

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chowle Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chowle Farmhouse B&B

Address: A420, Great Coxwell, Faringdon SN7 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon > Great Coxwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Coxwell
Hotel Class:4 star — Chowle Farmhouse B&B 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowle Farmhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chowle Farmhouse B&B to your Saves list