We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catered nicely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The House of Q

The House of Q
2520 Transit Ave, Sioux City, IA 51106-1449
712-224-2324
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 185 Restaurants in Sioux City
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Catered nicely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I served 50+, people with the help of The House of Q, after my mothers burial service and don't have any complaints. Large portions (enough for a smaller dinner afterwards) and great on-time service. Everyone coplimented on how good everything was especially the pulled pork.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“The best Q around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had the heaven on a bun sandwich. By far one of the best sandwiches I've ever had. Service was great and food was ready in just minutes. Definitely will be going back soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent Quality Food, but you get alot, nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The food is of decent quality. Not amazing like others have said, and not the worst i've had either. They give you a lot of food. Having said that; I agree with another reviewer that this is not the place you come to for a healthy meal! I think they definitly should add something on the menu that isn't purely horrible for your body. Most everything is fried here and no greens in sight except for coleslaw.

Seems to me the business plan is homecooked type barbeque and other fixins that and they give you lots. I've had alot better bbq. Only reason they get a 2nd star is they do give you alotta bang for your buck.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better hate veggies if you come here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Because this place is so close to home, we want to support it. Their biggest positive is always having a small selection of good "non-distributor" craft or import beer.

After a couple of visits, we found that all of their meat/burger selections are any combination of dry, salty, or flavorless. Non-meat offerings are very slim... sweet potato fries, okra, and jalapeno poppers that aren't breaded, just stuffed with cheese and grilled/smoked. You get a ton of fries and okra for the price, plenty to share and take home, but only two poppers per order. The okra and fries seem to use the same seasoning, which overwhelms your tastebuds since there's nothing to cleanse the palate other than beer or soda. There are no salads (yes, coleslaw - with mayo) or other vegetables available (yes, half a corncob). Grilled veggies are cheap and easy, and who can't use a salad next to their pile of gristle? Being a little more friendly to a wider palate would serve them well. Some healthy options won't kill 'em.

My spouse enjoys a good beer with a meal, so we were hopeful this place could become a regular stop. But, even two weeks later our tummies revolted at the thought of those meals. We won't be back until we here of a menu revamp. Sorry.

In case you do go, you place your order at the counter, but they'll bring it to you. There's a corner where you can get utensils and little cups of sauce, but sauce and paper towels are on the tables as well. Plenty of space, so you're not likely to be crowded unless some big group comes, but they could use the big room in back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“House of poor q”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The BBQ taste was lost, not much smoke, almost watered down. Service was poor quality too. Usually we go for local stuff, but not this one.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Q also viewed

 

Been to The House of Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House of Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.