We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   707 Historic 4th Street, Sioux City, IA 51101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Sioux City
Nebraska
2 reviews
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were in town for an event. The staff was outstanding, check-in was fast and friendly. The room was spacious. We found a piece of a broken ashtray in the bathroom. The staff was very apologetic and the supervisor from housekeeping actually got on her hands and knees to clean up the glass and to make sure that there were no missed pieces. The view from the 11th floor was amazing!!

The bar is cozy, the restaurant was great. The pool looked a little dated, but it was very clean. The sauna was hot. :)

The skywalk is convenient, the map provided at the front desk was detailed and helpful.

I will definitely be staying here again!!! Thanks for an amazing weekend!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    19
    11
    21
See reviews for
18
20
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinleyville, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My room was pleasant and spacious. The hotel's address does not actually take you to the front door of the hotel, but rather to the convention center, which has no parking. I drove around for a bit before pulling into a parking ramp and discovered that one parks in the ramp and then drags one's luggage through the skywalk and then down an elevator to the front desk. There is no signage on the building directing one--on the street, in the parking ramp, or on the skywalk. I did find people who thought they had clues about where the hotel was and eventually I found it. When I was getting to leave, I asked for directions to my next destination, a well-known vacation area, but no one had any clue, nor did they have any ideas about where I might find directions and the front desk staff declined to print a map on their computer. I asked about a visitors center, but they did not know if there was one nor did they know how to look one up in the phone book or on the computer. Finally I asked about a business center, which they did have. After some haggling, they told me where it was and I printed my map. The front desk staff needs training and the hotel website needs to give information about the parking and finding the registration area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel was formerly the Clarion and is apparently under new management The location is in downtown Sioux City and access to the skywalks makes it convenient to get around downtown. Our room had been renovated with new carpet, bedding, bathroom tile and granite, and a refrigerator and microwave. The room was spacious and comfortable. We felt perfectly safe with the parking in the garage and noted that the hotel access from the garage is locked from 1100 pm to 700 am. We did not use the restaurant or the lounge but they appeared to be reasonably priced. The pool and fitness area were clean but the pool deck paint was peeling and needs to be updated. My only complaint was a loud group of guests who arrived at 2:00 am and did not quiet down until 3:00 am. However, I don't blame hotel management for those rude guests. We would certainly return to this hotel if we are staying in Sioux City again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Hello... stayed here for three days. rooms are nice.. I had a great time and my stay was very welcomed. The pool was great. Neil the breakfast cook makes a really good breakfast it was amazingly good and he was very nice. I recommend this hotel for sure. Great 5 stars for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

I just spent a week here for work. We had meetings in their 12th floor for 4 of the 5 days, and they made our breakfast and lunch each day. The people there are all nice and the food was decent too.
They offer free parking in the ramp attached to the hotel via the skyways. If you don't get a ticket they can validate, (many people encountered this issue with free parking on the weekends when we checked in) they will either give you a ticket already validated, or refund you the cost.
The rooms are alright. Quite clean but getting a little dated. The bathrooms are pretty small and they haven't upgraded to flat panel TVs yet. But besides that, it's a pretty decent place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The good. If you need to be in Downtown Sioux City it is really in a great location. The beds are good. There is plenty of hot water the rooms are clean. Free parking in the city ramp. As a 40 year old man I felt fairly safe. The staff has been great. Here for a week long training. Food catered by the hotel for lunches was ok. Meeting rooms were either to cold or super hot. !2th floor is a great space for meetings. The bad. Rooms are clean but ruff around the edges a shower was ankle Deep in water. Crazy guy in hall the given shinny bracelets by officer friendly in lobby while i was sitting with friends in lobby bar. Walls are paper thin you will hear every thing your neighbors are doing EVERYTHING! the high speed internet is a 74 Vega going 45 mph on the freeway with it left blinker on. Its not a bad hotel but it is not great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Center, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

A year ago, I visited here and it was very “so-so”. From the light and furniture to wall, the front desk looks very catchy. The interior of hotel front are designed in such way that it reflect the essence of the Sioux City where is very comfortable and nice place to live.

The hotel staff is really helpful the frontdesk staff helped us with where to go and what places to visit and always with a smile on their face.

Honestly, friendly staff, impressive contemporary hotel design especially the light on the wall, close to the Sioux City convention center and clean, very comfortable bed, Almost everything is fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 707 Historic 4th Street, Sioux City, IA 51101
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Downtown Hotel located in the Historic 4th Street entertainment district. Close to Convention Center, Museum, Movies Theaters, over 14,000 meetings rooms for weddings, and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sioux City Hotel Sioux City
The Sioux City Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Sioux City
Clarion Sioux City
Sioux City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.