We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chowle Farmhouse B&B

Chowle Farmhouse B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Coxwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chowle Farmhouse B&B
Save
You added Chowle Farmhouse B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A420, Great Coxwell, Faringdon SN7 7SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High standard accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Excellent stay from start to finish, great rooms, great hot tub!!!!! Very hospitable owners couldn't do enough for you, would highly recommend. Great location for the defence academy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have now stayed here a couple of times when visiting friends in the area, this really does what it says on the tin. The rooms are clean, well decorated and a decent size however the thing that really keeps bringing people back is the overall warmth and feel of the owners, Jan and David. They really make you feel welcome, breakfast is a feast which sets you up for the day!

We will certainly be back and can recommend this as a great B&B.

Chris

PS Avoid The Trout @ Tapole Bridge........... probably the worst service/meal we have had in the area for a long time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

By far the best b&b i've ever stopped in,and i've stopped in a few as i work all over the country.Janet & David are so friendly you feel like family,but no so friendly to the nuisance stage.Considering i phoned at 8pm the previous night to book a room for the following night this was no problem for Janet who took it all in her stride.Breakfast was superb & it set me up for the day.The room,what can i say...spotless,i could have eaten my breakfast off the floor it was so clean...comfy bed to.To give you some idea of how helpful Janet & David are,on the night of my stay,i asked them for a phone number for a taxi to take to the restaurant 2 or so miles down the road.Before i new it David was in his car saying "jump in i'll take you",say no more!.I was there due to work,but i would recommend Chowle Farmhouse for a chill out for any length of time.If you stay here and don't enjoy the hospitality,warm welcome & surroundings ,you have a major problem.
Thank's again Janet & David for making me feel so welcome
Garry (the builder from west mid's working on the building site down the road)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is the sort of B&B you dream of. Very warm and welcoming (and we were traveling with a dog), tactful (offering advice when we asked and not when we didn't - more fool us), spotlessly clean, well appointed and roomy with a generous breakfast that could not be faulted. The owners make it seem so easy. If only there were more B&Bs like this one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I stayed here for one night with my husband and 10 month old son and the owners could not have been more welcoming! They are friendly, helpful and didnt seem to mind my son crawling around and opening all their cupboards!!
Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable with a lovely en-suite.
Breakfast was delicious and we would definately stay here again! Brillaint B&B!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

When we were greeted by Jan & David we felt at home from the very start of our holiday, Everything felt perfect from the situation of farmhouse, the lovely gardens, the beautiful views from the our lovely bedroom & of course the lovely breakfast. I felt sad when we left as we felt part of the family, but I sure we will be back.
Ian & Margaret Roberts ( the newly weds )

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Fantastic location for Defence Academy. Rooms were lovely and bathrooms excellent. Owners were superbly friendly and most helpful, very welcoming - especially good as solo traveller. Breakfast was delicious! I would definitely recommend Chowle Farmhouse. If I was in the area again I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chowle Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chowle Farmhouse B&B

Address: A420, Great Coxwell, Faringdon SN7 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon > Great Coxwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Coxwell
Hotel Class:4 star — Chowle Farmhouse B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowle Farmhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.