We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experiance here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Casino & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Riverside Casino & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Casino & Golf Resort
3184 Highway 22, Riverside, IA 52327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riverside
iLLINOIS
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bad experiance here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

nice golf cource, ok but very expendcive hotel, I traveled to this hotel on a whim to see it, the food was very expendcive for the quality . and the location is 20 miles from Iowa City, IA in no where land.
I believe this is why it,s so weak, it has no competition thus no reason to improve. the place was nearly empty. I was literaly the only one gambing in the main casino during the day.The staff was incredibly rude, I reported a dice dealer for cheating and was treated even more poorly. I have never been back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    8
    9
    9
See reviews for
21
53
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
What Cheer
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I along with his business associates stayed at the hotel on a Saturday night. We thought that it would be noisy, because of the college students that were partying down the hall, but it was great. The rooms are gorgeous and the bathroom is very interesting --- huge glass window with a automatic curtain to open and close. We ate at the Robert's Buffet, which we have often, and it had a nice selection of food. Would stay again at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riverside on a Thursday night. We ate the Robert's Buffet dinner. We're not usually huge buffet fans, but the fried shrimp and bacon wrapped steak were surprisingly good. The rest was pretty typical buffet food. We both gambled on $10 free play for a solid two hours that night. I like slots and was impressed with the selection. The room appeared to be clean and was very comfortable. We had Robert's Buffet for breakfast and it was really terrible. We both left uneaten plates of food and went for the mini boxed cereals. We enjoyed the pool facilities after breakfast- very nice! We spent a bit more time gambling and ended up coming out ahead. All of the staff was very friendly and accommodating (we requested late check-in Thurs. night and late check-out Friday morning). We agreed that we would love to return to Riverside, and the only thing that would stop us would be the high room prices. We're hoping that they lower their prices or at least offer a deal to player's card members in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCGR, General Manager at Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Happy to hear you enjoyed your time on the gaming floor and at the dinner buffet and equally disappointed that our breakfast buffet let you down. We keep a wide variety of items available on the buffet line to satisfy a range of customer tastes and regret that we could not please you in this case. With regards to prices for our hotel rooms, these vary based on occupancy and you may have caught a night with a special event that drove the rate up. Please check our website and Facebook page regularly for special rate offerings, or call us at 1-877-677-3456.

Best Regards,

Dan Franz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just stayed out here this saturday night.We had 16 golfers and family members.The rooms were nice but at $145 a night was no bargain.We have a players card and gamble 3 to 4 times a year out there and we had to pay the same price as new players that never gamble there.The staff at the golf course was rude and made us fell like they were doing us a favor by letting us golf there.Then after 6 holes a thunder storm came and they made us wait 2 hours after it passed to play.About 30 golfers stayed in the cart shed during the storm.We wanted to get some food while waiting and the staff said they shut grill down for some reason nobody knows.Started playing again after 2 hours and could not drive carts on fairways.You would think we should be charged walking rate or comped for something..Gambled that night and played slots machine.Worst pay back of any casino we have been to.Went to breakfast in morning fried potatos were raw and not cooked.Building and casino look realy nice but way over priced for golf and lodging.Hope they inprove in furture or will look else where to gamble and stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else unless they come down to the reaL world values
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCGR, General Manager at Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your time and effort in providing feedback on your stay. It is through this type of feedback that we can address and hopefully improve your next guest experience here. I am sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations during your visit. While it is difficult to do much about weather, economics and luck, the areas we can and will concentrate on improving will be our guest service focus of our golf staff and our Robert's Buffet food quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Awful food, terrible service, such a bad casino. Nothing is good about this place. The worst part was the bed bugs in my bed, right when I showed up, it looked like a new room but the awful bed bugs told me that it was not clean at all. Food was terrible at the fancy restaurant. And super expensive. The salad was literally 2 leafs if lettuce.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCGR, Hotel Director at Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We take such matters seriously and have a stringent process in place for hotel cleanliness & inspections. While we have no record of this incident, based upon limited information from guest contact, rest assured, we have thoroughly re-checked all guest rooms with no evidence found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We went to Riverside to see Michael McDonald in concert and decided to stay the night. The concert was great, but the venue was not - bleed over sound in the sound system during the concert (really obvious during ballads), less than stellar staff at the entrances - but the hotel stay was AWESOME. Nice, spacious room, a very comfy bed, nice TV, pool facilities, mini fridge. We also enjoyed the buffet, but it was nothing spectacular. We'll try Ruthie's the next time around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a very nice Casino Hotel with Golf Restaurants and Spa-
I have played at this Casino MANY times and feel your luck is set very low with the slots-I have noticed that older casinos pay better. I do enjoy visiting-I do not enjoy spending a lot of money with no return-even to keep playing.

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice-enjoy them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCGR, General Manager at Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind compliments on some of our non-gaming offerings. We pride ourselves in providing best-in-class amenities and service to all resort guests. While it sounds like you have not had great luck at our casino recently, I do want to point out that our slot payback percentage is consistently above the average for all Iowa properties. Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope you choose to visit again soon!

Dan Franz
General Manager
Riverside Casino and Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Casino & Golf Resort

Address: 3184 Highway 22, Riverside, IA 52327
Location: United States > Iowa > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riverside
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What does it mean to Live it Up? You'll find out the moment you enter Riverside Casino & Golf Resort™. From the magnificent fountains that greet you as you approach the main entrance to the luxurious surroundings of our casino, hotel, spa, golf course, event center, indoor/outdoor pool and multiple food outlets, every aspect of Riverside Casino & Golf Resort™ is designed for one special reason - your total enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Riverside Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Casino & Golf Hotel Riverside
Riverside Casino And Golf Resort
Riverside Casino & Golf Resort Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.