We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iowa trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ottumwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ottumwa to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ottumwa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   943 Quincy Avenue, Ottumwa, IA 52501   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ottumwa
denton, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Iowa trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

On a recent trip through Iowa off the interstate system. Was happy to find a Hampton inn in a good location in a small city. I thought I should have been up graded when the room I desired was unavailable, being a Hilton Honors member. It was a nice Hampton Inn in a good location with shopping a services close . In all it was a pretty standard Hampton inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experance at our property. I am pleased to see that you did enjoy your stay here. As we have limited upgrade rooms avalible and looking at the dates of your stay I see that the upgrade was unavalible on the night that you stayed. Thank you again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
15
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were on an extended road trip when we stayed here, and we choose Hampton Inns because of the predictability...comfy beds, clean rooms, and attentive staff. This one did not disappoint. We enjoyed our morning walk to a nearby beautiful park, and on the way out of town a stop at The Canteen!

Room Tip: We always ask for the top floor in ANY hotel. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I am happy to see that we were able to provide you with a nice relaxing place to stay during your extended road trip. We do appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience here. Should your travels bring you back to the area we would look forward to you staying with us. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay view
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights and would stay here again. The hotel is new and conveniently located and easy to get to. The hotel was very clean, quiet and has a friendly staff. We stay a quite a few Hampton Inns and this experience will have us staying at more Hampton Inns in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am pleased to see that we were able to provide you with great service. Should your travels bring you back to the area we would love for you to choose the Hampton Inn Ottumwa for your lodging needs. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Upon check in desk clerk was not at front desk and no bell to ring, waited about 4 minutes until she came back to front desk. Found dirty sock under air conditioning unit, and toilet wobbled. Got 100% money back guarantee. Over all it was a good stay minus the mishaps..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I would like to extend my apologies for the mishaps that occurred during your stay here. I am pleased to see that the rest of your stay was overall good. Thank you for choosing our property. Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers AR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We waited 3 hours for our room after the check in time due to serious under staffing on a RAGBRAI weekend. Others walked in and were given a room right away while we waited. The next day it happened again to others in our group. Whatever happened to assigning someone a room that is ready when they arrived!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
First I would like to apologize for not providing you the exceptional service we strive to give all of our guests. Admittedly we were understaffed during your visit here at our property. We did have every available housekeeper working and unfortunately for the demand of the weekend it was not what it should have been and I truly do apologize. My staff did the best possible job they could with what they had to work with. As far as other guests given rooms right away when coming in, I understand this can be very frustrating, but as guests request/reserve certain room types we want to be able to accommodate the guests request of the room type they reserved. And at times one room type may be ready before another. Unfortunately the combination of being understaffed and having multiple guests checking out late and groups of guests wanting to check in early only aggravated the issue of being understaffed. We take pride in being able to give the best possible service to our guests and it pains me to know that we failed you as one of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We love Hampton Inns and this one did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and helpful. We love the comfort of the rooms and the breakfast. This seems to be a newer Hampton and was top notch with respect to appearance, cleanliness and quiet. Great stay overall!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out this survey. I am pleased to see that we were able to provide you with great service! Should your travels bring you back to the area we would love for you to choose the Hampton Inn Ottumwa! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We enjoyed our room as a sweet retreat from the heat outside. We slept very well in crisp, clean sheets on comfortable beds. Room temp comfortable. Breakfast a little skimpy. Pool small and uninviting though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Should your travels bring you back to the area we would love for you to choose our property for your lodging needs. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ottumwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ottumwa

Address: 943 Quincy Avenue, Ottumwa, IA 52501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ottumwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ottumwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ottumwa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ottumwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ottumwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.