We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sioux City landmark with crabby waitresses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables - CLOSED

Green Gables
1800 Pierce St, Sioux City, IA 51105-1061
712-258-4246
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Eclectic
Restaurant details
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Sioux City landmark with crabby waitresses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We eat here at least once a month despite the very rude and sometimes down right ridiculous attitude from some of the waitresses and hostess. Retire already! They give you the feeling you're putting them out and forget the fact that they are a place of business. Some of the waitresses are very friendly, so I do feel bad saying saying the service is poor. Yes, the atmosphere is very old school and more suited for my great grandma, but that doesn't bother me. The food is decent. I recommend the Chicken in the Gables and the matzo ball soup. The hot fudge sundae is also very popular.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hostesses and cashiers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very friendly staff. Some great traditional foods, their matzo ball soup is awesome as is their hot fudge sundays. Their clubs are great too!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth it!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Today, my family went to Green Gables for Father's Day. The service was okay, and the food was decent. However, this restaurant seems to cater to the older, grandparent generation with its small food portions, very outdated decor, and older waitresses. What really ticked me off was that the hostess was extremely rude to my family, and didn't seem to understand the concept that 'the costumer is always right.' This was not my first time at Green Gables, but it certainly is my last!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca, NE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mmmatzo ball soup...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Good, basic family restaurant. Good portions and prices. Love the matzo ball soup. Went with my kids (atmosphere was more great-grandparents).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful thanksgiving dinner1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

wonderful choices such as turkey, duck--yes--duck and many sides at a great price!! Friendly staff and waitersas well!! waot time for the holidays isnt long and plenty of parking for Sioux City Iowa!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Gables also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.