We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spectacular place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pattee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pattee to your Saves list
Hotel Pattee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1112 Willis Avenue, Perry, IA 50220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“A spectacular place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place is full of history, art and class! My husband and I are touring musicians with our music duo, The High Crest. We had the great opportunity to perform in the lobby next to the giant two sided fireplace for the patrons of the hotel - they have music every weekend. For dinner we had the Shepard's pie which was the treasured recipe of the owners mom. Delicious! And we stayed in the fantastic DJ Pattee Suite. In our room, we had our very own robes, king sized 4 poster bed, and a deluxe spa. So cool! The new owners are passionate about service and quality. If you need a place to stay or know people who are going to be in this neck of the woods, The Hotel Pattee comes highly recommended. Stay here if you get the chance!

Room Tip: Every room has a different theme so make sure to go online to see what fits your style the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi Kat, we certainly enjoyed have you two here at the hotel too! You and your husband are great musicians and we can't wait to have you back at the end of this month to perform again. Thanks for being our guests! Also, thanks for mentioning my Mom's Famous Shepherd's Pie!. It is my favorite too! Happy New Year to you and your family! Jay Hartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
66
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were visiting relatives in the Perry area for Christmas. Our relatives couldn't put up a group overnight, so we needed a place to stay. On a previous holiday we'd stayed at the Perry Super 8. This year we paid just a little bit more and had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Pattee.

This boutique hotel is truly a marvel. It provides a feeling of elegance without any air of pretentiousness. The public areas feature gorgeous wood and brass with original artwork and furnishings in Arts & Crafts style. Each room is individually decorated in themes that honor famous Iowans and the many immigrant groups who came to the Perry area. We booked online and took "pot luck" for our room assignment. We were placed in the African room, which was enormous and was filled with furnishings and handicrafts from Somalia and Sudan. The room was immaculate, and the queen beds were very comfortable. My brother and his wife were in the Italian room, and it was also large and lavishly decorated. It would be fun to return and explore other rooms.

Our dealings with the staff were fairly minimal, but everyone we dealt with was pleasant and efficient. One nice feature was that the owner provided a complimentary breakfast on Christmas day because the restaurant was closed that day. The spread was similar to what you'd find at chain hotels--with the major difference being that everything here was freshly baked rather than out of the freezer. Another day we had breakfast in the restaurant (not included in the room rate). It was also delicious.

Parking is free in a city lot across the street, and amenities include complimentary wi-fi (something missing at many "nice" hotels), high quality in-room coffee and toiletries, and lovely bathrobes. There are freshly-baked cookies provided each night. Our room had one of the best hotel bathrooms I've experienced. We especially enjoyed the shower, which had extremely good pressure and truly hot water. The hotel also features a spa and even a bowling alley on-site. It is located right downtown, so there are numerous shops, convenience stores, and restaurants within walking distance.

I had looked at staying here under the previous owners, but at that point the prices seemed absurdly high. Under the new owner the rates are more appropriate for a small-town market--just over $100 a night. The experience is far nicer than you'd find at a chain hotel, and the rate we paid seemed good value.

