We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, worn out, depressing, go somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sioux City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sioux City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, IA 51101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Sioux City
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Old, worn out, depressing, go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After a very long drive with a 2 hour weather/accident stoppage on I80, my colleague and I were forced to stay at this hotel. It's old, badly laid out, and poorly maintained.
Had to listen to somebody working on getting an old junker of a car started in the back parking lot right outside my window..... took about 1/2 an hour of revving up and down on an unmuffled motor before they finally left.
Breakfast buffet was dismal. Burnt bacon, over dried eggs, cheap quality and slow service even to get a coffee.... my colleague and I had coupons as Priority club members, but the coffee cost extra. Pretty lame.
Room was tiny, bathroom didn't have an exhaust fan, windows were dirty.
Need I say more? Find another hotel or keep driving.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux City, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear DonN099,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the poor breakfast selection, poor cleanliness and the small room. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
14
4
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rooms are very comfortable, although most of them are rather small. Service is very good, both in the hotel and restaurant. It is conveniently located near the freeway, with restaurants and shopping nearby.

Breakfast buffet is pretty good. I got free breakfast as a priority club member, however they still charge for tax & drinks, so you will still get a bill for something like 63 cents. The complimentary meal is nice, but nickel & diming the tax seems petty.

Internet speed is about 5 meg, good enough to stream HD video.

Room Tip: GPS may tell you to do an elaborate U-turn getting to the hotel from the freeway, but you can just g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here due to the close proximity to the Tyson Event Center. The hotel was busy but otherwise fine. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The ice was frozen. I guess it met all my expectations

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good morning Mr. Reingold Al Reingold
(Director, Brand Management
Holiday Inn Family of Brands),

I did in fact stay at the Sioux City, IA downtown Holiday Inn October 10th – 12th, 2012, along with my guest consultant. That trip was my second business visit to Sioux City and my second stay at this hotel...
Thursday afternoon, October 11th at around 4:15 p.m., my business consultant and I were sitting at a table in the empty dining room debriefing (from our asset mapping meeting with a cross section of Sioux City leadership), over a couple of bags of chips, a bottle of water, and a sprite--before we went to our next meeting at 5:30 p.m. This hotel doesn’t really have comfortable sitting areas for guests to sit and chat; a man walked up and confronted the two of us—I’m not sure who he was as he never introduced himself. The following exchange took place:
--The unidentified Man said: “You Are Illegal”. This was said in a rather loud, abrupt, and confrontational voice. My first reaction was visceral in that I thought he was profiling the two of us as either undocumented Latino people, or, he had profile us as two African American males up to something;
--I said: “you’re kidding right, we’re guests at this hotel”;
--He said: “No I’m Not Kidding, Would McDonalds Let You Bring Food In Their Restaurant? Still in a rather loud and confrontational voice;
--I said: “I never thought about it or tried”;
--The Man asks: “Who Are You, Are You Guests”;
--I said: “we are guests here, we identified ourselves as guests a few moments ago;
--The Man said: “Well You Need To Get Out Of Here With That Food”;
--I said: “I don’t like the way we’re being treated as guests of this hotel”;
--The Man: didn’t say anything else, he simply turned and walked away.

Humiliated was how I felt. I was humiliated in front of the consultant that I hired to accompany me on my business visit to Sioux City, and humiliated that others milling around the dining room/lobby area had heard how we were dealt with. I have not felt humiliated like this since I left Mississippi years ago e.g. talked down too, related to in a condescending and verbally aggressive manner. It was very difficult to transition to our second meeting that evening having been treated like that. And it was very uncomfortable to return to that hotel later that evening--feeling unwelcomed and not sure if that Man might return and confront us again or even kick us out.
I travel all over the US twice per month on average and I have many choices of hotels at which to stay; the Sioux City downtown Holiday Inn was recommended by a local community business leader. As I continue to work with Sioux City’s leadership over the next 2-3 years, it will be very difficult to recommend future consultants and colleagues to book a stay at this facility....

Humiliated

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The nicest parts of this hotel are the flat screen TVs, new carpet in the hallways and the signage outside. Aside from that everything else is old. Especially the heating and air-conditioning units within the room. A king room feels incredibly cramped. Great location and great service though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here again (actually a 4th time overall) and thought I owed the place a "re-review" due to the hopitality the staff has shown on later visits. I came in late on a flight and was picked up at the airport by the nicest shuttle driver ever. She called and had the restaurant stay open so I could get a meal. The crew in the restaurant brought me a great meal even after hours and the day was great. There could not be a better overall staff. This group is totally different from an earlier visit and I applaud the teamwork shown!!!! Congrats!

Room Tip: Wi-Fi is not the greatest on the 5th floor so get a lower floor if you need to do work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel isn't in a scary area of town but there is the constant presence of homeless around this property. The rooms are nicely appointed with flat screens and the usual brand beds and bedding. The restaurant is average but there is a Chili's just across the parking lot if you are in the need of a appetizer and drinks on arrival. I stay here every time I am in town because it is a great value next to the other hotels in its class.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux City

Address: 701 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, IA 51101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux City 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Sioux City, Ia. A centrally located hotel in the heart of downtown Sioux City's Entertainment, Medical, Cultural, Business, Financial and Government District as well as Sioux City Convention Center and Tyson Event Center. The hotel is within steps of Sioux City's prominent area tourist attractions, theatres, clubs, casino, and restaurants. Conveniently located next to I-29 at exit 147B and Highway 20. The Holiday Inn Sioux City is a full service hotel offering Free High Speed Wireless Internet. You can swim in our Indoor Pool and exercise in our Fitness Center. Our lounge has daily drink specials. Dine in or order room service from Charlie's Restaurant where Kids Eat Free. Our executive board room four meeting rooms and catering service make the Holiday Inn Sioux City a perfect place to have your business meetings. We also can accommodate receptions, reunions, rehearsal dinners, holiday parties or banquets. Businesses located near the hotel: Mercy Medical Center, St Lukes Hospital, June Nylen Cancer Center, Morningside College, Briar Cliff University,Western Iowa Tech Community College, Cargil, Tyson Foods, Terra Industries, MidAmerican Energy. Leisure located near the hotel: Hard Rock Casino, Historic 4th St., Orpheum Theater, Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center, Promenade Cinema. Let our staff show you why the Holiday Inn Downtown is a Great Hotel Guests Love.Free hotel shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux City Hotel Sioux City
Sioux City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sioux City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.