We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and Dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4723 Southern Hills Drive, Sioux City, IA 51106 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City-South)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Sioux City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loud and Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Was in town for work and this was my first stay at this hotel. My ears are still ringing. My room was loud until 3am with people above and beside and in the hallways sounding like a party at a fraternity. My room was also not clean. There was long black hairs in the bathtub, spots where it looked like someone sneezed on the mirror, some small stains on my towels and stuff, and dusty. Staff was friendly but not very helpful during noise complaints. I had an accidental wake up call twice during my stay, I was just not happy with the overall service and cleanliness of this hotel. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear jmoe32,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Sioux City, IA.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
12
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night and there must have been a wedding party the same evening - because between the loud room next to us and above us; and the kids running the halls - sleep was impossible. We called the front desk and the girl said she would take care of the noise problem, but after an hour we resorted to the fact that she wasn't able to handle the issue. For the price, I expect to have better service and more respectable guests around me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am really sorry that the noise kept you awake during your stay. We want our guests to have the best sleep possible when away from home and are very sorry that you didn't experience that with us. Rest assured I have taken note of your comment and will use this to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for the review and we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I had to come to Sioux City for business and checked with Trip Advisor on places to stay. I am pretty fussy and demanding when it comes to my hotels. I spend nearly 150 nights per year in hotels.

Upon my arrival I was met by two very pleasant young ladies working behind the front desk. I was checked in promptly and seamlessly

My room was spotless, the bed so comfortable that I actually overslept. They have ac outlets on top of the desk. The desk has an ergonomic chair and plenty of room to lay out spreadsheets

I hated to leave, but all good things come to an end

The breakfast was warm and plentiful. I loved the manager chit chat with all of us in the morning

The only improvement this hotel could make that I can see is to get the electrical outlets located above the nightstands for those of us that travel with a CPAP machine

This is definitely my first choice when coming back to Sioux City!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After a day driving through terrible cross winds from North Dakota, we needed a relaxing room for the night. We had made a reservation at the Hampton Inn South for two days later, but that hotel no longer exists, we learned -- it is now the Holiday Inn Express! The staff here was wonderful in helping us get hotel plans straightened out, so we decided to stay here since there was a vacancy. Our room was so spacious that we were able to settle in and relax, find a good meal, and then rest some more. Everything we saw about the hotel was first-rate. We could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend with other extended family for my mother's memorial service. Rooms were clean, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, even when we took over the whole lobby for our dinner which was catered in. The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had at a hotel. My grandkids loved the pancake maker. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definately stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I am here right now and this is a very lovely hotel. It is in a perfect location, and typical of Iowa, my room overlooks
A windmill and barn....love it. Situated near lots of amenities across from Southern Hills mall. Rooms are immaculate,
Modern, large and comfortable. This is my new favorite hotel in Sioux city. Side note....the pancake maker is awesome.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family and I were on our summer vacation, seeing some relitives of my father - in - law in sioux city. We checked into this hotel and planned on being here for 5 days. It was a incrediable stay. Rooms were clean and wonderfull, The pool was warm and very well maintaned. Staff was wonderfull and very attentive to you. Breakfast in the morning was by far the best you will find with a wide range of choices. Hotel was right off the interstate but you did not hear the sounds of traffic. Got to catch a couple baseball games right near the hotel.
My family (wife and 2 kids) will not stay at any other hotel. We are very spoiled with the great service we get at Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City-South Hotel Sioux City
Hampton Inn And Suites Sioux City-South
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City-South Hotel
Hampton Inn Sioux City
Sioux City Hampton Inn
Address: 4723 Southern Hills Drive, Sioux City, IA 51106 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City-South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sioux City’s newest Holiday Inn Express & Suites. The hotel is conveniently accessible off Hwy 20/Hwy 75 near I-29 and close to numerous restaurants including Applebees, Outback Steakhouse, Olive Garden, and Texas Roadhouse. The hotel is equipped with an indoor heated pool and spa, fitness area, business center, guest laundry, Suite Shop and a meeting room for up to 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.