I'd strongly recommend the Hotel Pattee to anyone visiting or on business in the Perry area. In addition, it's a place people visiting the Des Moines area (particularly the booming western suburbs) should consider. It's a one-of-a-kind hotel and truly a gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
First and Foremost, thank you for staying with us. Secondly, as a Top Contributor to TripAdvisor, it is even more special to get such a wonderful review from you. Thanks for taking all of the time that you did to give such a detailed review. I agree with you in that for just a few more dollars, our hotel is worth the value. We are so proud to be the new Owners of the hotel and we can't wait to have you back again very soon. Thank you again! Best Regards, Jay Hartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Pattee while in town for my brother's wedding. The reception was also held at the hotel. What a fun experience! The staff was so friendly and went out of their way to make the wedding couple and their guests comfortable, welcome, and appreciated in a warm and personal way. The entire place was beautifully decorated and interesting to explore, and the food was delicious. If you are ever near Perry, Iowa be sure to give it a try-you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you! It was truly our Treat to serve you and your family. Thanks for the great review. Happy New Year!
Jay Hartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed a week at the Hotel Patee for business (I'm a Government employee) and was impressed from before I opened the door. Okay, I actually didn't open the door, the doorman opened it for me. The hotel is a very quaint, elegant throwback to the Arts and Crafts period. Dark wood is in evidence throughout the hotel, but artwork and quality wallpapers make certain the palate is not too gloomy. The staff was very attentive and did whatever they could to make sure my stay was pleasant. My very comfortable room was decorated with a theme of a 1930's newspaper writer, complete with manual typewriter (under glass), brownie cameras and a life-sized carved wooden overcoat. The restaurant served a fine steak and the service was prompt and courteous. On Christmas my wife and children joined me in the hotel and the owners made every effort to make sure we were comfortable and could enjoy our time together, providing dinner servicewear and allowing us to eat in the closed restaurant. (We did have to bring our own food, but they gladly heated everything for us and even gave us complimentary desserts at the end of the meal.) We followed this by several games of complimentary bowling (free for hotel guests) in the basement bowling alley. All in all I must say the Hotel Patee is a breath of fresh air compared to the run-of-the-mill mid/high end hotels I frequent during my travels. I wish nothing but success to the new owners and congratulate them on a job well done. I would highly recommend the Hotel Pattee for business travel, family or just leisure.

Room Tip: Check ahead for which room you desire. Some are a bit cramped, I understand, but all are comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and thank you for your review. It was totally our pleasure serving you and your family. It was our goal to make sure your Christmas Away from home was as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Perry! Have a Happy New Year and Thank you Again! Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is our first stay at the re-opened hotel. The new owners have done a magical job getting the hotel back to it's glory. We held our company holiday dinner at the hotel, and the evening and dinner Jay and his staff put together far surpassed our expectations. The dinner, atmosphere and rooms were all greatly enjoyed. I highly recommend the Hotel Pattee for business meetings or a relaxing weekend away from all the bustle. Some rooms are geared for families, while others are more inviting for a couples. It's a unique hotel with a staff that cares about their guests.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, so take some time to find that one that suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dan, Thanks for the opportunity to host your Holiday Dinner and thanks for the time you took to write a review. It looks like you are a Senior Contributor with TripAdvisor and your feedback is all the more special. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Wishing you a Healthy, Safe and Prosperous 2014! Jay Hartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Pattee on special occasions in the past, and were so happy to hear the hotel had re-opened under new ownership. We stayed last night and so enjoyed the roaring fire, live music, attentive staff, beautiful room, and rich decor. The new owner has a passion for hotel and for great service to the guests, and that is very evident. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Lynn,
Thanks for your great review! We too look forward to seeing you again very soon. Take Care and have a Safe New Year!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Hotel Pattee is back shining brightly-a warm and welcoming atmosphere due to the new owner, Jay and his staff. Same great accommodations-décor, art, and ambience. The food was terrific, we took sandwiches to elder relatives, recommend the French toast or wrap for breakfast, and dined at the bar one evening. We visited in the lobby with friends and family, also listened to entertainment Saturday evening. We stayed in the Needlepoint Room on this visit(each room is an education). The rooms are large, clean, well maintained, seating area, and large bathroom. A Different Home Away from Home

Room Tip: Choosing a room is perplexing as each room has a different period décor-All Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you Judy! Well, we have a few things in common. The French Toast is my favorite too! Thanks for your kind words and review. Take Care! See you in 2014! Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pattee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pattee

Address: 1112 Willis Avenue, Perry, IA 50220
Location: United States > Iowa > Perry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pattee 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Pattee which is a 100 year old hotel that recently underwent a 12 Million Dollar renovation. Featuring over 40, individually themed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pattee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pattee Perry, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pattee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.