We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Ottumwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Ottumwa to your Saves list
Super 8 Ottumwa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2823 North Court Road, Ottumwa, IA 52501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ottumwa
Davenport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Staff outgoing and friendly. Indoor pool and heated whirlpool a nice touch. Biscuits and gravy were a bit runny and light on the sausage. But a variety of options available to eat but few in the "healthy category." Quiet location but nearby shopping and and golf. Most likely the best value in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
13
6
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

New carpeting bedding paint and fixtures. Same old TV so far however. Some remodeling was still going on so there was some trash nearby but nothing to cause a problem with the stay. Forgot something I left behind and I had great management interaction to get it back. Get a remodeled room and you'll have a good stay ahead of you. Just don't expect too much of the breakfast though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

If you smoke and don't mind a few bugs then this is the hotel for you. Our.non-smoking rooms reeked of smoke. There were bugs in the drawers and the bathroom floor looked like it had not been cleaned. Service was decent but I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Iowa, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

First of all before we even entered the building there was a heap of trash consisting of old tubs and cabinents. My wife and I are smokers so we opted to get a smoking room and as soon as we entered the door marked 'C' we couldnt help but notice holes in the carpet...okay, we enter our room and my wifes turns on the light and notices the light switch has a huge chunk missing from it. I find a spot on the floor where someone dropped the iron, looks like a pizza slice in the floor. I notice that there are heat lamps in the bathroom, yet the knob is missing, so we cannot use it! The toilet has been running since we've been here, the hottub in the pool area has an enourmous amount of sediment in it, there's outdated food in the vending machines, and to top it off, they would not let my wife pay cash for the room we booked and automatically charged it to her credit card! The woman at the front desk was rude when my wife asked about paying cash, the pillows are about 1/4 inch thick, and this place just all-around sucks! Had I read the REAL reviews BEFORE staying here, our night would have been in a different hotel!

Room Tip: Dont pick a room at this facility!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Ottumwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ottumwa

Address: 2823 North Court Road, Ottumwa, IA 52501
Location: United States > Iowa > Ottumwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ottumwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ottumwa 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Ottumwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ottumwa
Ottumwa Super 8
Ottumwa Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Ottumwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.