We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Local Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Cafe

Windmill Cafe
709 Franklin St, Pella, IA 50219-1619
641-621-1800
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Pella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Phone (641) 621-1800
Acester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Local Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The service is great - I've always been very pleased with the waitresses. The food is a good value and they do most everything very well. This is a popular spot and usually is busy but I've never had to wait very long. They do not accept credit cards.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Couldn't leave Pella without having a wonderful breakfast at Windmill! As always, we were not disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great local cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

FYI: They only take local checks and cash. We have a late breakfast here whenever we find ourselves in Pella. The service is always great. We have always had good food. The cinnamon rolls are homemade and gigantic. We usually opt for an omelet and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriam, Kansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had lunch and it was OK. Service was good, but next time we will try someplace else. I had a club sandwich and my guy had a Reuben. I don't think the quality of the meats were as they should have been.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Awesome Place, Awesome Waitress and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had breakfast and it was around 1115 am, wife had a taco salad. All was great, waitress was quick and professional and the food came quickly. It was a Sunday and not much else around Pella was open. They are only open till 2p and take cash only. ( which I do not mind) The cafe was decorated nicely also. Brunch buffet if you wanted it for $7.95 which is very reasonable. We will surely go back there when we are in the area again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmill Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Windmill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.