We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure in Iowa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Casino & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riverside Casino & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Riverside Casino & Golf Resort
3184 Highway 22, Riverside, IA 52327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riverside
Jackson, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure in Iowa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We were on a road trip and found the Riverside Casino & Golf Resort a beautiful surprise. Located about ten minutes south of Iowa City, the resort is very clean, upscale, and uncrowded. The hotel rooms were very lavish for what I would expect in Iowa, with a cool glassed in shower and electric curtains. There is a nice ice cream shop in the lobby, which also has breakfast goodies if you do not want the buffet. There are two or three places to eat in the resort, but we did not use them as it was just an overnight stay.
We have little kids, and we are not really into gambling... but still enjoyed this place. It is a bargain compared to other big box hotels in the surrounding area.... we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    38
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
22
57
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary. My mother had actually won a nights stay and gave it to us as a gift. We were amazed at how clean and fancy this hotel was. The curtains ( bathroom and window) were electric, meaning they were activated by a switch to open and close. The bathroom curtain covered a glass wall separating the bathroom and bedroom. Nice size flat screen t.v. on the wall. Very nice room, would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for King size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wever, IA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Riverside has everything you would ever need or want in a destination hotel. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous! The room was huge with a refrigerator, flat screen tv, coffemaker, lots of closet space, a safe and the biggest shower I've ever seen! The shower curtain and the window drapes were electric which was also pretty cool. . . Since this is a newer hotel the room smelled clean and was spotless and the beds were really comfortable. The only complaint I would have is that there was no wireless internet. If you're into gambling the casino makes you feel like you're in Vegas. There are several eating options but the only one we ate at was the buffet for breakfast. It offered a wide variety of selections including an omelet bar and every topping imaginable for waffles. The food was pretty good and there was plenty of it but it wasn't too hot which was unfortunate. However, the hotel and the room itself definitely made up for it and I can't wait to go back! There are gift shops, a clothing store, a golf shop and a spa. I wouldn't recommend the Riverside for a family vacation with young kids just because there isn't a whole lot for little kids to do. All in all the Riverside definitely impressed me!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Riverside Hotel and Casino is overall a good place to stay and play. We stayed 3 nights at the end of June 2011.
The rooms are very nice. Clean and well decorated. Wait til you see the shower!
The casino is fair sized and had lots of slots and gaming tables. Two bars, and do it yourself drink stations.
Check in was good. The only thing is they don't have anyone to take your bags to your room It's "Do It Yourself". Grab a cart and haul your own luggage.
The swimming pool area is nice, it's outdoor/indoor combined. Could not use the spa as they were "saving electricity due to the heat" and the spa was turned off.
Which I didn't get the "saving electricity" bit, after all It's a casino! So, let's turn of the spa for a few hours to save some electricity? Also, when we asked for extra towels we were told by the maid that they were saving electricity and the washers and dryers were not being used at that time. She promised to bring more when she got them, and she did!
Their buffet is just ok. Nothing spectacular. They do have a breakfast buffet, then lunch and dinner. We ate breakfast a couple of times and one dinner which was billed as a seafood buffet.
So, if you make it to Iowa City (or close by) stop by the Riverside!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed around a year ago, very satisfied, sure was opposite of that this time. When i called for a reservation 10-14 days before staying, i was assured of a room on first floor. When we get there to checkin, sorry, all rooms on 1st floor taken. I then asked for a room very close to elevator since we both have leg problems & are elderly. We were put in a room half way down the hall. What is the purpose of even asking for a certain area. Housekeeping didn't do their job very well - only amenity in the cup on counter was hand lotion. I know we could've called for shampoo, etc, but didn't. Then in checking for bedbugs, lifted up mattress & lots of dust plus a hairpin. Afraid to look any further. For $16.99, the buffet could've been better, husband had 2 kinds of steak, said both were tough. I had fried chicken, which appeared to have been there a long time & we entered the buffet at 7pm. The ham i had, however, was very good. Other years we've been so satisfied, but don't know if we'll stop again on way through or not.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LECLAIRE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I received a coupon in the mail from Riverside, offering me a rate similar to most hotels in Iowa City. I had only been there once previously (to gamble) and I thought I'd take advantage of their offer. THIS WONDERFUL HOTEL rivals anything Las Vegas may offer. The rooms were grandly appointed, with HUGE showers encased in plexiglass, premium bedding and spa-like products in the bathroom.

If only I hadn't lost so much gambling...this was a FABULOUS room!

Room Tip: Even rooms with parking lot views are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Beautiful hotel! Our room was gorgeous and overlooked the pool area where you could swim from outside to an indoor pool. Casino staff was great! We bought a package deal that I would recommend that included a lunch or breakfast buffet and dinner buffet. Nicest hotel in Iowa I have stayed at!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Casino & Golf Resort

Address: 3184 Highway 22, Riverside, IA 52327
Location: United States > Iowa > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What does it mean to Live it Up? You'll find out the moment you enter Riverside Casino & Golf Resort™. From the magnificent fountains that greet you as you approach the main entrance to the luxurious surroundings of our casino, hotel, spa, golf course, event center, indoor/outdoor pool and multiple food outlets, every aspect of Riverside Casino & Golf Resort™ is designed for one special reason - your total enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverside Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Casino And Golf Resort
Riverside Casino & Golf Hotel Riverside
Riverside Casino & Golf Resort Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.