We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Sioux City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Sioux City to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Sioux City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4202 South Lakeport Street, Sioux City, IA 51106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Sioux City
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I booked this room with Travelocity and used the secret room feature. I booked our 1 night stay for $42 including tax. Te first room we went to had obviously been smoked in, we went to the front desk and the gentleman at the front desk explained that that particular room had been converted to non smoking. He promptly and cheerfully moved us to a different room. The room was clean, neat, good size and smelled much better than the first room. The bathroom had some obvious ceiling repairs, but it was clean, the shower worked well and the drain worked. The breakfast was good, with; waffles, apples, bananas, oranges, toast, english muffins, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, juice, mini doughnuts, dry cereal,hard boiled eggs, and a few other things. The breakfast area was fully stocked, neat and clean when we arrived 30 before breakfast was over. Bottom line, I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been at this hotel many times as my company only books in Choice hotels and my options in Sioux City for Choice hotels are very limited. I would have to say 95% of the time when I check in the hotel staff is not at the front desk and a sign is on the counter asking you to use the house phone to call them (not the best welcome you want).

Also I know myself as a Diamond member with Choice Hotels we are not guaranteed an upgrade, but every time you ask for an upgrade you get the canned response of sorry NO upgrades available. I can tell you it takes 40 nights to qualify for the Diamond status and this is the only hotel in which never honors myself in upgrades for being a Diamond member.

This location needs some major updates, chairs / carpets in rooms have stains along with some major cleaner or fresher smell as this carries throughout the hotel along with the very outdated decor throughout the hotel (rooms do have flat screen TV’s though)

If I had a choice of my business stays and needed to stay in this area I would stay at the Hampton Inn across street or the Hilton Garden on the river and spend the extra money.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sioux City, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mr. C:

Thank you for bringing your concerns about the hotel to our attention. I understand your frustration and can assure you that your comments have been shared and utilized as a training tool for our Front Desk Associates. I noticed that you mentioned you were not given a free upgrade for being a Diamond Elite with Choice Privileges. I do want to apologize for the inconvenience and will work to ensure that, when available, you are upgraded at the property. We thank you for choosing the Sioux City Comfort Inn and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Mark D. Baltushis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We walked in to a suite and the smell overwhelmed us immediately. This was supposed to be a non-smoking room though clearly it had been smoked in, but it was worse than just smoke. A strong musty smell was mixed in with some sort of chemical overload that must have been used to attempt to mask the smoke smell. We couldn't last more than 10 minutes before the kids had to evacuate with the dog and we found another place to stay due to being booked full.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at Comfort Inn Sioux City, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. I apologize we did not provide you with the experience you expected while staying at our hotel; guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance.
I have spoken with my Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance staff regarding these issues, they join me in offering a sincere apology to you. I want to assure you that all of these issues have been addressed and several steps have been taken to ensure situations like this don’t happened again.
I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience. We hope that with our efforts to improve, you will try the Comfort Inn Sioux City next time you stay in the area.

Sincerely,
James G. Serrao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hotel need work. Does not have an elevator, this information needs to be listed when making reservations with choice hotels. This is not a good choice for a choice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Comfort Inn Sioux City, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience of not having an elevator. We do train our staff to accommodate any guest who request first floor or who may have any mobility issues by giving them a first floor room. I certainly agree with getting this posted on our site for our future guests. Thank you again and safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Good value for the rates. Nice pool area with lots of towels and a "hot" tub. All the stuff you would expect, ice, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker with both decaf and tea, plus a hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles and fresh fruit. Try the Mongolian Grill across the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at Comfort Inn Sioux City, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you so much for the GREAT comments! My team really enjoys seeing them! It makes their hard-work feel appreciated! Hu- Hot Mongolian Grill is definitely good eating - I never leave hungry. For our guests who are unfamiliar with the city, we are near many other restaurants as well; just to name a few - Texas Roadhouse, Applebee's, Olive Garden, and many more!!! We are also located near the Southern Hills Mall and many other Department Stores if you need to do some shopping! Thank you again! Take good care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed just one night with friends and it was a really nice hotel. the room was very clean, lots of space and comfortable beds. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at Comfort Inn Sioux City, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Our staff takes great pride in their work and appreciates the kind feedback they receive. I will be sure to pass this on them! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel was very clean and quiet . I luv cleanliness and quietness when I stay in hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at Comfort Inn Sioux City, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic comments! It makes our hard work more appreciative! Have a great new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sioux City

Address: 4202 South Lakeport Street, Sioux City, IA 51106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Sioux City 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sioux City Comfort Inn® is conveniently located on South Lakeport Road, just off Highway 20 and Interstate 29. This Sioux City, IA hotel is minutes from Morningside College, Sioux City Convention Center, Southern Hills Mall, Lakeport Commons mall, Sioux City Orpheum Theater and Tyson Events Center/Gateway Arena. The Sioux Gateway Airport/Col. Bud Day Field is six miles from the hotel. Briar Cliff University and Argosy Riverboat Casino are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sioux City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Sioux City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.