We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Leg of Crosscountry Trip-Iowa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4230 S. Lakeport St., Sioux City, IA 51106 (Formerly Southern Hills Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Sioux City
delaware
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Second Leg of Crosscountry Trip-Iowa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Again, Priceline served me well in offering a good value. Quality Inn & Suites was clean, had free WIFI and was located right off the highway. The standard breakfast had some so-so powdered eggs that offered a little protein. They have a 24 hr. fitness room but the equipment is dated. The treadmill is really old and the free weights were strewn about. The elliptical machine was in good shape however.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
7
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good room friendly front desk Good value Pool and spa area were clean Also good location for area attractions Guest laundry was a clean area Room was ready for early check in so we could get started with our sites to see The Sioux City Park and light show was a good experience The ladies in the gift shop were more than helpful and the restaurant prices were high for what you got but the food was good This is a great place to spend hours just looking around

Room Tip: Good rooms for all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Made my confirmed 9/21/12 reservation for here over a month before my arrival. I have a bad leg and cannot go up or down stairs and my reservation stated I must be on 1st floor or near elevator as do all of my "Choice Hotel" reservations. When I arrived at 8:00 PM they said all they had was on the 2nd floor and no elevator. Manager, Mike Desai said they had a group of senior citizens, with some being handicapped coming that will be taking all the 1st floor rooms. Well, I am a senior citizen and am handicapped but that made no difference to him. He said the best he could do was carry my luggage up the stairs. When I told him he would have to carry me, too, he didn't seem to care at all. His additude was the worst thing about this experience. I had to drive another 40 miles to get a room because everything was full in Sioux City. I may have to reconsider my loyalty to Choice Hotels".

Room Tip: Mike Desal is a terrible manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Found this hotel by accident since it was not listed in my Choice Directory. Tucked beside the Comfort Inn, I was told by clerk that it was formerly a Holiday Inn Express. If you are just looking for a good nights rest, this is the place. A small hotel, it has workout room but no pool. Very clean, comfortable, and inexpensive. Extremely helpful desk clerk who went out of her way to find me some tea bags after our late arrival. A very pleasant place to stay. Cozy lobby with filled book shelves and computer for guest use. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Trip Advisor says this was formerly a Southern Hills hotel but my GPS has it listed as a Holiday Inn. Whatever it was, it has only been a Quality Inn for about two months. It looks like they did a pretty good job of fixing it up during the transition. Near shopping and restaurants, but not near downtown Sioux City.

Pros: Very good Wi-Fi connection in my room. Nice room and furniture (except chair, see below) including fridge and microwave. Everything appears to be very clean and well-maintained except for some accumulated dirt on A/C vent and a missing light bulb. Also, the side entrance needs some attention. Nice breakfast including scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy.

Cons: Bathroom light and very loud fan on same switch, which was annoying. Desk chair stuck in low position; had to sit on a pillow. They switched my reservation for a ground floor room to an upper level (no elevator) supposedly so another customer could have a ground floor room. I checked in at 3:00 p.m. and there was only one other car in the parking lot, so it wasn’t because I checked in late. When I threatened to move to another hotel they somehow found me a room on the ground floor.

Overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The property looks brand new. Our large room featured two comfortable queen size beds with a flat screen TV. It was clean although there was some trash in the upstairs hallway that should have been removed but was left out overnight. The hot breakfast was more than adequate. I cashed in choice reward points for a free stay but I could have gotten the room for under $60 with advanced purchase on choicehotels.com. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked this hotel online with Choice Hotels. I have had consistent good results with this method of booking rooms and this Quality Inn was not disappointing. Good value for the price. Friendly staff, clean quiet modern room and good hot breakfast (missing instant oatmeal packets, but you can't have everything). Supper across the street was Mongolian Grill which was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 4230 S. Lakeport St., Sioux City, IA 51106 (Formerly Southern Hills Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sioux City-Lakeport St. Hotel Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Sioux City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.