We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were impressed with the new owners and their improvements.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iron horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Iron horse Inn to your Saves list
Iron horse Inn
1111 2nd Ave, Sheldon, IA 51201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sheldon
Marshalltown, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We were impressed with the new owners and their improvements.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We have stayed in the Iron Horse Inn for many years (before the Super 8 was even there). We have experienced both good stays and not so good and it all hinged on the owners. This year we knew immediately there was new owners since our last stay, the front entrance doors were clean and inviting, carpets were replaced or cleaned, rooms had been repainted -- everything was clean, the owners were professional. It was a very affordable motel and it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Very nice & clean and reasonable price.
I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Don't Stay.. The motel is very dirty and the service is lousy. I stayed here
to be close to a restaurant and found out after I checked in the restaurant
had been closed for some time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2005

I am comparing this motel to other rural Iowa motels, and that is why I give it 4 stars. I actually expected this motel to be somewhat run-down, but in fact, my room was very clean, very quiet, and cool on a very hot day. At 2am in the morning, a horrible storm moved in and I thought perhaps it was a tornado. The building and windows withstood the 70mph wind gusts that were reported on the following day's newscasts. It's next to a lovely restaurant, and across the street from a little ice-cream shack that also serves a great deal of food. The movie theater & downtown is 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron horse Inn

Address: 1111 2nd Ave, Sheldon, IA 51201
Location: United States > Iowa > Sheldon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sheldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iron horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Inn Sheldon, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.